Toyota wish queries

Obscurest

Bro Poky, i am pretty happy with the FC...So need to complain to BM....for now!

Agree with you on the brakes..really does not grip that well...could it be stock tyres???

I am not sure the price of 16" or 17"...you got any idea? [laugh] ...and do they take in our rims as well? if between 16" and 17" is only 40 bucks, ie for all 4 rims...then we might as well get 17" ...then you will curse me...your FC is going to go up up and up...and looking at the world issues...things may get worse before it gets better... [bigcry]

and oil price is gonna go up...

Anyway, apart from FC - The car is great....very nice to drive and, it goes thru the humps and pot holes better than my previous ride...i dun feel the steering vibrates...and taking corners...really steady and stable...not so much of a body roll...then again i was not speeding! [laugh] ...just a slow drive...still virgin mah!!

Now i know why they say T is reputable for it's comfort and sound isulation...my previous H was a let down in this department. Suspension set up is definitely better than my previous H. Then again can't compare the 2...different class..my civic was really noisy!!

Still need some getting used to on the keyless entry..i noticed that you can't leave it at "N" and then step on the parking brake and get out of the car....there will be a beeping sound...not sure for what! the sound dissapear when you push it to "P".

Also, the dash board orange key will light up, if you leave the engine on and leave the car with the remote....i think this is to prohibit ppl from driving off with your car...just myt thots..not tried it yet. Have you tried? say leave the car on "N"...then you leave the car with the keyless remote and ask your wife to drive it away....see if she is able to do that!

If can then my theory is wrong..

Also, if any doors are not properly close, there is a beeping sound... :D too many beeping stuff going on and sometimes don't know which is which..and due to what!!!

must slowly test this out.

DUn forget, if u din switch off ur headlights, u open door the car also will make noise .. lol (bit not sure abt the N thing tho, will try) .. as long as got beeping sound, then something is not in order .. haha

Agreed on the power and comfort. Love this ride liao ... FC wise have to monitor lah .... maybe u let me know if ur FC drop or what if u go on 80% city. If i can get 11-12, song liao .. no need 13 for mostly city drives.

Also, dun try to corner at >60kph hor ... can understeer one and the car rolls ... bor bian, MPV mah, higher ride sure like that. But teh VSC electronics will take care of the traction tho.

Hmm ... if you going to look at rims, let me know, maybe can go together ... heh

Bro, u mentioned b4 yours is 2.0 L one is it ? If so, 10km/l quite ok liao le

yes bro ,

mine is 2.0 2010 wish.

So 10km/l is quite ok? Haha sorry cos I keep using what they mentioned in this thread as my benchmark.

Anybody driving a 2.0 4speed wish with 16" n 17" rims? Wondering wats the fc like?

I do have another Q....

Does light weight rims makes a lot of difference in fc?

My friend says that in racing all bits or here n there makes lots of difference but if I looking at only fc base on light vs norm rims, the difference is negligible or u can even says no difference at all. Do u agree?

DUn forget, if u din switch off ur headlights, u open door the car also will make noise .. lol (bit not sure abt the N thing tho, will try) .. as long as got beeping sound, then something is not in order .. haha

Agreed on the power and comfort. Love this ride liao ... FC wise have to monitor lah .... maybe u let me know if ur FC drop or what if u go on 80% city. If i can get 11-12, song liao .. no need 13 for mostly city drives.

Also, dun try to corner at >60kph hor ... can understeer one and the car rolls ... bor bian, MPV mah, higher ride sure like that. But teh VSC electronics will take care of the traction tho.

Hmm ... if you going to look at rims, let me know, maybe can go together ... heh

dun worry - from now on no more vacation...all city driving now..will see how it is after this 2nd tank of fuel... [laugh]

Yep...definitely will call you along...coz i dunno anything about the proces of rims and tyres..

Btw, forgot to say one more thingy about the car...the wife and kids love the space!!...3rd row seat put down and load all the stuff at the back until full...

2nd row push to the back and slant down....enough for the kids to play in during the long drive...

and aslo the aircon.....actually it is very effective...put to Auto when it is really hot..but afetr a while, i find it effective in cooling down and put to 3-4 bars is good enough for the whole ride....i saw max is 7 speed for the aircon too...I would rate it pretty effective on the cooling pressure. At one time i was worried for the 3rd row passenges...but not anymore...proven, even on a hot day!

yes bro ,

mine is 2.0 2010 wish.

So 10km/l is quite ok? Haha sorry cos I keep using what they mentioned in this thread as my benchmark.

Anybody driving a 2.0 4speed wish with 16" n 17" rims? Wondering wats the fc like?

I do have another Q....

Does light weight rims makes a lot of difference in fc?

My friend says that in racing all bits or here n there makes lots of difference but if I looking at only fc base on light vs norm rims, the difference is negligible or u can even says no difference at all. Do u agree?

I think there is a difference - in terms of pick up speed...I heard the lighter it is the better....but be prepare to pay and arm and a leg.... :D

maybe bro poky, you and myself should get together and look around for rims and tyres...who know we may get a group discount!!! what say you guys... :D

ok here goes - did 680km until the light came on - hence, i am assuming what's left would be around 10litres in the fuel tank. So take 680 km/50 litres = 13.6 km/l...so consider ok.

My other test was from Seremban to Tuas - Say the distance around 250km (forgot how far was it) and i used roughly 15-16litres = 250km/16litres = 15.6 km/l...this is full highway driving and driving sedately...if compared to my previous ride...i know the current car is way better...coz i am used to pumping at both stations and this new ride gave me better bucks savings...hahahah

i am ok with the FC on long distance - but for city driving...hhhmmm..not sure how...maybe like pokyman...will be swearing at BM can't achieve the desired results...

ur calculation not accurate lah.

where got assume "10litres" left in the fuel tank (upon indicator)

i feel the most accurate way to calculate is:

1) drive till below 1/4 tank

2) let the car park overnight for the petrol/gas/vapour/fume to settle

3) next morning drive to the nearest petrol kiosk and pump full tank (auto-stop)

4) reset trip meter

5) drive till below 1/4 tank

6) let the car park overnight for the petrol/gas/vapour/fume to settle

7) next morning drive to the nearest petrol kiosk and pump full tank (auto-stop)

8) calculate mileage in trip meter divide by petrol pumped.

ur calculation not accurate lah.

where got assume "10litres" left in the fuel tank (upon indicator)

i feel the most accurate way to calculate is:

1) drive till below 1/4 tank

2) let the car park overnight for the petrol/gas/vapour/fume to settle

3) next morning drive to the nearest petrol kiosk and pump full tank (auto-stop)

4) reset trip meter

5) drive till below 1/4 tank

6) let the car park overnight for the petrol/gas/vapour/fume to settle

7) next morning drive to the nearest petrol kiosk and pump full tank (auto-stop)

8) calculate mileage in trip meter divide by petrol pumped.

Bro - just an assumption mah...i am not an expert in this..so +-, a few here and thereloh...

Anyway, your method would be require a lot of things to remember....bu the time remember this would have forgotten to pump petrol...remember to pump, then forgot to set meter..... :D

we go out, we just get into the car and drive....

Let's see if I remember, i will try you method ok! will let you all know.

current shods for new wish is 195/65/15...a bit puny for the size of car....planning to change to 205/60 or 65 series and also up one level to 16"...is this advisable or should i just stay with 15" to save cost?

Bro,

Its the same size as the NFL then.

The 65 is the height of the sidewall...and it determines the comfort of your ride. The higher the number, the more comfortable it is but remember that this at the expense of your comering ability at high speed. If you like to chiong then get a lower spec.

The higher the size of your rims, the higher your consumption will be. So you have to think about the trade off. As for me, like i always mentioned, i'm a relaxed driver so my focus is more comfort and quiet shoes. I would like to up to 205 so that i get slightly more grip at a negligible up in FC. But i will stick with my current 15 inch. Also, if you do get lightweight rims, it does help in lowering your FC. Any drop in nett weight helps especially in the long run. I know some Wish owners who goes around without a spare tyre and just usea a tyre repair kit.

Bro,

Its the same size as the NFL then.

The 65 is the height of the sidewall...and it determines the comfort of your ride. The higher the number, the more comfortable it is but remember that this at the expense of your comering ability at high speed. If you like to chiong then get a lower spec.

The higher the size of your rims, the higher your consumption will be. So you have to think about the trade off. As for me, like i always mentioned, i'm a relaxed driver so my focus is more comfort and quiet shoes. I would like to up to 205 so that i get slightly more grip at a negligible up in FC. But i will stick with my current 15 inch. Also, if you do get lightweight rims, it does help in lowering your FC. Any drop in nett weight helps especially in the long run. I know some Wish owners who goes around without a spare tyre and just usea a tyre repair kit.

Thanks Bro - so there are sizes for 205/65/15 tires...then will upgrade to this when i change my shoes....no need to go for 17" liao...this is ok with me. You are right as to the comfort level...between 60 and 65, the higher it is the more comfort it is..but normally ppl will got one size down as the other size has gone up (from 195 to 205)...but i think is ok for this size...as we are not changing from 195 to 225..

So now which tyres would you recommend for wish? I am thinking of BS GR90...i heard this is not bad in terms of grip and noise level...so anyone know the price of this shods at 205/65/15?

Thanks Bro - so there are sizes for 205/65/15 tires...then will upgrade to this when i change my shoes....no need to go for 17" liao...this is ok with me. You are right as to the comfort level...between 60 and 65, the higher it is the more comfort it is..but normally ppl will got one size down as the other size has gone up (from 195 to 205)...but i think is ok for this size...as we are not changing from 195 to 225..

So now which tyres would you recommend for wish? I am thinking of BS GR90...i heard this is not bad in terms of grip and noise level...so anyone know the price of this shods at 205/65/15?

Bro...

If one is thinking of a 225, then they have to get bigger rims as the offset will not fit into 15inch rims and the tires will scrape the wheel-well when they do a U turn. :)

As for tires, I think it has to depend on the driver's preferences. There are tradeoffs for noise, comfort and wet/dry grip. Also on tyre wears too.

There are a few tires with this measurement...

I list some for you...

Falken ZE912

GoodYear Eagle F1 GSD3 (on my old Corolla, works well)

Dunlop LeMans LM702

ContiPremiunContact2

Goodyear LS2000 Hybrid 2 (I'm on this but 195 version)

Yokohama Db Decibel DNA ES 501 (very quiet but some complain about its wet stopping power)

There are other brands like Kumho and Michelin and your fav Bridgestone. A GR90 is upwards of 130 per tyre I think. Not too sure about that.

Also what's good for others may not be good for you because it depends on driving styles and the type of car they are driving. So you may have to base your selection on your experience.

One thing I learnt is that I make sure my tires are made in Japan. Its just a particular trait that I have and nothing against the many brands made in Asean countries. I do it because they are more particular in product quality.

I have a case of a <10k km tyre bursting for no particular reason. Made in Indo. While driving on NSH I saw the car in front of me have the rear tyre just suddenly bursting into pieces... when I stopped to help, the tyre is still new at 15k km and the irony is that it is made in Malaysia :)

Again bro, this is just my opinion and you may want to check and ask around more for other views like what Bro GemLeo says.

The more you ask, the more you learn and makes you a better driver, day after day.

Good Luck and hope that helps.

I think there is a difference - in terms of pick up speed...I heard the lighter it is the better....but be prepare to pay and arm and a leg.... :D

maybe bro poky, you and myself should get together and look around for rims and tyres...who know we may get a group discount!!! what say you guys... :D

count me in as I am ready to upgrade.

Bro...

If one is thinking of a 225, then they have to get bigger rims as the offset will not fit into 15inch rims and the tires will scrape the wheel-well when they do a U turn. :)

As for tires, I think it has to depend on the driver's preferences. There are tradeoffs for noise, comfort and wet/dry grip. Also on tyre wears too.

There are a few tires with this measurement...

I list some for you...

Falken ZE912

GoodYear Eagle F1 GSD3 (on my old Corolla, works well)

Dunlop LeMans LM702

ContiPremiunContact2

Goodyear LS2000 Hybrid 2 (I'm on this but 195 version)

Yokohama Db Decibel DNA ES 501 (very quiet but some complain about its wet stopping power)

There are other brands like Kumho and Michelin and your fav Bridgestone. A GR90 is upwards of 130 per tyre I think. Not too sure about that.

Also what's good for others may not be good for you because it depends on driving styles and the type of car they are driving. So you may have to base your selection on your experience.

One thing I learnt is that I make sure my tires are made in Japan. Its just a particular trait that I have and nothing against the many brands made in Asean countries. I do it because they are more particular in product quality.

I have a case of a <10k km tyre bursting for no particular reason. Made in Indo. While driving on NSH I saw the car in front of me have the rear tyre just suddenly bursting into pieces... when I stopped to help, the tyre is still new at 15k km and the irony is that it is made in Malaysia :)

Again bro, this is just my opinion and you may want to check and ask around more for other views like what Bro GemLeo says.

The more you ask, the more you learn and makes you a better driver, day after day.

Good Luck and hope that helps.

Thanks Bro, really helpful..

another quick question - I heard some of the tyre ctrs does not accept trade in...and some do. Is this normal...or we should look out for those only that accept trade in of our old shods?

You know ours is still new, if we can get some $$ for them is better than zil...right!

Thanks Bro, really helpful..

another quick question - I heard some of the tyre ctrs does not accept trade in...and some do. Is this normal...or we should look out for those only that accept trade in of our old shods?

You know ours is still new, if we can get some $$ for them is better than zil...right!

Bro

Yes there are some shops that do trade in but mainly if the tires are brand new. Usually they take in the tires together with the rims when the owners upgrade when they get their new ride. But i have not done this before so i'm not in a position to advice you.

One alternative is to sell your tires in the forum. Go look up twcsg for the Wish forum because theu do Have some active resell market. Maybe you can post an advert and see if some bros there will give you any offer. I think you will get a bit more there rather than going directly to the tyre shop.

It doesn't hurt to try.

Good luck bro.

QUOTE (Spidey10 @ Feb 7 2011, 06:27 PM) *

I think there is a difference - in terms of pick up speed...I heard the lighter it is the better....but be prepare to pay and arm and a leg.... biggrin.gif

maybe bro poky, you and myself should get together and look around for rims and tyres...who know we may get a group discount!!! what say you guys... biggrin.gif

count me in as I am ready to upgrade.

bros, allow me to share my limited experience on rims upgrade.

first upgraded to brand A 16" from my stock 15" so can put on a wider width tyre 205 for better stability esp. at times taking turns at higher speeds. notice fc increase from average 12.5km/L(stock 15") to 11km/L(brand A 16"), pick up also slower. [:(]

abt 1 yr later, i changed to brand B 16" when during its promo. fc decrease from average of brand A 11km/L to brand B 12km/L. [:)]

weight of rims (est.)

stock 15" - 8kg

brand A 16" - 11.5kg (promo price $80/rim)

brand B 16" - 4.5kg (promo price $200/rim)

so if intend to upgrade rim & does not wish to suffer high fc, go for lightest rims & usually are the branded ones. thereafter lock ur rims with lock nut to prevent thief coz it had happened to others even in sg. i bot them from ebay at abt $100+, ws selling abt $200+.

also do note there will be speedo reading difference from actual speed once u changed to another size tyre from stock.

hope i'd provide some insight on rims upgrading.

weight of rims (est.)

stock 15" - 8kg

so if intend to upgrade rim & does not wish to suffer high fc, go for lightest rims & usually are the branded ones. thereafter lock ur rims with lock nut to prevent thief coz it had happened to others even in sg. i bot them from ebay at abt $100+, ws selling abt $200+.

also do note there will be speedo reading difference from actual speed once u changed to another size tyre from stock.

This is great info - thanks..will definitely take the weight of the rims into consideration when I change...

and wow ...the weight difference from 11.5 to 4.5 is really big...

If you say it is 200+ a piece x 4 = 800-900 for the whole car...bloody expensive....then again the fc and pick up will be good.........guess is $ [bigcry]

Insert Special Item

FontsArialArial BlackArial NarrowBook AntiquaCentury GothicComic Sans MSCourier NewFranklin Gothic MediumGaramondGeorgiaImpactLucida ConsoleLucida Sans UnicodeMicrosoft Sans SerifPalatino LinotypeTahomaTimes New RomanTrebuchet MSVerdana

Sizes1234567

QUOTE (Spidey10 @ Feb 7 2011, 06:27 PM) *

I think there is a difference - in terms of pick up speed...I heard the lighter it is the better....but be prepare to pay and arm and a leg.... biggrin.gif

maybe bro poky, you and myself should get together and look around for rims and tyres...who know we may get a group discount!!! what say you guys... biggrin.gif

bros, allow me to share my limited experience on rims upgrade.

first upgraded to brand A 16" from my stock 15" so can put on a wider width tyre 205 for better stability esp. at times taking turns at higher speeds. notice fc increase from average 12.5km/L(stock 15") to 11km/L(brand A 16"), pick up also slower. [:(]

abt 1 yr later, i changed to brand B 16" when during its promo. fc decrease from average of brand A 11km/L to brand B 12km/L. [:)]

weight of rims (est.)

stock 15" - 8kg

This is great info - thanks..will definitely take the weight of the rims into consideration when I change...

and wow ...the weight difference from 11.5 to 4.5 is really big... :blink:

If you say it is 200+ a piece x 4 = 800-900 for the whole car...bloody expensive....then again the fc and pick up will be good.........guess is $$ you pay for quality.

and if you add on the new shods of say 150 a piece = 600++....all in 900+600 = 1,500 would be needed to change to a good quality wheels.. :o

Haven't been driving the car for the past week now...but heard from wifey is better now, the road noise....not as bad as when we got the ride...maybe it's running in. also the brakes seems to be getting better...biting now!! [rolleyes]

If you say it is 200+ a piece x 4 = 800-900 for the whole car...bloody expensive....then again the fc and pick up will be good.........guess is $$ you pay for quality.

yup normal price abt $300/rim, i bot them during promo. fc & pick up may not be better than stock due to wider tyre (more contact to road so more friction) but ok lah for better stability.

and if you add on the new shods of say 150 a piece = 600++....all in 900+600 = 1,500 would be needed to change to a good quality wheels.. :o

sorry did not infd clearer on the lock nut...its whole pack consists of 4 special unique lock nuts & 16 normal nuts for $100+. i'm using mcguard brand....google for more infd.

Edited by Learning

oops...its mcgard brand. sorry.

Thanks Bro - it's definitely a good to know info provided here...

Next time when we change the rims, must be lighter to save FC.... [cool]

Done my 1st service - somehow after a mth, finds the car a lot better in terms of tyre noise...maybe now it's run in!

Any tested the manual gear shift....and yes, don't(or maybe can't) really use all the 7 gears in town driving... [laugh]...max was 6...until i hit the freeway..

The brakes too are getting better - a lot better!..guess you just need time to adjust to it.

Almost done with my 2nd fuel tank - and the trip meter is showing 1500 km....not bad!