The_Bear Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:36 PM, Aimnfire said: yup correct my example is what i can recall when i watch them play during their peak A forward will always be judged by the number of goals he scored. No one actually remembers how Lineker or Eusebio scored but we all know they scored aplenty. A striker that do not score goals is just not good enough. Leave the tracking back and defending to the others and do the job he is suppose to do. If I want my striker to tackle, I would play John Terry upfront. The more on the ball type will try to harass the opponent's backline, forcing them to make the pass forward. It is playing monkey when you have 2 forwards trying to chase down the ball when there are 4 Defenders. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:39 PM, Aimnfire said: actually he's more to tackle and passer aka defensive forward Defensive forward? Championship manager dun have this position leh.... Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 another player who have no other skills but can score goals owen due to his speed now he lost his speed, his goals dry up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:41 PM, Aimnfire said: i think its not the pace but more so in epl, players tend to close down opponets early therefore they cannot perform without space watch spain or dutch league strikers are given space time and time again can sometimes see defenders walking to cover position lol Erm.... I think that is known as the pace of the game.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:24 PM, Aimnfire said: some people are gifted example Filippo "Pippo" Inzaghi, klinsmann, wright, crouch, jan koller, raul these are so call lazy strikers who will never track back to help defending their job is to stay upfront and score thats why these players wont join if jose morinho want them cause his tactics demands striker to defend ok opposite of these strikers who can tackle, dribble,pass BUT score regularly heskey, berbetov, folan, anelka strikers who can do all those and score regularly nistelrooy, torres, drogba hahaha there will never ever be a spot for lazy players in my team either. but i know what you mean. i agree. hmm... so are u a lazy striker? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:43 PM, Galantspeedz said: Defensive forward? Championship manager dun have this position leh.... Lol got lah their job is to chase loose ball and close down defenders to make mistakes 1 thing i admire heskey is is passion and determination but of course these things are useless if you cannot win the game another player is beckham set piece and crossers plus chase and close down opponets other than that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:24 PM, Aimnfire said: some people are gifted example Filippo "Pippo" Inzaghi, klinsmann, wright, crouch, jan koller, raul these are so call lazy strikers who will never track back to help defending their job is to stay upfront and score thats why these players wont join if jose morinho want them cause his tactics demands striker to defend ok opposite of these strikers who can tackle, dribble,pass BUT score regularly heskey, berbetov, folan, anelka strikers who can do all those and score regularly nistelrooy, torres, drogba Err.. Crouch positioning no good lar... Berbatov tackle?? nah..... Heskey dribble?? Thats like Bambi on ice.... Other lazy strikers in the past::: Lineker, Eto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:43 PM, Aimnfire said: another player who have no other skills but can score goals owen due to his speed now he lost his speed, his goals dry up Actually I admire Owen and tim Cahill because they so short but score quite a few headed goals... Javier Hernandez seem to be similar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:44 PM, Galantspeedz said: Erm.... I think that is known as the pace of the game.... ok i tot more to pass and move all the time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:45 PM, Aimnfire said: got lah their job is to chase loose ball and close down defenders to make mistakes 1 thing i admire heskey is is passion and determination but of course these things are useless if you cannot win the game another player is beckham set piece and crossers plus chase and close down opponets other than that? To be honest, in his prime... Beckham is worth half a goal every game..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:46 PM, Aimnfire said: ok i tot more to pass and move all the time All interlinked I guess, I close you down quickly, so you have to pass quickly so have to move to next position quickly..... Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:43 PM, Aimnfire said: another player who have no other skills but can score goals owen due to his speed now he lost his speed, his goals dry up i think your definition of not having skills a bit too high standard leh i know they are not as good in other areas but they should still be able to pass a simple passing, dribbling, ball control, beep test etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:45 PM, Blackwind said: hahaha there will never ever be a spot for lazy players in my team either. but i know what you mean. i agree. hmm... so are u a lazy striker? yah i lazy to chase around thats why now i prefer to stay in the goal;p anyway i've give up soccer long time ago i'm more like o'shea type last i wore boots was 2 years ago in inter dept games they short of left back so i play there to cover play me anywhere can except central midfield i hate to chase balls i'm not that good nor bad consider acceptable lah now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:50 PM, Aimnfire said: yah i lazy to chase around thats why now i prefer to stay in the goal;p anyway i've give up soccer long time ago i'm more like o'shea type last i wore boots was 2 years ago in inter dept games they short of left back so i play there to cover play me anywhere can except central midfield i hate to chase balls i'm not that good nor bad consider acceptable lah now sigh so sad... i'm a defender and i hate lazy strikers... thought we could have a "friendly" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:42 PM, Bavarian said: A forward will always be judged by the number of goals he scored. No one actually remembers how Lineker or Eusebio scored but we all know they scored aplenty. A striker that do not score goals is just not good enough. Leave the tracking back and defending to the others and do the job he is suppose to do. If I want my striker to tackle, I would play John Terry upfront. The more on the ball type will try to harass the opponent's backline, forcing them to make the pass forward. It is playing monkey when you have 2 forwards trying to chase down the ball when there are 4 Defenders. true but modern game nowadays demand that they defend from the front meaning strikers may need not tackle defenders but to close them down and harrass them those fox in the box definitely wont want to play this way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 i've given up on local football. even our SLEAGUE also contain FOREIGN Talent teams. smlj. local teams (jurong fc, sembawang rangers etc) had all closed down. wat's left for locals to support? i rather spend $3000 for a trip to my favourite english club, than pay $3 for any sleague entrance fee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:49 PM, Blackwind said: i think your definition of not having skills a bit too high standard leh i know they are not as good in other areas but they should still be able to pass a simple passing, dribbling, ball control, beep test etc but generally that is what he is i remember in the 90s when england came to malaysia for youth world cup if i'm not mistaken owen was not as much feared as another player true he score goals and got speed but the other player can score pass tackle and shoot his name is steven gerrard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 On 1/6/2011 at 3:56 PM, Lamzh87 said: i've given up on local football. even our SLEAGUE also contain FOREIGN Talent teams. smlj. local teams (jurong fc, sembawang rangers etc) had all closed down. wat's left for locals to support? i rather spend $3000 for a trip to my favourite english club, than pay $3 for any sleague entrance fee. hahaha i went one step further i even gave up on bpl... i just feel that it isnt as good as last time when i used to watch ian wright, peter beardsley etc it is like ecstasy last time when you watch maldini, gulit, rickard in ac milan fighting back whenever they are a goal down.... ECSTASY!!! nowadays i rather go and play soccer with my friends... more fun... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...