Car Pool instead of ERP???

KARTer

I remember years ago before LTA introduced CBD charges and ERPs, any car which had 4 persons onboard did not have to pay a signle cent to enter CBD. On my way to office, i just picked up 3 passengers at some designated pick-up points and we all entered CBD free.

The idea is to encourage communtors to car pool instead of having just one or two persons in each car (therefore taking up more road space and cause congestion). This also helped in reducing the number of bus/train passengers as some of them joined the car pools. With modern technologies, it wont be too difficult to screen cars which pass the gantries to see if the cars have 4 persons onboard.

Today we see more than half the cars in traffic jams or busy roads carrying less than 2 persons... this is a waste of road space in tiny singapore.

ERP does not reduce road congestion as effectively as car-pool except adding more $$$ to LTA's revenue.

Edited by KARTer

Introduce carpool lane just like the US on lane 1.

Only cars with 2 and above can travel on that lane otherwise result in a Fine. (In US 's case is US$131 iirc.)

Edited by Nerdyfrog

Introduce carpool lane just like the US on lane 1.

Only cars with 2 and above can travel on that lane otherwise result in a Fine. (In US 's case is US$131 iirc.)

Not possible. If you have driven in US before, you will know there are about 4, 5 or 6 lanes road. Most of our highway are only 3 lanes, if reserve 1 lane for car pool then it will be nightmare to drive in Singapore liao.

In US, the freeway are very long distance. Hence, when enter car pool lane, you dun have to exit so fast from extreme left lane to extreme right lane. Singpaore highway are not so long distance. If there is a car pool lane, drivers will only use it for less than 10 min then exit liao. More busy for drivers. [laugh][laugh]

I remember years ago before LTA introduced CBD charges and ERPs, any car which had 4 persons onboard did not have to pay a signle cent to enter CBD. On my way to office, i just picked up 3 passengers at some designated pick-up points and we all entered CBD free.

The idea is to encourage communtors to car pool instead of having just one or two persons in each car (therefore taking up more road space and cause congestion). This also helped in reducing the number of bus/train passengers as some of them joined the car pools. With modern technologies, it wont be too difficult to screen cars which pass the gantries to see if the cars have 4 persons onboard.

Today we see more than half the cars in traffic jams or busy roads carrying less than 2 persons... this is a waste of road space in tiny singapore.

ERP does not reduce road congestion as effectively as car-pool except adding more $$$ to LTA's revenue.

But if you ask me to fetch 3 other strangers from road side and drive them to CBD... I jus feel uncomfortable. Unless its chio [gorgeous] then will motivate me to fetch them. [laugh]

My dad is a cab driver and he got mugged by a PRC with pepper spray before.

Think twice before picking up these chicks...

Car pooling is only for countries which do not have enough public transport to cover every area. Plus these ppl dun live in flats like a large number of ppl concentrated in a location, they live in houses scattered all over the place. They have no choice but to drive cos public transport dun work for them.

Difficult to scan 4 persons in the car from video technology.

The ERP system is Good as it is.

But really more gantries should be erected to really control the road flow and usage!!!

So hiong? I better ask her to show my all she has before I start my engine. [sly] haha..

Car pooling is only for countries which do not have enough public transport to cover every area. Plus these ppl dun live in flats like a large number of ppl concentrated in a location, they live in houses scattered all over the place. They have no choice but to drive cos public transport dun work for them.

Yalor.

Their public transport company will loose money if to cover every area. Ours is to earn $$. Different objective. [laugh]

Your father must have kau suah that PRC.... Hehe... Just kidding....

CBD of Jakarta also have something like that, you see many kids stand outside the gantry where car will pick them up and drive across the gantry and drop them off. You pay them a token or buy them some makan ^_^

i think known as RP? it is a piece of paper.... ERP was the electronic version....

i agree car pool... of at least 4 should be free....

There is carpooling just outside washington dc.. you drive you car to a large parking lot... pakring it there and take your friend's car to get into the city..

If a law is passed that you need to have 2 or more in your car before you can travel on the expressway during peak hours in the am, else you pay $10.. I'm very sure that a large number of pple would share transport with neighbours and friends... you might even pick up you friends who dun drive and hence put less strain on the current public transport system...

How many of you think that such a plan is feasible to reduce cars on the roads during peak hours and also to relieve the strain on the current public transport system?

Actually it's not so uncomfortable :D ..... with some luck, you picked up chio bus and the drive became less stressful... seriously, it's convenient, helped reduce road congestions and number of passengers using buses/trains, but of course it did not make money for LTA like the ERP system

There is carpooling just outside washington dc.. you drive you car to a large parking lot... pakring it there and take your friend's car to get into the city..

If a law is passed that you need to have 2 or more in your car before you can travel on the expressway during peak hours in the am, else you pay $10.. I'm very sure that a large number of pple would share transport with neighbours and friends... you might even pick up you friends who dun drive and hence put less strain on the current public transport system...

How many of you think that such a plan is feasible to reduce cars on the roads during peak hours and also to relieve the strain on the current public transport system?

If some kinds of incentive can be given to car pooling eg waived ERP charges etc, more people will try it out. I did it for about two years and found it convenient.

Not possible. If you have driven in US before, you will know there are about 4, 5 or 6 lanes road. Most of our highway are only 3 lanes, if reserve 1 lane for car pool then it will be nightmare to drive in Singapore liao.

In US, the freeway are very long distance. Hence, when enter car pool lane, you dun have to exit so fast from extreme left lane to extreme right lane. Singpaore highway are not so long distance. If there is a car pool lane, drivers will only use it for less than 10 min then exit liao. More busy for drivers. [laugh][laugh]

i believe you have driven in US before too, you would have noticed that carpool lanes does not stretch thru-out the entire highway. This is where the highway planning must come in. In addition, entering and exiting from the car-pool lane itself is controlled at certain points. So some driving planning is also required.

Most of drivers exit the expressway from lane 1 in less than 15mins in sg anyway. We are trying to improve traffic conditions, so getting to our destination faster is what we want to achieve.

I disagree with the reserve 1 lane for carpool will be disastrous. We are encouraging car-pool, so naturally there will be lesser cars on the road. More people will be encouraged to carpool.

Everything is worth a try la, even $70k COE Govt also say ok. What else cannot be experimented.