Watwheels Supersonic January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 PCK Bank lor. The best in sgp, JB & some say Batam. ;p ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Hmmm... Singaporean does able to open an account huh... That's news to me... Or need a work permit to apply one. There may be other "rules" too. Actually why one needs to open a MY bank account for personal use leh? SG MayBank ATM card can also perform transactions in MY Maybank ATMs. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Se17g Clutched January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Yes, I am a 100% Singaporean, for foreigners, minimum deposit is RM1000, just bring IC and passport and the RM1000. I think for Malaysian, their minimum deposit is only RM10 depends on account type. You get a debit card as well. SO it is good especially for people who travels to Malaysia very often like me. Same like me...that is why i would like to open an account there too!!! Thanks. But all we need is just NRIC and passport and the $$$, do they ask Q&A???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Razgriz Clutched January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 I heard on radio before investment account we can open an account de Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Se17g Clutched January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Ya....can open....is dunno need any special criteria or requirement or not....... After info gathers, i think the requirements are normal lar......can go open liao lor..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rjmsfire Neutral Newbie January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 I have accounts with Public Bank and CIMB. CIMB has the 2nd most branches after leader Maybank. Public's branches are the 3rd most numerous. However Public's ATMs are only located at their branches, so its not convenient. You won't find any Public ATMs at shopping malls. Maybank and CIMB off-branch ATMs on the other hand are the most numerous and are found everywhere. This is an important point for you as a service charge of RM1 or RM2 is deducted for every inter-bank ATM withdrawal. CIMB also offers free top-up of Touch & Go cards at their ATMs whereas you have to pay a 50 sen service charge elsewhere. The decor of CIMB's branches are top notch, on par with with what you find at foreign banks and local banks in Singapore. Public's branches on the other hand look like relics of the early 90s. In terms of internet banking, both Public and CIMB services are just as comprehensive but Public's IB website also looks like a relic of the early 90s. Design wise, CIMB IB website is top notch. However what has overawed me about CIMB is its telephone call centre. I have called them many times. On every single occasion, after selecting the desired service through the push buttons, the phone is answered by a human within 3 rings. That's very impressive and top notch customer service. And I'm not using a call centre line for premium private banking clients. It's the general line for ordinary account holders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 It's still man by inhouse locals. [thumbsup] But, once outsourced, [dead] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Maybank... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Stick with Maybank or CIMB. Had unpleasant experiences with a smaller bank. And I don't mean bad service. I mean c**king up the bank balance, mysterious levying of additional charges, paying over the wrong amount resulting in late fees levied on the other end. At least for Maybank or CIMB, they intend to go regional. And will have some standards, hopefully. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear January 4, 2011 Author Share January 4, 2011 Yes , i was looking at CIMB website , wow , their banks so gd one , sat not working ... i have to take leave to go in n open account. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rjmsfire Neutral Newbie January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Yes , i was looking at CIMB website , wow , their banks so gd one , sat not working ... i have to take leave to go in n open account. In Malaysia, the norm for all bank's branches is Mon to Fri 4:30 only. Some banks have weekday night and weekend hours for selected branches. For CIMB, only 3 or 4 branches in Kuala Lumpur city centre have weekend hours. So yeah, that's just too bad, you have to take leave to visit them. One more thing to add for Public Bank. They have the most number of and highest bank charges. Incidentally, Public's stock is one of the highest amongst Malaysian financial companies. And I heard they are a rock solid investment as it is a traditional chinese bank mainly owned by the original shareholders and most of the directors are the shareholders' own people. So they are very careful with their own money, whereas come-and-go type of CEOs may just have a fling with company money while they are temporarily in charge. A chinese bank is a rare thing in Malaysia, if I'm not mistaken, every other bank is now bumi owned and run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Yes , i was looking at CIMB website , wow , their banks so gd one , sat not working ... i have to take leave to go in n open account. i think OCBC (like SG branches) do open on weekend and till late night... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funny88 Clutched January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Same like me...that is why i would like to open an account there too!!! Thanks. But all we need is just NRIC and passport and the $$$, do they ask Q&A???? No. just go there with your IC, Passport and RM1000, tell them you want to open an account, just fill up a form and they will set up the account for you. They will give you the debit card on the spot and also want you to set up your internet banking on the spot as well. Very easy. After opening the account, you can withdraw RM990 out already. hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funny88 Clutched January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Yes , i was looking at CIMB website , wow , their banks so gd one , sat not working ... i have to take leave to go in n open account. Yes, do take note that their bank saturday off. I think in JB, only City Square's Maybank is open on Saturdays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 I saw this CIMB advert in JB. No charge for withdrawal of cash. Dont know if this applies to Singapore card. If yes how they earn, should have hidden cost I have account with Maybank here. In the past used to pay $3 for each withdrawal in Malaysia. Nevertheless, Maybank has done away with the charge of $3 since Nov last year if you withdraw from Maybank ATM. The exchange rates is indeed quite attractive and comparable to the rates given by the local money changers here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 I have account with Maybank here. In the past used to pay $3 for each withdrawal in Malaysia. Nevertheless, Maybank has done away with the charge of $3 since Nov last year if you withdraw from Maybank ATM. The exchange rates is indeed quite attractive and comparable to the rates given by the local money changers here. that's why i always use maybank credit card when in Malaysia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Se17g Clutched January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 I have account with Maybank here. In the past used to pay $3 for each withdrawal in Malaysia. Nevertheless, Maybank has done away with the charge of $3 since Nov last year if you withdraw from Maybank ATM. The exchange rates is indeed quite attractive and comparable to the rates given by the local money changers here. But can we apply credit card from Malaysia maybank or CMIB? I thought the surcharge is for credit card withdraw from oversea charge and even using atm cards to withraw? How come they can waive ah? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...