XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Green parts of the potato contain scopolamine, its psychotropic =D ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 some qtn for the experts: health concerns over use of non-stick pans? i usually use those cleaned potatoes... is it ok not to peel of the potato's skin? most recommend me to use spagetti... is it very different from those chinese noodles... or can they be used interchangeably? for white radish must i slice away the outer most layer or can it be cooked straight away after giving it a good wash? more qtns for the experts why is it that olive oil seems to be used more than other types of oil... i got 1 bottle of olive oil for my projects too it also seems that butter is very popular for making steaks and other stuff... can i use margarine instead? http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/butter-vs-margarine/AN00835 http://www.healthcastle.com/butter-or-margarine.shtml Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 Green parts of the potato contain scopolamine, its psychotropic =D ok got it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Olive oil is perceived as more healthy and it probably is, but i cant get past that green taste that comes with olive oil, so generally i dont use it, it also has a very low smoke point, so not so good for steaks and other high heat applications, for that, i use peanut oil or canola oil.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 sounds good I like nice n simple food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 BTW, if you want steak, which is bloody easy to make, here's how to turn a piece of cheap meat into a nicely aged, tender one. It works, I've tried it before: http://steamykitchen.com/163-how-to-turn-c...ime-steaks.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 i catch, i kill, i cook, i eat... Ah u also go fishing. I like to cook my catch fm scs buy its much bigger than yrs. 1 fish can eat 3 meals at least. Ang kuey is my favourite. I also like snappers, tenggiri n cobia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 more qtns for the experts why is it that olive oil seems to be used more than other types of oil... i got 1 bottle of olive oil for my projects too it also seems that butter is very popular for making steaks and other stuff... can i use margarine instead? http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/butter-vs-margarine/AN00835 http://www.healthcastle.com/butter-or-margarine.shtml There are a few variety of olive oil around, get those that are first cold pressed and extra virgin. Olive oil is more heat stable than Canola oil, a very simple way to proof, heat up Canola oil and you will see that it smoke up very quickly and turn rancid, the oil at this stage would be slighty brownish in colour. A big no no for margarine as most of them are hydrogentated fats and presence of partially hydrogenated fats in the process of hydrogentation. For steak and other pan grill stuff, I usually coat the surface with a teaspoon of butter. Cheers and enjoy cooking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Ah u also go fishing. I like to cook my catch fm scs buy its much bigger than yrs. 1 fish can eat 3 meals at least. Ang kuey is my favourite. I also like snappers, tenggiri n cobia. any fish bigger than 1.5kg, i throw back, tough meat. lol, that thing is a yellowbelly perch, flesh like the kbl but more tender, with fat like the patin, and no mud taste from a freshie, that's love =D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehchang8 Neutral Newbie January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 health concerns over use of non-stick pans? i usually use those cleaned potatoes... is it ok not to peel of the potato's skin? most recommend me to use spagetti... is it very different from those chinese noodles... or can they be used interchangeably? for white radish must i slice away the outer most layer or can it be cooked straight away after giving it a good wash? non-stick pans has telfon. it is very stable, can be used to store strong chemicals. but if heated to a certain temperature (quite high, 200+ or 300+ can't remember) it gives off toxic gas. so cook using low heat only, and don't heat the pan without anything in it for too long. u will notice that after using for quite some time, the telfon coating will be gone. some washed away, some into yr stomach i believe. since it is a very stable substance, i don't think it can be digested and will be passed out (hope i guess correctly). i avoid non-stick pan although they are very convenient. potato's skin can eat lah. but not nice to eat unless u fried it. can used anything you like lah. when i was cooking for myself only, i boil water, throw in whatever i like in the right sequence. rich or noodle, veg, meat, egg whatever i can find. eat with the pot, and wash only one pot. radish i slice away the outer layer, because it is faster than a good wash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehchang8 Neutral Newbie January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 more qtns for the experts why is it that olive oil seems to be used more than other types of oil... i got 1 bottle of olive oil for my projects too it also seems that butter is very popular for making steaks and other stuff... can i use margarine instead? http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/butter-vs-margarine/AN00835 http://www.healthcastle.com/butter-or-margarine.shtml olive oil used mostly in ang mo cooking leh. u ang mo ?? at home cooking, i use different type of oil except canola oil, veg/palm oil, olive oil(expensive). can substitute olive oil with other oil, butter with margarine. in my opinion, cooking is up to your liking, don't have to follow strictly the recipe. i don't eat a lot of butter or margarine. but i always choose butter over margarine because of the taste. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 any fish bigger than 1.5kg, i throw back, tough meat. lol, that thing is a yellowbelly perch, flesh like the kbl but more tender, with fat like the patin, and no mud taste from a freshie, that's love =D Hahaha wah anything more than 1.5kg u throw back? Throw to me. I come yr place to collect. Big does not mean old or tough. Small can also b old n tough fish. Some places fish got plenty of good food to eat so grow very fast. Some places not much food so fish grow very slowly. I eat 3kg fish very tender. Sometimes 1kg fish can also b tough n dry. We can usually tell by looking at e eyes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Hahaha wah anything more than 1.5kg u throw back? Throw to me. I come yr place to collect. Big does not mean old or tough. Small can also b old n tough fish. Some places fish got plenty of good food to eat so grow very fast. Some places not much food so fish grow very slowly. I eat 3kg fish very tender. Sometimes 1kg fish can also b tough n dry. We can usually tell by looking at e eyes. You mean like females, their eyes will betray their inner tenderness or bi®tchiness? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 You mean like females, their eyes will betray their inner tenderness or bi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie January 8, 2011 Author Share January 8, 2011 ive been busy with my cooking these few days i'm currently addicted to the scrambled eggs, kimchi fried rice and the various steaks i think i'm lacking vege recipes.... currently i just steam whatever vege i want and it actually tastes quite ok gonna take up some cooking courses too... looking at the courses offered in CCs... if you guys have better suggestions feel free to let me know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie January 8, 2011 Author Share January 8, 2011 non-stick pans has telfon. it is very stable, can be used to store strong chemicals. but if heated to a certain temperature (quite high, 200+ or 300+ can't remember) it gives off toxic gas. so cook using low heat only, and don't heat the pan without anything in it for too long. u will notice that after using for quite some time, the telfon coating will be gone. some washed away, some into yr stomach i believe. since it is a very stable substance, i don't think it can be digested and will be passed out (hope i guess correctly). i avoid non-stick pan although they are very convenient. potato's skin can eat lah. but not nice to eat unless u fried it. can used anything you like lah. when i was cooking for myself only, i boil water, throw in whatever i like in the right sequence. rich or noodle, veg, meat, egg whatever i can find. eat with the pot, and wash only one pot. radish i slice away the outer layer, because it is faster than a good wash. olive oil used mostly in ang mo cooking leh. u ang mo ?? at home cooking, i use different type of oil except canola oil, veg/palm oil, olive oil(expensive). can substitute olive oil with other oil, butter with margarine. in my opinion, cooking is up to your liking, don't have to follow strictly the recipe. i don't eat a lot of butter or margarine. but i always choose butter over margarine because of the taste. thanks for all the advise ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...