GLZT 6th Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 These reminds me of my economics lesson last time, my teacher always said hawkers earn the most whenever there is inflation, like when price of rice increase 5%, these hawkers can use it as an excuse and increase their food by 30cents, which is 10-15% of their usual price. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 The end is near. Get ready to get outpriced.... Property, Cars, Food, Schools, Hospitals, you name it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 Plant your own veggies, can save cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 Plant your own veggies, can save cost. Yeah, organic somemore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 (edited) I used to tell people, although a lot of stuff are very expensive in Singapore, like cars, housing, beer, but food are very affordable. Seems not so anymore. Pretty sad. Edited December 29, 2010 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 Fishball noodle 30 yrs ago cost only $0.20 - you sure or not ? Its was $1.50 (Dry) and $1.20 soup... errrr............... it should be in the early 60's for sure as I always buy it from those push cart stall with 2 or 3 assistant knocking on the bamboo making the sound tick.. tick.. tock, tick.. tick.. tock, tick.. tick.. tick.. tick... tock.......... some even called it Kok Kok mee ..... then late 60's, it was 50cents and slowly increased 70c, 80c, $1/-, $1.20/-, $1.50/- and thereafter, every jump is 50cents ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 ....btw Commonwealth Ave hawker center is poised to be torn down by Feb 2011... a lot of good and cheap food there another good makan place gone Is the date confirmed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 hawker food sld be sell more, low profit thing...trying to sell low high profit doesnt work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 Reminds me of the Chicken/CharSiew rice stall at PS which closed recently. The taste was good, and I like the CharSiew especially. But stopped buying from them after one time... the price is normal (about $5), but only comes with 3-4 thin slices of CharSiew. Initially, there was a long queue, but the queue vanished after about 1 week. Sometimes I wander if the store owner ever reflect on why the queue vanished. i like that store, it closed already?? that was own by one of the TCS actor right? but i remember their rice not so expensive, around $3+ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 Ya should sell $2 chicken rice, more customers hence economies of scale. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 $17 for laksa is small pee sai US$1000 Pizza US$1000 sundae Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 $17 for laksa is small pee sai US$1000 Pizza US$1000 sundae Aiya, those place sell at exquisite location only for the special people mah. This laksa located at heartland area where hobos can even walk in and out of it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 Forgot to mention US$1000 Omelette HDB heartlands may have a lot of rich table wipers lurking around Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 The end is near. Get ready to get outpriced.... Property, Cars, Food, Schools, Hospitals, you name it... When I was in HK recently, I realized I have been a carrot head all this while in Singapore. Practically everything is cheaper in HK. Except housing of course. Moreover, HK offers much more variety. I wondered what has happen....hiaz....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 When I was in HK recently, I realized I have been a carrot head all this while in Singapore. Practically everything is cheaper in HK. Except housing of course. Moreover, HK offers much more variety. I wondered what has happen....hiaz....... The problem with SG is that gahmen sipeh ai been.... Everything want nice packaging... so here comes giant like kopitiam, banquet, koufu start taking over all the hawker centres one by one and make it into aircon foodcourt. Yea looks nice but fcuk, price is even nicer.... The place I stay, Yew Tee MRT center... used to sell cheap food but now, all taken over by Kopitiam and the one on the 2nd floor, almost 50% shops moved out... Buay tahan the rental. Drinks used to be 70cents for kopi-o now 1.10.... Really KNS.... Now also, wet market want aircon.... Sengkang failure still nobody learn the lesson and yesterday saw the paper, saw that Elias Road estate has first aircon wet market.... Yea, stylo-mylo.... I wonder how long they will last... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 The problem with SG is that gahmen sipeh ai been.... Everything want nice packaging... so here comes giant like kopitiam, banquet, koufu start taking over all the hawker centres one by one and make it into aircon foodcourt. Yea looks nice but fcuk, price is even nicer.... The place I stay, Yew Tee MRT center... used to sell cheap food but now, all taken over by Kopitiam and the one on the 2nd floor, almost 50% shops moved out... Buay tahan the rental. Drinks used to be 70cents for kopi-o now 1.10.... Really KNS.... Now also, wet market want aircon.... Sengkang failure still nobody learn the lesson and yesterday saw the paper, saw that Elias Road estate has first aircon wet market.... Yea, stylo-mylo.... I wonder how long they will last... Price is 1 thing. You pay higher price but gets lower quality/quantity food. Forced out all the good old hawkers selling good food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 sometimes i eat laksa at island cafe at tangs come with crayfish also 18++ i think. is very nice. anyway, we keep having FTs to suppress wages, but rental is allowed to go up unchecked, in the end, all the savings from low wages goes towards paying high rents. So it is not true that high wages = high prices. Can always bring down other costs component like rent. but landlord will tell you they buy land expensive, so must charge higher rent. so who did they buy the land from Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear December 29, 2010 Share December 29, 2010 Can somebody start a thread on affordable Singapore food places? Leave the ex places to the highly paid FTs and ministars and civil servants/grassroots leaders. I rather be a kopitiam uncle man... Don't ever do that. Someone up there will meddle and create an "upgrading" with that hawker and you can kiss the cheap food goodbye. Anyone remember Hill Street food center next to the fire station / opp Funan? It used to have a lot of nice food and cheap too, with parking on top. For no good reason, they torn it down and now plant grass and trees. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...