Best_ctzn Clutched December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 Today learnt something new. All along I only understand that when we sign the purchase form to get a new car, that price is locked. Car dealer can only ask customer to top-up when COE got too high, and it is before any subsequent bidding. But what Harvest Auto did for some of its customers really baffled me: Below taken from VSGSG forum under Skoda (http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41917&page=13): VRS customers who secured at $108k were told to top up $10k, AFTER COE was secured. This is against normal practice, but as usual, T&Cs well covered. Choice was given to take back deposit and COE. I am sure it left a very bitter aftertaste on many of its customers. I will be very wary if I have to deal with them in future. What do you think? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 You may want to refer to a similar episode involving individuals who executed sales options with Borneo Motor. Therein, many under the impression that BM would secure their COEs as past records show, decided to exercise the non-guaranteed COE option. They ended up the biggest losers as they didn't get their COEs and subsequent rounds after that only produced COEs which were dearer. And not to mentioned, they missed out on an opportunity to purchase sub 50 grand rides from other ADs if my memory serves me correct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 You may want to refer to a similar episode involving individuals who executed sales options with Borneo Motor. Therein, many under the impression that BM would secure their COEs as past records show, decided to exercise the non-guaranteed COE option. They ended up the biggest losers as they didn't get their COEs and subsequent rounds after that only produced COEs which were dearer. And not to mentioned, they missed out on an opportunity to purchase sub 50 grand rides from other ADs if my memory serves me correct. BM case is different.... this is After secure then asked for top up is .. luckily they didnt ask for another 50K..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishman 1st Gear December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 If the buyers had agreed to such terms in the first place, then there is no need to talk, unless buyers sign their forms blindly, or agent did not explain clearly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcfmun Neutral Newbie December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 Check the T&C carefully again. That is your only protection. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 (edited) Most of us take things for granted. Buying a car nowadays is not small matter any more as it can cost up to 100K or even higher, but how many of us really take the trouble to read the fine prints in the Purchase Agreement before you pen your signature on the dotted line. Also, not a single sale people ever took the trouble to explain the Purchase Agreement to his customers. Out of curiosity after viewing the post by the TS, I went thru the Purchase Agreement in respect of a new car I bought from a agent here a few years back and noticed that under the Clause known as Edited December 23, 2010 by Civic2000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched December 23, 2010 Author Share December 23, 2010 If the buyers had agreed to such terms in the first place, then there is no need to talk, unless buyers sign their forms blindly, or agent did not explain clearly. I think if you read through the few threads in the highlighted skoda folder, the SEs were all very confident of getting the COEs and only asked for topup after securing the COEs. More of a ploy to trap customers with well-covered T&C in the sales agreement, knowing full well the difficulty in enticing buyers in current climate. Surely the customers can forego the deals, but they will end up with nothing so most of them just pay up. It is obvious the customers are unhappy and will not want to get anything from HA again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched December 23, 2010 Author Share December 23, 2010 Most of us take things for granted. Buying a car nowadays is not small matter any more as it can cost up to 100K or even higher, but how many of us really take the trouble to read the fine prints in the Purchase Agreement before you pen your signature on the dotted line. Also, not a single sale people ever took the trouble to explain the Purchase Agreement to his customers. Out of curiosity after viewing the post by the TS, I went thru the Purchase Agreement in respect of a new car I bought from a agent here a few years back and noticed that under the Clause known as Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeze Neutral Newbie December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 hey dude all i can say is you are lucky...whatever it is dun buy from beyond motor....they are located in turf city..never deal with them they are lying cheats...just for quick bucks...tell your friens about it and dun let any of your family nor friends buy or sell anything to these people...cheeers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 I believe it depends on the contract specification details. You may want to seek legal advice/assistance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 Today learnt something new. All along I only understand that when we sign the purchase form to get a new car, that price is locked. Car dealer can only ask customer to top-up when COE got too high, and it is before any subsequent bidding. But what Harvest Auto did for some of its customers really baffled me: Below taken from VSGSG forum under Skoda (http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41917&page=13): VRS customers who secured at $108k were told to top up $10k, AFTER COE was secured. This is against normal practice, but as usual, T&Cs well covered. Choice was given to take back deposit and COE. I am sure it left a very bitter aftertaste on many of its customers. I will be very wary if I have to deal with them in future. What do you think? actually if u take NON-GUARANTEED" coe package, even the price was understood as "locked in", they tell u ur coe not successfully bidded, but if u top up can get ur car as usual. again LL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 (edited) hey dude all i can say is you are lucky...whatever it is dun buy from beyond motor....they are located in turf city..never deal with them they are lying cheats...just for quick bucks...tell your friens about it and dun let any of your family nor friends buy or sell anything to these people...cheeers many such dealers out there... with s'pore so small, n the volatile nature of (car) biz, most car dealers / biz'men / salesmen would never quite think about doing "long term biz". Edited December 23, 2010 by Fuelsaver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 Wait till the ARF is reduce in the march budget! There will be more KPKB. The dealer that secured the COE and then asking buyer to top up is STUPID. It's reputation is gone. Still want to sell the Aussie Holden brand. Just ask for the COE and use it to buy another car. I am sure many car dealers would be very happy to sell a car to anyone who walks in with a ready COE, taking in account the desperate nature of many AD due to quota reduction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged December 24, 2010 Share December 24, 2010 Hahaha.. Harvest Auto gone bonkers??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched December 24, 2010 Author Share December 24, 2010 I believe it depends on the contract specification details. You may want to seek legal advice/assistance Luckily not me ganna. I just highlight this to let all know about this saga unfolding. To me, this is unscrupulous regardless of whether it is well covered in T&C. If the SE had bothered to explain that the company will ask you to top-up after successfully bidded the COE, you think the customer will not run far far away? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched December 24, 2010 Author Share December 24, 2010 actually if u take NON-GUARANTEED" coe package, even the price was understood as "locked in", they tell u ur coe not successfully bidded, but if u top up can get ur car as usual. again LL. This one I know. It is about whether it is right for dealer to successfully bidded for COE then ask the customer to top-up. All the while as per market practice, if you see your name in the COE bidding process and is successful, you will be over the moon especially if COE has gone up substantially. But alas the euphoria is shortlived as the SE called soon to ask you to top-up 10k to get the dealer due to COE risen too much. Surely you will KPKB that the SE never consult you on the top-up before bidding for you. COE bidding has become very complicated if everybody follows this practice. Think if this has become market practice. Any smart PI can sell a car at laosai price to entice you to sign paper. Then after COE bidding exercise, ask to top-up 10k even though COE only rise by 1k citing some creative reason, as it has been well covered in the T&C that the company has right to ask customer to absorb any rise due to market forces. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched December 24, 2010 Author Share December 24, 2010 Wait till the ARF is reduce in the march budget! There will be more KPKB. The dealer that secured the COE and then asking buyer to top up is STUPID. It's reputation is gone. Still want to sell the Aussie Holden brand. Just ask for the COE and use it to buy another car. I am sure many car dealers would be very happy to sell a car to anyone who walks in with a ready COE, taking in account the desperate nature of many AD due to quota reduction. Actually I think this ARF reduction thing makes no sense. Surely it will reduce cost of dealers to bring in cars, but do you seriously think the overall car price will drop? Those people able and willing to pay 70k for COE now will surely jack up the COE price even higher as now the basic car price has gone lower and they can throw more money into COE to get the paper. The only party benefit from all this is still the government. Maybe they should accept this advice from MTA to increase the COE contribution to the economy, then can claim the wise idea not from them if it does not work out. It is simply a case of too much people with too much money to spend. May the people with more money win, haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged December 24, 2010 Share December 24, 2010 Walk away from it lor. The dealer is hoping that the urgency of getting a COE outweighs the common sense of not paying 10k above what you're prepared to pay for the car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...