Joseph22 Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Bro, you dont need them to win the seat. you just need the current gahmen to know that we dare to vote them down. then they will think twice before inplementing any policy. if they still dont think. then slowly take them down. Sometimes its not a good idea to totally take down the ruling party in one swap and employ a inexerience party to lead the nation. Big deal. The fine print: Even if the opposition wins all the seats they fight for, the incumbent will still win 66.6%. There's no way in hell in the current situation the opposition would win a majority. But just having someone who has the views of the ground in parliament and HAS THE BALLS to speak out against instead of being a million dollar yes-man in the sinkapoor corporation pte ltd is good enough for me now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Hmmm...so we're all supposed to blindly believe this guy? Dubious if you asked me. But better than nothing lah I suppose! Thanks for the info anyway. well, this is coming from the opposition party. so if we cannot believe them. we can not believe the gahmen. then what for care so much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 In some circles and if you're financlly savvy, it might seem like a dumb idea. I would agree with you that I would never take that step if I were in those shoes. However, their views differ greatly from us. Since everything is so expensive already, they should live life to the fullest. After all, what do they have to lose? HDB cannot touch due to home safeguard policies. They have no money to be financially penalized(bankrupt or not does not matter 2 hoots, they will still earn their 2k salary). So why not use the money to the max and life live to the fullest instead of serving 60 years of your life as a slave to the system? If viewed in those terms, I tend to agree with their actions. If I've been forced by the system into a state of nothing to lose, the system becomes a tool for me to exploit as I have nothing the system can penalize me for. So the people caught in between is the middle class where they have something to lose and to not lose it, they would have to pay an equivalent or more or become 'poorer' than the poor in every sense of the word. Buy on loan? Doesn't make financial sense, have to factor in 50% backup funds for accidents. Get a larger house? Better not just in case one out of job cannot afford to finance the loan then die c--k stand. The 'poor' mindset. Want to buy car? 2k can apply for loan? Want to buy flat? 2k what's the biggest flat I can buy? Got grant? This 50" led television very nice...got 48mths loan..let's go for it... The middle class mindset. Want to buy car? Better earn at least 5k and have some safety net. Want to buy flat? Think 3-4 rm makes more financial sense and can afford to pay through nose. 40" LCD TV? No need lah, the 32" one still working fine. Save the money to pay for the car and flat rental. Who's living the life? Zeng Hu yeah.. they choose to live for today with no planning whatsoever for tomorrow... don't know whether to pity them or envy them. i ask him once whether he got plan for his kids future... university for children - dun have Insurance - dun have savings - dun have even family planning also don't have.... another one on the way... [rifle] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Chinese got a saying.....When ship reached the bridge, it will straighten out. No need to worry so much about the unknown future. Enjoy the lowest downpayment, with the highest enjoyment now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 (edited) yeah.. they choose to live for today with no planning whatsoever for tomorrow... don't know whether to pity them or envy them. i ask him once whether he got plan for his kids future... university for children - dun have Insurance - dun have savings - dun have even family planning also don't have.... another one on the way... [rifle] This reminded me of my camp mate .... He was saying that he needs to buy a MPV as his fourth kid coming. But I told him he has to buy condoms not MPV ... to solve his problem. At the end, everyone has their choice ............. Edited December 22, 2010 by Civic6228 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Chinese got a saying.....When ship reached the bridge, it will straighten out. No need to worry so much about the unknown future. Enjoy the lowest downpayment, with the highest enjoyment now! yeah... buy furniture fromt courts cheap cheap instalment too rite? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 This reminded me of my camp mate .... He was saying that he needs to buy a MPV as his fourth kid coming. But I told him he has to buy condoms not MPV ... to solve his problem. At the end, everyone has their choice ............. thank god for natural selection i guess [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Hmmm...so we're all supposed to blindly believe this guy? Dubious if you asked me. But better than nothing lah I suppose! Thanks for the info anyway. Even an oppo member has a vested interest either way. If you believe he's a genuine (sincere) oppo, then it's to his advantage to reassure people (even falsely) that their vote is secret, otherwise almost noone is going to vote oppo. And if you believe the conspiracy theory that some (at least) of our oppo are closet P@ppies, then there's no need at all to come up with a convincing argument here. If they wanted the vote-count to be impartial, why park it under the PMO (Prime Minister's Office)? And if they wanted to ensure secrecy, why not use a simple system like envelope within an envelope that'll guarantee this despite a numbered voting slip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 yeah.. they choose to live for today with no planning whatsoever for tomorrow... don't know whether to pity them or envy them. i ask him once whether he got plan for his kids future... university for children - dun have Insurance - dun have savings - dun have even family planning also don't have.... another one on the way... [rifle] That's why if look from another angle, it seems like the stress of living 'properly' and financially wise is taking it's toil on the average Singaporean nowadays. While the 'poor' are actually leading a less stressful life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 you think mr Low is a closet? Even an oppo member has a vested interest either way. If you believe he's a genuine (sincere) oppo, then it's to his advantage to reassure people (even falsely) that their vote is secret, otherwise almost noone is going to vote oppo. And if you believe the conspiracy theory that some (at least) of our oppo are closet P@ppies, then there's no need at all to come up with a convincing argument here. If they wanted the vote-count to be impartial, why park it under the PMO (Prime Minister's Office)? And if they wanted to ensure secrecy, why not use a simple system like envelope within an envelope that'll guarantee this despite a numbered voting slip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 this world is all about money....LEVERAGE. last time maybe can save... But today...Leverage is the only way to go. Putting money in banks today is STUPID. Best is to leverage on shares, commidities, stocks, housing. Buying cars is just part of enjoying life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 (edited) That is why I do not understand some dumb a_r_ in MCF are still insisting that the current COE system is "not fair" and car ownership would be everyone's entitlement. Worse are the many "smart" ideas that were posted, make me laugh and wonder what have our education done or not done to them. But to those people u just mentioned, U r the dumb a r s e uneducated one leh, so how? So I shall now stand on the fence and be the only smart one in Singapore, yeah. Isn't it funny how in life if others don't agree with your point of view means they are dumb, stupid, bad education,etc etc, as if u have IQ of >200 and already won several nobel prizes and everything that u say MUST be right. Edited December 22, 2010 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 But to those people u just mentioned, U r the dumb a r s e uneducated one leh, so how? So I shall now stand on the fence and be the only smart one in Singapore, yeah. Isn't it funny how in life if others don't agree with your point of view means they are dumb, stupid, bad education,etc etc, as if u have IQ of >200 and already won several nobel prizes and everything that u say MUST be right. I agree with your comment and i will withdraw my DUMB A_R_ label.... but i cannot access my post liao leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 I agree with your comment and i will withdraw my DUMB A_R_ label.... but i cannot access my post liao leh.. Of cos cannot change liao lah, it's becos of my post, wahahahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 this world is all about money....LEVERAGE. last time maybe can save... But today...Leverage is the only way to go. Putting money in banks today is STUPID. Best is to leverage on shares, commidities, stocks, housing. Buying cars is just part of enjoying life. True, but meaning you have to constantly look at markets, if not 1 shot 1 kill. Market fall, you also do free fall... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Seems like quite a number of us quite free in the office... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Seems like quite a number of us quite free in the office... My "DELL" computer hard disc crashed ....... sent for repair and right now cannot do much. So MCF a good place for me to pass time now... Hoping to get it back asap... using the spare computer in the office but all my data/work is in my computer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 I agree with your comment and i will withdraw my DUMB A_R_ label.... but i cannot access my post liao leh.. NVM. you had already apologise. if ppl still dont like.. then too bad. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...