Are we all stupid to agree to the COE system?

Zanter

Well my point is simple. Should the cars we scrap be given a rebate value of the COE we buy? Not talking about the paper value since that was given to the Govt at the inception we registered our car.

Say we scrap our car to buy a new car, the Govt should give us a rebate value of 90% of the COE we need to pay. Let them keep 10% for admin cost. Fair or not?

All I know its not fair they keep 100% for something they get FREE!

if u cannot afford to buy please take public transport. coe is a good system to control the population..i rather the coe hit 100k so tat there are less cars on the road.

Agree... During the time when coe very cheap, nobody come out and question the coe system, all chiong to buy, si bei happy everyone that time... now coe ex liao, start coming out and make a hoohaa out of the system. Common sense tell us that driving a car in spore got COE, it will raise and fall.... Look at the COE price chart, it will not always go south, it go up and down.... I suppose all drivers know this COE fact before getting their dream car, hence dun understand why now keep complaining.

which world with money got principle one?? [sly]

In Sinkland where got 'principle' when money involved one !

You got great examples... to see and learn from your MIWs!

Got lah....you got 2 German modesl which are German Sherperds [laugh] .... until you can't differentiate between the word ..'principal' and 'principle'..hahaha HAHAHAHA

Sorrie again...can't resist taking this swipe at you!

As I was saying ....the number of morons here......hahahaHAHAHA

Sorrie again....must be the long weekend coming...kekeke

When was the last time you take public transport during rush hours?

Public transport in Singapore before 2006 wasn't as bad as it is now. Imagine all middle class income people decide to ditch their cars to take public transport, how bad will it be?

Edited by C-K

Then there will be more perm bus lane, then add peak hour transport charges n then more complaining by drivers and commuter. Then our brilliant chap will implement more regulations n suck both drivers n commuters. 7 lane cte and gantry at all exit n entrance maybe??

When was the last time you take public transport during rush hours?

Public transport in Singapore before 2006 wasn't as bad as it is now. Imagine all middle class income people decide to ditch their cars to take public transport, how bad will it be?

No offence or harm intended, if one is seriously complaining about COE.. Probably means he's adversely affected. Taking public transport is the last way out if the toll on his pocket is too much. The standard of public transport is of another issue.. Bad or good, I guess beggars (metaphorically speaking) cannot be choosers.

But govt says our transport system is world class leh.. Problem is to who? You me or the FT?

No offence or harm intended, if one is seriously complaining about COE.. Probably means he's adversely affected. Taking public transport is the last way out if the toll on his pocket is too much. The standard of public transport is of another issue.. Bad or good, I guess beggars (metaphorically speaking) cannot be choosers.

But govt says our transport system is world class leh.. Problem is to who? You me or the FT?

"World class" probably means our MRT is catering for people from all over the world, so pls go squeeze with all the "world class" foreigners [laugh]

Agree... During the time when coe very cheap, nobody come out and question the coe system, all chiong to buy, si bei happy everyone that time... now coe ex liao, start coming out and make a hoohaa out of the system. Common sense tell us that driving a car in spore got COE, it will raise and fall.... Look at the COE price chart, it will not always go south, it go up and down.... I suppose all drivers know this COE fact before getting their dream car, hence dun understand why now keep complaining.

When HDB sell 4rm flats for $70K, no one complains also. Now $400K, of cos people must complain. Same applies to COE. So I don't see the problem here that people complain only when things starts becoming grossly overpriced. Perfectly reasonable.

The amount paid for COE has nothing to do with the number of cars on the road. Its the other way around. The number of coe's will influence the price paid in the supply demand curve.

I think you wont be quite happy when u have to scrap your car and pay 100k or more for your COE. So no need to be too smug about it now.

You guys always have the wrong kind of idea, 100K or higher COE does not equate less cars on the roads.

And COE is not a good tool to control car population, more to a highly effective way of sucking $$$ from peasants.

There are many ways to control car population, no necessary using $$$ to solve the problem.

When LTA decides to issue xxxx number of COEs, that amount of cars will be on the road, irregardless of the COE price.

And there are always more bidders than available COEs.

If there are insufficient takers, it'll be dumped to the next bidding exercise.

Till the day LTA anounce negative vehicle growth, then you can expect less cars on the roads.

Edited by Bystander50

Fully Agree with you bro and beehive...

Err I think some of you need to like LIVE OVERSEAS, not travel there for few days and think its sooooooo good and great over there...

When I didn't travel for work, like many people, I take whatever is being spend overseas convert to Singapore and say wah very cheap... but when I was there and put myself in their shoes, see how much they earn and how much they have to spend, I was like wah... actually not cheap...

When I was living in the States, working there a couple of years ago and was back a year before the crisis.... Err parking just outside CBD at the train station is more than US10... When you drive into like the city, where all the happening is, you are talking about parking at USD16/hour, the CHEAPEST.. There is NO SUCH THING as season parking when I was there... So many financial brokers ride the sub to the city, those can afford to drive have their parking covered by their company...

Yes they got no COE, I paid USD23000 for a Ford Fiesta, when I sold it off after a year i could only get back USD11000... No COE, but the carpark is seriously expensive, so is cost of living... Cost of living is sooooo high that in case you didn't know, there are many homeless people in certain places in US... also many of my neighbours and colleagues DO NOT OWN a house, they rent, cos they can't afford to buy house and there is NO HDB... This is alll wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy before the subprime problem.... Dun be fool by what you see on TV... You want cheaper cars?? Somewhere gotta gives... In the US, car is veryyyyyy vital, almost a neccessity to many, even if you dun drive into the city, you gotta drive to the subway if you live on the outskirt and you need to pay for parking, dun have park and ride scheme hor, all charge per day... I pay like US18 to have my car park per day...

You prefer cheaper cars like in the US with higher standard of living (you MUST tipped 20% of the bill, if you dun intend to tip, you better not come back, there are many homeless people around and they can sleep anywhere they like, including just outside your house and your front porch you can't do anything able it, plus your gf and you can't go out in the night without the 90% chance of risk being robbed? sometimes mugged and raped, guys and girls alike? Social entertainment are not very much even if there are, it comes with a price) or your prefer cars with riddiculous road tax and lower standard of living?

The difference is that in the US, a car is very vital cos their transport network is not as good as ours, in Singapore, we still can do without a car... Oh yes, I haven't talk about portholes, travelling time and insurance coverage, some insurance dun cover certain places in the US.. cool right? Imagine if i drive from Jurong to Tampines I need to buy another coverage of insurance :) cos mine only cover west side in Singapore...

When i was living in Jarkata for a few months and close to a year in BKK, well in Jarkata there are many days that I have my breakfast and lunch in the car... I leave home at 8.30am, I reach only close to 12pm, the distance from my home to office is like Upp Bukit Timah to Eunos... When I was in Bangkok, worse... I travel from Paya Lebar to Pasir Ris distance takes me 4-5 hours... Seriously, talk about Jam... plus the chances to being robbed on the way to work.... sigh..

Well to those who are complaining that with COE and ERPs there are many jams... actually our jams here is NOTHING compare to BKK and JKT... Good news to those who are manking noise... Well when COE reach the old sky high of where it used to be, 120K COE, well I guess when all the cars purchases before 2010, when its COE comes to an end and all get scrapped, traffic jam will probably be the thing of the past... By then quite a fair number of people may have to go back to public transports, and thats where you wished COE will be lower and you will gladly pay for it, instead of squeezing in the PT... For the rest of the car owners, they will still get to drive, cos COE then, now and future is not something they have problem paying for...

After I travel and worked overseas, well as far as I can afford, I will wanna stay here... so wanna compare ah? I think just get real lor... wanna stay on here, have to accept, whether stupid or not... if not just shipped out... anyway many foreigners waiting to come over... sigh... So LLST

Fully agreed =)

For those who support higher COEs, you are the people who indirectly cause the rate of inflation to shoot up.

Delivery companies will have to pay more to secure a vehicle and translate to higher cost for delivery, utimately much costly products.

The hawker will increase his prices next so that he can buy and maintain his current lifestyle of owning a vehicle either for status or delivery purposes.

And the chain of reaction just goes down the line. It's no ending, ultimately everyone suffers.

For those who support higher COEs, you are the people who indirectly cause the rate of inflation to shoot up.

Delivery companies will have to pay more to secure a vehicle and translate to higher cost for delivery, utimately much costly products.

The hawker will increase his prices next so that he can buy and maintain his current lifestyle of owning a vehicle either for status or delivery purposes.

And the chain of reaction just goes down the line. It's no ending, ultimately everyone suffers.

if delivery company have to increase its product cost because of a 50 to 100K increase in transportation. i dont think it is doing well in the first place.

Reason why no one complains because $5k - 20k is something which people deem is still acceptable for the piece of paper, opppsss, now should be 1s and 0s since it's in electronic form.

Would you be complaining if a sack of 10kg rice costs $100 instead of normal $20+?

LTA takes the cars that we scrap at ZERO value, then sells it to people at bidded value. Is this fair? No value is give to car that were scrapped.

Its like taking farmer's land at Zero value then selling off to Developer at bidded value. [laugh]

What is there to agree or disagree. Buay song dont buy car lor, simple. -_-

You are not obliged have to agree or disagree. This is a discussion forum. You happy. you can comment . Not happy also can comment [laugh]

which world with money got principle one?? [sly]

maybe the country he is from :D

till now only got guts scold us sinkies but no guts let us know which country hes from [knife] .

Reason why no one complains because $5k - 20k is something which people deem is still acceptable for the piece of paper, opppsss, now should be 1s and 0s since it's in electronic form.

Would you be complaining if a sack of 10kg rice costs $100 instead of normal $20+?

No, if my salary has increased by 10 times.

We have to blame ourselves for causing all these. If we earn and spend wisely, the price of goods will not move north so fast. It is "we" who want to have nice food, nice ride, nice home, nice holiday, nice toys, nice this and nice that. With this trend keeps going on, our salary will always not enough, thanks to the bank who offer credit card to help you keep spending.

In Singapore, although the price of COE, HDB and etc is considered sky high to some who complaints, try go to Bangkok, Jakarta or KL and stay there using their standard and average earning, you will see how fortunate Singapore is. That is why so many FT flocking into Singapore despite the high price they have to pay for transportation and home. :D