ZC Swift/Swift Sport Random Chit Chat Thread

TandemAssassin

  On 4/12/2011 at 4:42 AM, Stratovarius said:

Ya, I'm driving a JDM SSS. The gear ratio is slightly shorter i think.... how i can get 530... i also not very sure. lol. Initially i'm getting around 420 ~ 450 also. Aftering some modding, i can get to 480 ~ 510. Now can consistantly achieve 530. I upshift btw 2.5~3k (before the engine starts to roar), make sure you are always at the right gear (use a vacuum gauge to guide you), prevent unnecessary braking, inflate your tyres every 2 weeks, etc. Driving style very important, don't floor the pedal after the green light appears. [laugh] I'm pumping esso 98 too.

IMHO, SSS is not really a peformance car, so it's possible to obtain good fc. And i don't drive slowly.... [:p] Hope this helps.

Performance cars can get good FC too. It all depends on how efficient the engine is. GTI and Type R are good examples.

  On 4/12/2011 at 4:57 AM, Stratovarius said:

You can do a check first. Just go to a flat straight road, acelerate slowly, put the steering wheel straight and see if your car will drift left or right. If it does, you need to do wheel alignment. Well known places are Kenny's, stamford, chen jin, autobacs.

thks bro.. i will do that and test out.. btw kenny's issit the 1 at AMK Autopoint?

  On 4/9/2011 at 4:46 AM, TandemAssassin said:

This is tandem reporting LIVE from Champion Motors Pandan using the ancient computer in the Service Center!

I have taken a look at the new Swift and I must say that things are looking good for this new Swift & upcoming Swift Sport.

The exterior takes some getting used to. A little bit rounder than the current Swift. But the biggest improvement is in the interior. It mirrors the Kizashi somewhat - which means it looks pretty cool. :wub: Digital air-con, push-start button, USB port for the HU, 6 airbags and really way better quality materials and plastics all around. The direction indicator lever is clunkier and heftier. The steering wheel seems to grip better. More storage spaces in the car cabin! All round, I would say that the car interior is a marked improvement from the current iteration that I am driving.

Now onto the test drive. Sitting in the driver's seat and adjusting the mirrors & seats, I really get a very good sense of the tiny differences between the two generations of Swifts. Still, no issue as the major buttons are all in the same places. Overall, I feel really comfortable in the new Swift; just like I am in my SSS. Which is good for those of us already driving Swifts.

The steering wheel is slightly lighter compared to the SSS but the steering feel isn't all that bad even when benchmarked with the current SSS. Clutch is much lighter and springier. Gear action is much lighter as well. No satisfying clunk. But this can be forgiven. Since it is afterall, not the Sport variant. All in all, in the class, I think it is just that little bit better a drive than other small hatches. But I think I am biased.

HThe 1.4 litre powerplant might not seem like much but Suzuki have managed to keep the Swift really light. The car weighs in just slightly above the 1000kg mark and it really helps the car move! Surprise surprise, at the low range, the car is quite zippy. Driving the car in the same style as my SSS, the first gear really has quite a fair bit of grunt. But the lack of power & difference between this and the M16A is shown at the mid range RPMs of 3k to 4k. That is where the current SSS will truly outshine this new Swift. But as a small runabout, this new Swift is powerful enough. Like the SSS, it feels faster than it really is. I guess this is because of the low weight.

All in all, I am looking forward to the new SSS. Expectations are high as I think they have done a good job with this new Swift. Even if it were exactly the same, just having the new interior would really tempt me to "upgrade". But the rumour that my SE has heard from the CM management is that the new SSS will be powered by a 1.4litre TC engine sourced from VW. :wub:

Now I am just praying that they leave the cursed DSG box out and let me have my conventional manual. And back to the studio! :ph34r:

Hi tandem, is the climate control on all variants, or only the highest specced one?

Mind sharing with me on the price of the variant that has climate control?

Thank you for your help!

On 4/13/2011 at 4:26 AM, Yoshi_sx said:

Hi tandem, is the climate control on all variants, or only the highest specced one?

Mind sharing with me on the price of the variant that has climate control?

Thank you for your help!

Climate control is on the higher spec one. Lower spec one is not digital. Think it is around 80+k. But u should check with them for any promos. My SE knew I wasn't going to buy seeing how I just bought a SSS from her in Dec last year so she didn't explain much on pricing. But more of a customer relations to let me test drive. [laugh]

On 4/13/2011 at 12:35 PM, TandemAssassin said:

Climate control is on the higher spec one. Lower spec one is not digital. Think it is around 80+k. But u should check with them for any promos. My SE knew I wasn't going to buy seeing how I just bought a SSS from her in Dec last year so she didn't explain much on pricing. But more of a customer relations to let me test drive. [laugh]

later she think u finding excuse to bio her. :wub:

On 4/12/2011 at 6:08 AM, Karnaugh said:

Performance cars can get good FC too. It all depends on how efficient the engine is. GTI and Type R are good examples.

Probably, depends on your definition. 2l performance cars with around 10km\l maybe good to some.

On 4/13/2011 at 1:36 PM, TandemAssassin said:

Errr... she is prob 10 years older than me leh. [laugh]

u nv hear the news bout the 23 year old guy hook up with a 47 year old auntie meh? [rolleyes]

Guys, I'm toying with the idea of getting a pair of SSCUS Euro PU for my SSS.

Given the green light by my CFOs cos they don't like fabric seat [laugh]

But the prices of close to $1k per pair is holding me back.

What you guys feel? pros and cons?

On 4/13/2011 at 3:55 PM, Lucaswh said:

PU is more hardy a material than leather but doesn't feel anything like the real deal.

Pros - looks better, more resistant to water spillage and dirt, lower sitting position for the sporty feel, grips your butt better, lighter weight (i am guessing)

Cons - gets hot more easily, not necessarily more comfy if it is PU, less grippy texture

If I wasn't on the 6 airbag model, I would definitely have given bucket or sport seats serious thought; if only for that lower sitting position. I am too tall and my hair is so close to touching the roof now. Plus the high sitting position just doesn't sync with the way this baby drives!

bro, PU is not real leather if I recall correctly. It will crack if exposed to heat over prolong periods.

Just to check, what is the difference betw real and replica bucket seats? Price difference is several times, but what about the quality? How long can replica seats last?

On 4/14/2011 at 2:17 PM, TandemAssassin said:

PU is more hardy a material than leather but doesn't feel anything like the real deal.

Pros - looks better, more resistant to water spillage and dirt, lower sitting position for the sporty feel, grips your butt better, lighter weight (i am guessing)

Cons - gets hot more easily, not necessarily more comfy if it is PU, less grippy texture

If I wasn't on the 6 airbag model, I would definitely have given bucket or sport seats serious thought; if only for that lower sitting position. I am too tall and my hair is so close to touching the roof now. Plus the high sitting position just doesn't sync with the way this baby drives!

well you could get an airbag bypass on that.. :D

yup..i went to try sitting on the PU seats, it's firm, doesn't feel like leather at all. Am more attracted to it cos of the look of it. Comfort wise, am not so sure yet.

I would love a lower seating position though, but not sure if it'll affect drivability. sporty feel yes, but makes visibility go down.

go for the real deal if possible, replica ones fabric feels different.

if budget, go for replica seats, but original rails n bracket.

  On 4/14/2011 at 3:07 PM, Mit81 said:

go for the real deal if possible, replica ones fabric feels different.

if budget, go for replica seats, but original rails n bracket.

so should i go for bride replicas and miki railings? wow ... actually all these are there to satisfy our inner poison. inside the car, who see? we see nia but shiok la ... for me i feel all these seats can come in when we are satisfied with the looks and performance of the car as these are just additional accessories.

how about steering guys, what's the diff if we change to steering wheel to like momo/omp with boss kit instead of our stock one. Is it because of aesthetic? or it serve some benefits?

On 4/13/2011 at 3:55 PM, Lucaswh said:

How about changing the seat to leather? I changed mine from alcantera to leather. feel more comfortable and less dusty.

i've tried sitting on a SSCUS, quite tight for me and may not be comfortable if you drive up north.

On 4/14/2011 at 11:45 PM, Ipwnj00 said:

so should i go for bride replicas and miki railings? wow ... actually all these are there to satisfy our inner poison. inside the car, who see? we see nia but shiok la ... for me i feel all these seats can come in when we are satisfied with the looks and performance of the car as these are just additional accessories.

how about steering guys, what's the diff if we change to steering wheel to like momo/omp with boss kit instead of our stock one. Is it because of aesthetic? or it serve some benefits?

With the boss kit, you can take it out after you park your car so ppl can't steal unless they tow it away. [laugh]

Anyway, it's lighter and smaller, the feedback is different and more sensitive to your input. Of course, you need to sacrifice your airbag.

On 4/15/2011 at 12:21 AM, Stratovarius said:

How about changing the seat to leather? I changed mine from alcantera to leather. feel more comfortable and less dusty.

i've tried sitting on a SSCUS, quite tight for me and may not be comfortable if you drive up north.

where and how much you rewrapped them?