Different between your time and your Dad's time.

Jamstart

nbz... i post you link liao.. from HDB.. you dun k k never see hor.....

Would like to stay there. But cannot pass HDB criteria leh.

Not for another 25 years...

Would like to stay there. But cannot pass HDB criteria leh.

Not for another 25 years...

can... ask your parents apply with you... if your parents not around then you should have proceeds from their house or it has been paid up long ago...last resort you can also rent your place out and stay in JB... shophouse only rm800/mth.... your wife and/or kids can even sell things there and earn side income....

idea right!!

Last time it took 2 men to carry $10 worth of grocery.

Now a kid can carry the same amount of it.

So do you mean that if one's dad can bring up 3 kids last time and you cannot now? [blush]

i can take less than 10 years to clear my HDB. -_-

With current CPF and median salary, how to clear in 10 yrs except PapaMama bank give free money.

Edited by Kr_toy

how to compare? put the inflation aside... last time no aircon, no handphone, no laptop.... the only entertainment is sitting at coffeeshop and TCSS or watch TV at home, or, the most is bring kids to cinema watch movie once in a blue mood... now?? my HP + internet BB + utility bills is more than my dad 1/2 mth salary 40 yrs ago... [laugh][laugh]

I always hear and read that standard of living cost now is higher and can't afford to have kids blah blah blah.

Well, if you were to look at it, our salary now is defintely much higher than last time.

If last time parents or even grandparents can afford to have 3 to 12 kids, why are we complaining even we have only one?

What is your take?

This is an opened discussion, all ideas and comments are welcome. [rolleyes]

In the past, people complained in the coffeeshops.

Today people complain online.

Many other changes and differences, but nothing worth a mention since nobody is (or can) put words into action as a collective whole.

Don't look into the past for comparisons, but into the future and start preparing.

I think many MCFers here may have mistaken me, what I am trying to put here is why ppl is complaining and cannot afford to have more kids now as compare to last time. My dad earned less than 1k and able to have 3 kids, we earn much more now and many couples are keeping 2 or less or even none.

Sama sama.

Though got revised and beta.

Nowadays got 20000 different editions...

my time, because of Ice AGe. Beta land become cheap sales items.

something special about black border if you remember.

anyway my most expensive cards is only 4 Versuvan dopplegangle nia.

Let me share my 2 cents and lets take the best decade for many (probably 80-90).

Then, a manager would be drawing no less than 4-5 K besides the perks (such as company's car etc) due to them.

General staff could easily earn between 750 - 1.8k. I think median salary then was 1k to 1.5k. If I remember correctly, the cabinet ministers were earning no more than 15k per month except probably for the PM in the 70s-early 80s.

HDB cost in early 80 for 4 room about 42 - 60k and 5 room about 70-80K. CPF contribution during these period between 40%-50% (50/50 employer / employee). Hence, one's CPF monthly contribution of $2k was no big deal.

Many could pay off mortgage immediately upon getting a 4 room flat (waiting time then was approx. 4 years if not more) or no more than 20 years and 5 year settlement was fairly common.

Cost of food, transportation, education etc.. were well within the means of many average Singaporeans.

Based on today's cost of living (standard of living (controversial) is not that much different if not for the internet era) the same manager today should be earning no less than 4 times the 4-5K i.e. between 16K to 20K while the general staff should be earning approx. 3-4k. However, this is not happening although, HDB flats had increased by as much as 4 times (if not more) what it used to be. Food, transportation, education costs has inflated accordingly but wages / remuneration has not gone in proportion with the living costs for many Singaporeans except for the gahment - especially MPs and ministers as well as some professionals and some in business.

Therefore, while it may be true that today's wages for some may have been higher than their previous counterparts in terms of $ value, many are not actually enjoying such privilege. Matter of fact, some are getting much less than what their counterparts used to earn. For e.g., it is fairly common to know a supervisor or manager earning no more than 3-4K today and this is grossly underpaid if you were to take today's cost of living into account.

Hence, many older Singaporeans who are in retirement or may be going into retirement may have to consider easing off the burden of their younger ones by not expecting them to contribute to their parents as they may have done.

The world has changed. So too has the mindset of the gahment and many employers. Many are too obsessed with surplus and profits at the expense of the ordinary man.

Hence, one has to learn to accept the changes and do their best to remain resilient and be as independent as possible if one doesn't wish to be left behind in the ever changing world.

Good luck to all and MERRY CHRISTMAS!! [wave]

how so untrue about this statement.

i had know technician who earn easily 3~4K a month.

i know excutive non supervisor or manager level earning 4~5K a month.

how so untrue about this statement.

i had know technician who earn easily 3~4K a month.

i know excutive non supervisor or manager level earning 4~5K a month.

Are you saying there is no such thing as a manager or supervisor being paid as low as 3 - 4 k today?? Needless to say, there are indeed employees in non managerial / supervisory positions who may be earning beyond such figures but do you really believe your respond to my statement accurate? Even if they are earning 6-8 k today, do these figures have the same spending power today as it was back in the 80s?

It would be enlightening to see your view to the questions in bold.

My father's time, he could use his free time and car to pick passengers anytime he likes.

Chinese New Year was boom time for him as he got extra from passengers.

No need licence. Even going to work he could pick passenger along the way.

We could set up stalls wherever and whenever we like.

A kettle of kopi O = about 4 cups cost 10c only.

My father's time not much entertainment except to make babies.

the working hrs are crazy now... in other words it is true that your pay is higher than last time but ppl are being squeezed double hard for it.... so is your pay actually a lot higher now???

but even then it somehow seems like both parents from a middle income family have to work if they want to raise kids... why is this so?

in future it will be even better.... retirement age would have gone up by then.... grandma and grandpa must work too.... if not they will say that sporeans are getting lazier ^_^

in a nutshell

dad's time: one bread winner and lots of family time and bonding

my time: everybody in the family works and everybody works till they are unable to.... children left to the maids... if lucky they will not get involved in any slashing incident.... most prob will dump u in an old folks home in the end cos they also wont have time for you ^_^

If cannot 10 then 15 or 20 lor.... Why must 10 wor? Good fengshui figure?

That exactly the different, during your dad time you save 10 yrs you can own HDB.

Nowadays forget it, your life is contracted to pay HDB almost most of your productive time and when you old you still need to work to buy food, except you surrender back HDB flat and sent to JB for old folk home

Pls dissect my statement.

Inflation is the key word.

To have 1 or 3 kids are easy.

However to bring them up is a different issue altogether.