Different between your time and your Dad's time.

Jamstart

Once upon a time

there was no preschool

no daycare

no tuition

no kids eating at restaurants

Macdonalds even for undergrads night out.

no hp for kids.

no computer games.

Dont go to local U means no U at all just poly

On 12/21/2010 at 6:27 AM, Tigerwoods said:

My Dad's time -

Write Letter on Paper to order goods from Australia.

Mail letter to Australia by mail

Wait 2 weeks

Let's compare a typical engineer's job in those days vs. today [laugh]

In those days, any technical problem for engineering to solve, is written on memo to the relevant engineering dept's head. Memo is hard copy and delivered to his inbox (physical one!). Inbox of busy people piled high with papers and files. But no one expects instant reply, as delivering the memo itself may take 1 day even within the company.

The problem is carefully examined, discussed, proposals are made, usually over several meetings with minutes recorded. Finally, the accepted technical solution is documented in a memo in response to the initial enquiry. Queries and replies are all documented in hard copy and faithfully archived, and for years later available for reference (all these memos had official reference numbers, which are issued by the dept head's secretary).

Overall, the process can take couple of days (and that's fast!) to weeks. And yet, this was tolerable because the whole world functioned at this pace. People had a 9-to-5 routine because nobody expects instant answers and solutions.

On 12/21/2010 at 8:14 AM, Jamstart said:

Wrote so much rubbish still dont know what you are writing. If you are refering to the bold sentence, dont you agree that last time salary was in fact lesser than present? Same goes to the expenses as compare with present. So ironically, both rise rationally. Then, why ppl still cannot cope what ppl coped in the past?

For the last sentence you wrote, you are offending lot of MCFers here.

relax lah... fill to the brim mean everyone mah.

he already include himself already. what for so hard on him [laugh]

Wrote so much rubbish still dont know what you are writing. If you are refering to the bold sentence, dont you agree that last time salary was in fact lesser than present? Same goes to the expenses as compare with present. So ironically, both rise rationally. Then, why ppl still cannot cope what ppl coped in the past?

Dude, its Gearoil... [laugh]

' timestamp= said:

hello little boy

On 12/21/2010 at 8:01 AM, ODC said:

Good point.. But TS belongs to the not so skilled low income group

hahaha.. the only reason and motivation for me to think back of the past if for nostalgic reasons ie: MASK, squatting by the longkang in pri sch to brush teeth etc :D

On 12/21/2010 at 8:21 AM, Joseph22 said:

Hes probably the spilled out one [laugh]

On 12/21/2010 at 8:21 AM, Sosaria said:

In those days, any technical problem for engineering to solve, is written on memo to the relevant engineering dept's head. Memo is hard copy and delivered to his inbox (physical one!). Inbox of busy people piled high with papers and files. But no one expects instant reply, as delivering the memo itself may take 1 day even within the company.

The problem is carefully examined, discussed, proposals are made, usually over several meetings with minutes recorded. Finally, the accepted technical solution is documented in a memo in response to the initial enquiry. Queries and replies are all documented in hard copy and faithfully archived, and for years later available for reference (all these memos had official reference numbers, which are issued by the dept head's secretary).

Overall, the process can take couple of days (and that's fast!) to weeks. And yet, this was tolerable because the whole world functioned at this pace. People had a 9-to-5 routine because nobody expects instant answers and solutions.

Makes sense [thumbsup] .

At least I say the facts for ppl to understand..

While someone in the same thread assumed you are low skilled, highly likely to be O level and below with low I.Q for putting out such post!

Not that Im in agreement but let's be frank here....your starting thread does seem childish and really not telling others what you really have in mind.

You could start a thread with..

1) Why has Singapore's standard of living, far out strip the salary earning capbilities of many ppl working here?

2) The cost of living in Singapore had climbed steeply since the 90s and many cannot cope. Why?

3) Government's call for retraining and re-adapting mindsets, dont' seem to work for many younger and older ppl who are still working. Is this true?

4) It seems like younger Singaporeans are finding it impossible, compared to their forefathers to live and raise a family here. Is this true?

I know what you have in mind and so do many others but the way you post your sentences in 'England' does give a true reflection of ..HOW YOU ARE REALLY DOING IN LIFE and as they say..

The wise one will hide his weakness and display his strength but by your effort to post soemthing in an England forum...the ppl will will know what type and kind of person you are.

Hope that helps.

' timestamp= said:

At least I say the facts for ppl to understand..

While someone in the same thread assumed you are low skilled, highly likely to be O level and below with low I.Q for putting out such post!

Not that Im in agreement but let's be frank here....your starting thread does seem childish and really not telling others what you really have in mind.

You could start a thread with..

1) Why has Singapore's standard of living, far out strip the salary earning capbilities of many ppl working here?

2) The cost of living in Singapore had climbed steeply since the 90s and many cannot cope. Why?

3) Government's call for retraining and re-adapting mindsets, dont' seem to work for many younger and older ppl who are still working. Is this true?

4) It seems like younger Singaporeans are finding it impossible, compared to their forefathers to live and raise a family here. Is this true?

I know what you have in mind and so do many others but the way you post your sentences in 'England' does give a true reflection of ..HOW YOU ARE REALLY DOING IN LIFE and as they say..

The wise one will hide his weakness and display his strength but by your effort to post soemthing in an England forum...the ppl will will know what type and kind of person you are.

Hope that helps.

Why u say ppl

stupid

On 12/21/2010 at 8:21 AM, Sosaria said:

And today's pace is the reason why for faulty Toyota's accelerators and failing A380's Rolls-Royce engines... [laugh]

' timestamp= said:

you have not been following me?

Ended liao lor now enter busy month of my company :wacko:

You deal in pokemon cards?

Last time a bowl of tok kong fishball noodles cost 20cents.

Now, a bowl of similiar standard fishball noodles(if you can find) cost at least $3.00 if not more.

Petrol prices in 1979: 98.25 pence per gallon.

Today...... let's just say that if there's an industry keeping up with inflation, it's the oil and gas industry...

On 12/21/2010 at 8:49 AM, ODC said:

You deal in pokemon cards?

my nephew do. you want to trade card huh?? -_-

my time is Magic: the gathering Ice Age