Different between your time and your Dad's time.

Jamstart

this is the need. the rest are want. tell me is that excuse??

bro, infant care boh bian for some ppl who have no caregivers lah .... my mum takes care of my kids, so i give her quite a fair bit as well, as she can work instead of taking care of my sons ... so its still a cost and a need. . .

As for toys, you cant expect the kids to pak goh li right? Toys , educational or not, books as well, are also considered a need. If not, what you expect them to do?? Watch tv whole day?

Maybe things such as going overseas twice a year (and no, Sentosa and Bintan do not count) are considered as a want.

Just that nowadays, the parents wants the best for the child, so cant give the best when child expenses exceed what they can afford. If you think back to the past, how many of you think your parents can give you more if you had lesser siblings?

For once, u make sense [laugh]

i dun even spend so much [laugh]

i told you yesterday liao.

i speak with lots of wisdom.

but my view are radical and non traditional... because i am kuan tian you. [laugh]

Expectations, initiative and imagination differ greatly between dad's generation and mine (in fact, I'm now "dad's generation", and my kids are today's generation [laugh])

I was just reading the papers today about how youth from troubled, low-income families hang out at the void decks and get into trouble during the school holidays, because they have "nothing to do" (?)

By their standards, 30 years ago, I also had "nothing to do", i.e. no PC, no internet, no cable TV, no PSP/XBox/Wii. But surprisingly, people from my generation still found "something to do"... too bad I didn't note down what I did daily - can't remember what occupied my time??

bro, infant care boh bian for some ppl who have no caregivers lah .... my mum takes care of my kids, so i give her quite a fair bit as well, as she can work instead of taking care of my sons ... so its still a cost and a need. . .

As for toys, you cant expect the kids to pak goh li right? Toys , educational or not, books as well, are also considered a need. If not, what you expect them to do?? Watch tv whole day?

Maybe things such as going overseas twice a year (and no, Sentosa and Bintan do not count) are considered as a want.

bro. baby infant care dont cause 1100 per month lah.. his is branded one. the one with i think

mascott or something one. cannot consider. Agape charge around $600 nia leh.

Just that nowadays, the parents wants the best for the child, so cant give the best when child expenses exceed what they can afford. If you think back to the past, how many of you think your parents can give you more if you had lesser siblings?

This i tend to agree... those got lesser siblings normally got the better and more expensive toys [laugh]

From the comments, can see lots of "excuses" here and there. Basically, I look at this way. People now want to live a comforatble lives, adore themselves with trips and gifts, care less for their next generation.

On the other hand, I also agree that we are more educated than our previous generations and when it comes to family planning, we always think for ourselves first.

For me, the way I think, if my parents can bring 3 of us up, I am sure I can do it as well. As so, I also have 3 kids now. :)

bro. baby infant care dont cause 1100 per month lah.. his is branded one. the one with i think

mascott or something one. cannot consider. Agape charge around $600 nia leh.

oh .... icic ... well, then maybe that's more of a want i guess ... but then some parents wanted more for their kids ... haha ...

Some kids do need activities and enrichment stuff to occupy their minds and time, lest they have too much idle time on their hands, and might lead to trouble. Especially nowadays kids are maturing faster and minds are brighter, and they don't have friends or peers to mix with in the neighbouring homes. If you don't send them to learn some new things, what do they do with all that free time?

From the comments, can see lots of "excuses" here and there. Basically, I look at this way. People now want to live a comforatble lives, adore themselves with trips and gifts, care less for their next generation.

On the other hand, I also agree that we are more educated than our previous generations and when it comes to family planning, we always think for ourselves first.

For me, the way I think, if my parents can bring 3 of us up, I am sure I can do it as well. As so, I also have 3 kids now. :)

This i agree .... if my parents can bring 3 of us up (i have 2 other siblings), and my dad was a low income earner, then i think i can do the same as well.

But then again, i agree on the part that i want a comfy life as well, because last time life was hard . . . so now want to live it up mah ... but then with kids, have to change some expectations liao ... Instead of twice yearly trips, cut down to once per year .. in a sense, you enjoy slightly less ...

Then again, your kids do not know what is hardship like what their old man experienced back then .. haha

I always hear and read that standard of living cost now is higher and can't afford to have kids blah blah blah.

Well, if you were to look at it, our salary now is defintely much higher than last time.

If last time parents or even grandparents can afford to have 3 to 12 kids, why are we complaining even we have only one?

What is your take?

This is an opened discussion, all ideas and comments are welcome. [rolleyes]

Last time, living is just simple food and limited resources for entertainment . Residents just gathers at CC to chat or watch TV (Black & White one) or youngsters playing basketball, catching, police & thives, hide & seek types of games with no cost involved...... [sly]

now, PSP, X-Box, ............. etc... and everyone want good food..... :ph34r:

I gone through it myself, simple food is just rice and dark sauce with an egg is a bonus leow .... [:|]

Edited by Picnic06

Some kids do need activities and enrichment stuff to occupy their minds and time, lest they have too much idle time on their hands, and might lead to trouble. Especially nowadays kids are maturing faster and minds are brighter, and they don't have friends or peers to mix with in the neighbouring homes. If you don't send them to learn some new things, what do they do with all that free time?

So what do you do last time during your free time? Go out catch spider and play goh li ma [laugh]

oh .... icic ... well, then maybe that's more of a want i guess ... but then some parents wanted more for their kids ... haha ...

but no fault of him. he can afford its good. but some can afford just dont bother cause will loss their freedom and spending power.