Different between your time and your Dad's time.

Jamstart

On 12/22/2010 at 3:08 AM, Silver_z said:

My take... base on what I understand from my parents about cost then.

Last time 60s - 70s

HDB: $45,000 from HDB

Mercedes: $8,000

Cigarette: $2

Char Kway Teow: $0.30

Dad's Salary: $1,500

Today

HDB: $280,000 from HDB - 6X increase

Mercedes: $180,000 - 23X increase

Cigarette: $12 - 6X increase

Char Kway Teow: $3 - 10X increase

Salary to match Dad and have 2 kids should be $9,000 - $15,000 base on 6X - 10X increase

Well, still far from that.....

60-70s HDB confirm not so expensive. 10K max more likely [gossip]

my in law bought their 5rm HDB in late 70s early 80s only 30K, recent transacted price 550K [sweatdrop]

Edited by Yeshe

On 12/22/2010 at 3:10 AM, Yeshe said:

or u should say, water bottle handphone cost 3-4k, now less than 1k [laugh] [laugh]

KNN................. in late 80's, I bought a computer, Datamini 286x for $5,000/- by 36 installments which comes with a dot-matrix black & white printer....... [sweatdrop]

Now, pentrium with colour printer, CAM, wireless LAN, Wifi ....... etc... for $899/- ....................... :ph34r:

On 12/22/2010 at 3:13 AM, Yeshe said:

60-70s HDB confirm not so expensive. 10K max more likely [gossip]

my in law bought their 5rm HDB in late 70s early 80s only 30K, recent transacted price 550K [sweatdrop]

frankly speaking, the price of the HDB in resales maret is induce by the citizen ourself. who ask everyone die die must stay in central??? hence jack up the price. the outskirt price just follow suit nia.

On 12/22/2010 at 3:18 AM, Picnic06 said:

KNN................. in late 80's, I bought a computer, Datamini 286x for $5,000/- by 36 installments which comes with a dot-matrix black & white printer....... [sweatdrop]

Now, pentrium with colour printer, CAM, wireless LAN, Wifi ....... etc... for $899/- ....................... :ph34r:

this one still useful till now wor...

btw you forgot now also got blue tooth. [laugh][laugh]

On 12/22/2010 at 3:19 AM, Joseph22 said:

frankly speaking, the price of the HDB in resales maret is induce by the citizen ourself. who ask everyone die die must stay in central??? hence jack up the price. the outskirt price just follow suit nia.

ur JW is near Jalan Bahar that was not release coz no one wants ?

my friend got there for 120k iirc 5-6 years ago nia

CCK crescent first launch also no one wants, sub 100k+ ,3rd phrase all wants,200k+ in 1-2 years..now?400k+ [laugh][laugh]

not all things initially pple dun want one will not coz a later demand [laugh]

that was the first computer my daddy bought!!! omg..

Cursing myself for missing the chance to buy landed property at Springleaf Garden semi-detach houses in late 70's. Just started work and pay was low ($600/- a month) so dare not buy as the developer was letting it go at as low as $65,000/- per unit.

The place was deserted way along Upper Thomson Rd and so much housebreaking at that time until no one wants to buy that property.

But now, the same semi-d can sell around $4.5million......... [furious][furious]

On 12/22/2010 at 3:25 AM, Freestylers09 said:

ur JW is near Jalan Bahar that was not release coz no one wants ?

my friend got there for 120k iirc 5-6 years ago nia

CCK crescent first launch also no one wants, sub 100k+ ,3rd phrase all wants,200k+ in 1-2 years..now?400k+ [laugh][laugh]

not all things initially pple dun want one will not coz a later demand [laugh]

yap mine is top floor.

bro, that place initially ppl dont want because central area cheap cheap. a 5 room above 20 floor beside Queenstown MRT is selling at 350K then. will you want to go and buy a flat in Jalan Bahar (far from MRT) 5 room at 150??during that time. they dont.

but when price increase. everyone realise that market going on bull run. everyone rush in. What happen?? central area become around 450K for a 4 room flat. then suddenly they can only afford flat in Jalan Bahar liao. they dont like but they dont want to lost out in a bull run. so jump in and buy.

but are you aware that while Resales price in other region had raisen 200K. Jurong resales price only rise by at most 50~70K?

Edited by Joseph22

On 12/22/2010 at 3:27 AM, Picnic06 said:

Cursing myself for missing the chance to buy landed property at Springleaf Garden semi-detach houses in late 70's. Just started work and pay was low ($600/- a month) so dare not buy as the developer was letting it go at as low as $65,000/- per unit.

The place was deserted way along Upper Thomson Rd and so much housebreaking at that time until no one wants to buy that property.

But now, the same semi-d can sell around $4.5million......... [furious][furious]

That is why, in this world. its those who dare. win. [bigcry]

but frankly not your fault. who will had thought that a property that cost only 65K will become 4.5million :wacko:

On 12/22/2010 at 3:30 AM, Picnic06 said:

Ha..ha.. somemore the ink is in plastic ribbon form ...... [mad]

Now still in use. best printer created cause can print on carbon paper. [thumbsup]

50-70k?

last year my friend bought ar 300k+ COV 50k leh

few years 1 fold, i see %,i dun see value...coz u put how much and get back how much,from % easier to determine what is the overall gain..

On 12/22/2010 at 3:25 AM, Rainbowbiatch said:

that was the first computer my daddy bought!!! omg..

the speed is damn slow as compare to today standards ........... [laugh][laugh]

later comes the Datamini 386x which is much cheaper, followed by the 486x ........

technology is something tat gets cheaper by the day when mass production for mass mkt comes in.

the same raw material can get u more power n capability.

sorry hor, the price i mention is outskirt during its time [sweatdrop]

On 12/22/2010 at 3:25 AM, Silver_z said:

Thanks for the correction.

That means no $15,000 cannot think abt starting family.

u mean in the past? or present?