Little_prince Supersonic December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 my nephew do. you want to trade card huh?? my time is Magic: the gathering Ice Age me earlier than you abit... i started at 4th ed... haha [laugh] i still got some revised and unlimited cards [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 That exactly the different, during your dad time you save 10 yrs you can own HDB. Nowadays forget it, your life is contracted to pay HDB almost most of your productive time and when you old you still need to work to buy food, except you surrender back HDB flat and sent to JB for old folk home So if you buy a place at 30..... You think you be dying at 50? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Serious boh, my Dad's salary last time think higher than me now leh Last time, workers work hard for the company so that the company could earn money and they will get big 'ang pao' (no such thing as 13 mths bonus back then) or a slight increase in pay .... nowadays, workers work for themself..... company not doing well, they skip to another company, expect pay increase at least 10% per year and if not bye bye to the company ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Are you saying there is no such thing as a manager or supervisor being paid as low as 3 - 4 k today?? Needless to say, there are indeed employees in non managerial / supervisory positions who may be earning beyond such figures but do you really believe your respond to my statement accurate? Even if they are earning 6-8 k today, do these figures have the same spending power today as it was back in the 80s? It would be enlightening to see your view to the questions in bold. you mention it is common that supervisor and manager is earning 3~4K which i am telling you. it is not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 (edited) me earlier than you abit... i started at 4th ed... haha i still got some revised and unlimited cards you earlier my foot lah... its Ice Age follow by 4th Edition lah Ice age come out 3 months before 4th edition but i am wrong. cause i started in 4th edition. i quite in the 2nd brothers war. think around alliance. before that i was doing trader instead of gamer.. apart from the lotus and Moxes. what you want i can get. Edited December 22, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Last time, workers work hard for the company so that the company could earn money and they will get big 'ang pao' (no such thing as 13 mths bonus back then) or a slight increase in pay .... nowadays, workers work for themself..... company not doing well, they skip to another company, expect pay increase at least 10% per year and if not bye bye to the company ...... last time its pay to be royal to the company. now company pay to be ruthless to employee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 you earlier my foot lah... its Ice Age follow by 4th Edition lah Ice age come out 3 months before 4th edition U got 天残脚? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 U got 天残脚? 香港脚 you want?? more powerful than 天残脚 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 香港脚 you want?? more powerful than 天残脚 Sg need 三脚 to survive lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Got. Now I have to work my whole life to pay off the gahmen's house. Then my kids got no one to play goli with them. They say say wanna buy PS3, I tell them paiseh x 3. [laugh] [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 (edited) ... To have 1 or 3 kids are easy. However to bring them up is a different issue altogether. You're right. To me (and I suspect many others too), the key issue to having kids is not about affordability. It's more about how to ensure that they're brought up properly and absorb the right values. What scares me is the thought that they do have minds of their own, and can turn out bad, even if you yourself are a 'model' parent and turned out well And as we've seen happening recently, getting good exam results, and making it to the best schools, are no guarantee of good behaviour or attitude. Scary thought, right? Edited December 22, 2010 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 want if we can go back to 20ct or 50ct meepok how nice... 5k-10k HDB also not bad..... at the same time the rate for SGD : RMB will be 5 : 1 and not the current 1 : 5.... how nice... then the nearest holiday a commoner like me can go malaysia.. thailand too expensive..... then i no need always bring wifey go overseas.... lol and china guys will be coming to our ktvs to bonk our sg ladies instead of us going china to bonk their ladies.... what a nice world......... Few years ago, we are also able to bong SG gals. Nowadays, SG gals is a rare sight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Anyway, it's also kind of globalization explosion thingy. So many new inventions last 10-20yrs. Handheld games, psp, nitendos, the high rise flats nowadays. Neighbours no longer talking to neighbours. Kids no longer playing with kids but wif computers. Of coz times will be diff. I bet even our father times in the 70-80s will say their father times 40-60s also diff mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Depending on area mah, near central ones are more expensive. Corner ones got better price too. havelock considered as central? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 yeah must agree luck does play a important part too. but not all of it Hahaha! Like that famous hokkien song with the most sagacious lyrics ever written by humankind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 I always hear and read that standard of living cost now is higher and can't afford to have kids blah blah blah. Well, if you were to look at it, our salary now is defintely much higher than last time. If last time parents or even grandparents can afford to have 3 to 12 kids, why are we complaining even we have only one? What is your take? This is an opened discussion, all ideas and comments are welcome. ya la but hav u tot tat last time my grandparents' time, 1 bowl of noodle costs $0.10... now at least $2.50/$3.00... everyting gets higher but salary still same... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Few years ago, we are also able to bong SG gals. Nowadays, SG gals is a rare sight. ktv still have if you know where to find... but ya.. quite rare.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 ya la but hav u tot tat last time my grandparents' time, 1 bowl of noodle costs $0.10... now at least $2.50/$3.00... everyting gets higher but salary still same... don't smoke last, grandfather time pay only $200-$500 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...