Kyrios Turbocharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Was on the road most of yesterday and couldnt help but notice a trend...gone are the dusty old looking vehicles from Malaysia, now they are replaced by MY registered Porsche Caymans, nice shiny civics, saw one black Mark X, lots of Camrys...new and expensive cars..Then I see 6-7 years old SG sunnys, altis and lots of old SG cars... A sign of the times? JB is benefitting from Singapore's growth and also their own Iskandar project? Anybody noticing this trend? If so we better buck up..or else... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Was on the road most of yesterday and couldnt help but notice a trend...gone are the dusty old looking vehicles from Malaysia, now they are replaced by MY registered Porsche Caymans, nice shiny civics, saw one black Mark X, lots of Camrys...new and expensive cars..Then I see 6-7 years old SG sunnys, altis and lots of old SG cars... A sign of the times? JB is benefitting from Singapore's growth and also their own Iskandar project? Anybody noticing this trend? If so we better buck up..or else... In tangkak ( small kampong about the size of Toa Payoh ), there are altogether 7 lambos. They are owned by big time ah loongs from KL. Up north, the govt dont meddle so much and let their citizens earn their own keeps. Sometimes tey catch, sometimes they dont. But even if they catch, they will release eventually. That is why there are so many loansharks and bookies in Malaysia not yet caught. They will never be caught, because the pple who are supposed to catch them are share-holders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 In tangkak ( small kampong about the size of Toa Payoh ), there are altogether 7 lambos. They are owned by big time ah loongs from KL. Up north, the govt dont meddle so much and let their citizens earn their own keeps. Sometimes tey catch, sometimes they dont. But even if they catch, they will release eventually. That is why there are so many loansharks and bookies in Malaysia not yet caught. They will never be caught, because the pple who are supposed to catch them are share-holders. yea got a a few famous gangster landlords in KL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 (edited) They live and let live as long as no big case. Sinkapore one is they live and let live if it suits their views. If don't suit, they live and you die. They also hold the biggest bookie business and outlaw all other competitors. Same for artificial inflation of prices while MY is trying to subsidise their citizens though they have less financial resources. Anyway, the biggest visible difference is that MALAYSIA GOT NO BLOODY C.O.E. !!!! Edited December 20, 2010 by Moredhel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Sinkapore one is they live and let live if it suits their views. If don't suit, they live and you die. They also hold the biggest bookie business and outlaw all other competitors. [/color][/size] !!!! Biggest Housing Agent, Car Dealer, Oil Cartel & Cigarettes Supplier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 the difference in car import there is u pay the runner & the garmen. here u just pay garmen. so coe high here, but the runner duty there is high also. got many cases of farked up runners running away wif $ there. MY best, they like to screw their own pple LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Likely that these nice MY cars are headed for the casinos. Everytime I park at RWS, among every 5 cars or so, at least 1 will be a MY car. And most of these MY cars are not Proton/Perodua. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged December 20, 2010 Author Share December 20, 2010 Likely that these nice MY cars are headed for the casinos. Everytime I park at RWS, among every 5 cars or so, at least 1 will be a MY car. And most of these MY cars are not Proton/Perodua. haha..not always true lah..in my factory, the MY operators drive nicer cars than the SG engineers...is only recently nia leh ...last time is WAJA vs us..now the MY cars keep getting better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 in sg, all the ah longs are legalised... tat's y the rich gets richer and the poor gets poorer here... my vote will be given wisely... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cba6p 1st Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 If there's demand, there's supply. AhLongs don't force ppl to borrow at gun point. Borrowers know their interest rate is exhorbitant but still go borrow and still dare to complain. Serve them right if they get slashed by AhLong for default. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Was on the road most of yesterday and couldnt help but notice a trend...gone are the dusty old looking vehicles from Malaysia, now they are replaced by MY registered Porsche Caymans, nice shiny civics, saw one black Mark X, lots of Camrys...new and expensive cars..Then I see 6-7 years old SG sunnys, altis and lots of old SG cars... A sign of the times? JB is benefitting from Singapore's growth and also their own Iskandar project? Anybody noticing this trend? If so we better buck up..or else... since 1-2 years ago, this trend starting already... they are no longer just driving the protons... we are seeing more and more honda (CRV,Civic), toyota( Camry, fortuner) , bmw and merc. not just the 1.6L version... also alot of the 2L ones the trend is reversing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 (edited) haha..not always true lah..in my factory, the MY operators drive nicer cars than the SG engineers...is only recently nia leh ...last time is WAJA vs us..now the MY cars keep getting better. my friend.... renovation worker in sg.. drive Peugeot 307 in Malaysia... got a super old proton saga as spare... of course parking is free at home.. i really dunno how he did it... maybe also over leverage like some of us in sg Edited December 20, 2010 by Ngck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 have you been to jakarta or surabaya lately? you'll be surprised 90% of the cars on the roads look less that 5 years old Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Maybe u r rite, sg cars are getting more and more old! Most of the cars on our rd are abt 4 yrs old or more! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Mmmm, for wat i know, you buy a car and you drive lifetime....... its either you die first or the car die first !! so would you buy a better car instead of a lousy normal car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Maybe u r rite, sg cars are getting more and more old! Most of the cars on our rd are abt 4 yrs old or more! how to change new car when COE is so bloody high ......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Maybe u r rite, sg cars are getting more and more old! Most of the cars on our rd are abt 4 yrs old or more! How to tahan to change car every 2---3 years wor......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Maybe u r rite, sg cars are getting more and more old! Most of the cars on our rd are abt 4 yrs old or more! With the crazy COE prices, do expect more pple to keep their cars till the end of their COE or beyond ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...