Minikong 1st Gear December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 (edited) some with high bonus not even 40K a year. you want? u might as well said, some 1 motnh salary is more than my 1 year income Edited December 27, 2010 by Minikong ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 (edited) u might as well said, some 1 motnh salary is month than my 1 year income actually most are earning less than 40K PA even with this high bonus lah me in same industry also havent reach 50K yet. Edited December 27, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 Not so bad from my experience working in a Jap MNC. Last year economy not good, Jap HQ staff got pay cut, up to 20%. Lucky local branch not affected, pay freeze only. This year economy good, got 4+ months bonus. I was from R&D, not sure you same or from other fields. R&D tends to pay lower. I cannot vouch for other jap companies in Japan, below are some example of what jap employees are getting during my time in time: - newly employed staff got 2 years of subsidized rental of apartment at 10,000yen/month for 2 years if they live outside certain distance from office - canteen cheap meals heavily subsidized - ovetime pay at 2000yen/hour (abt S$30). only S$10/hour here in Singapore - free dinner vouch if do O/T, which is practically almost every day. Talking about pay rise, worst ever got was $28 for all engineering staff and $18 for lower staff for 2 years in a roll. During good times also the most $1xx quite misearble. Few years one promotion at about $200 for first few promotions. I did not stay long enough to get into management role so not sure of their renumeration, but understand to be not fantastic either. Yearly bonus is always one shade lower than the government rates, no surprise one. They are also very good to hookwink money from government in getting subsidies. All the working and meeting trips in japan are treated as training to enjoy 50%(?) subsidy. I used to get frustrated at being used as part of the scheme to suck money. One thing cannot deny is that jap companies are reluctant to retrench people. So is good for those who want stability above all else, or those without relevant experience to ask for higher pay elsewhere. My ex jap company is well known as a 'training center' for other conti companies here. you go in cheap, endure few years of hard work, then join a ang moh company for good salary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 I was from R&D, not sure you same or from other fields. R&D tends to pay lower. I cannot vouch for other jap companies in Japan, below are some example of what jap employees are getting during my time in time: - newly employed staff got 2 years of subsidized rental of apartment at 10,000yen/month for 2 years if they live outside certain distance from office - canteen cheap meals heavily subsidized - ovetime pay at 2000yen/hour (abt S$30). only S$10/hour here in Singapore - free dinner vouch if do O/T, which is practically almost every day. Talking about pay rise, worst ever got was $28 for all engineering staff and $18 for lower staff for 2 years in a roll. During good times also the most $1xx quite misearble. Few years one promotion at about $200 for first few promotions. I did not stay long enough to get into management role so not sure of their renumeration, but understand to be not fantastic either. Yearly bonus is always one shade lower than the government rates, no surprise one. They are also very good to hookwink money from government in getting subsidies. All the working and meeting trips in japan are treated as training to enjoy 50%(?) subsidy. I used to get frustrated at being used as part of the scheme to suck money. One thing cannot deny is that jap companies are reluctant to retrench people. So is good for those who want stability above all else, or those without relevant experience to ask for higher pay elsewhere. My ex jap company is well known as a 'training center' for other conti companies here. you go in cheap, endure few years of hard work, then join a ang moh company for good salary. Yes I agree with you. for Ang Mo company, its hire and fire. My friend was in Purchasing in Ang Mo company, was retrench and employed, retrenched and employ again and finally retrenched. Ya pay is at least 30~50% higher than Jap coy but the stress and uncertainties is not worth it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 Must ask Tedhlw, how much bonus he got? Should be power one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JX83 3rd Gear December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 (edited) if not wrong,world biggest rig ship builder Ya i think u are right.. If u guys really wan those many mth bonus join those more high risk job which mean life risking like oil refinery, petrol chemical or those shipyards companies.. But basic low la but u won't go hungry at least.. Main thing i find that singaporean not many wan to work shift work, dirty jobs, out in the hot sun and sadly abit no life la because this kind of jobs are 24/7 even PH u have to work if u need to.. Many ppl prefer sit in office, clean jobs, 8 - 5, PH can rest haha.. Which is true actually.. I only know if no sacrifice where can get $$ -.-'' Edited December 27, 2010 by JX83 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 Must ask Tedhlw, how much bonus he got? Should be power one. thro how abouyt sharing yours, as your bonuses this year, can buy a 630 in cash already anot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 thro how abouyt sharing yours, as your bonuses this year, can buy a 630 in cash already anot? he like you is commision base. base on number of table. but good thing is, he got side line. collect empty drinking can to sell to garanguni type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 Ya i think u are right.. If u guys really wan those many mth bonus join those more high risk job which mean life risking like oil refinery, petrol chemical or those shipyards companies.. But basic low la but u won't go hungry at least.. Main thing i find that singaporean not many wan to work shift work, dirty jobs, out in the hot sun and sadly abit no life la because this kind of jobs are 24/7 even PH u have to work if u need to.. Many ppl prefer sit in office, clean jobs, 8 - 5, PH can rest haha.. Which is true actually.. I only know if no sacrifice where can get $$ -.-'' if you notice. sure, dirty job and odds shift work can bring in a lot of money. but hor, who are the one in those places getting the real money?? its those 8~5 seat in office one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 Mine not from R&D, its manufacturing. I cannot vouch for other jap companies in Japan, below are some example of what jap employees are getting during my time in time: - newly employed staff got 2 years of subsidized rental of apartment at 10,000yen/month for 2 years if they live outside certain distance from office - canteen cheap meals heavily subsidized - ovetime pay at 2000yen/hour (abt S$30). only S$10/hour here in Singapore - free dinner vouch if do O/T, which is practically almost every day. I've only stayed 1 year in Yokohama 10 years ago, so I understand the living expenses there like housing, transport and food are higher than local standard. So the starting pay of Jap are slightly better than local standard. But they don't have CPF contribution from employer side. Despite their salary might seems higher than local, but after considering the living expenses there, I think overall they are not much better. This is comparing entry level graduate, not senior position. Talking about pay rise, worst ever got was $28 for all engineering staff and $18 for lower staff for 2 years in a roll. During good times also the most $1xx quite misearble. Few years one promotion at about $200 for first few promotions. I did not stay long enough to get into management role so not sure of their renumeration, but understand to be not fantastic either. Yearly bonus is always one shade lower than the government rates, no surprise one. Different industry... Ours always try to be a little bit better than government sectors rates, both salary increment and bonus. One thing cannot deny is that jap companies are reluctant to retrench people. So is good for those who want stability above all else, or those without relevant experience to ask for higher pay elsewhere. My ex jap company is well known as a 'training center' for other conti companies here. you go in cheap, endure few years of hard work, then join a ang moh company for good salary. Generally true, but I've seen few cases of retrenchment to non-performer. They only let the non-performer know about this company decision towards end of the day, and security will see they pack up personal belonging and escort them out. Almost like ang moh style, they cannot react and happen suddenly. But among same industry, the ang moh companies are paying better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 thro how abouyt sharing yours, as your bonuses this year, can buy a 630 in cash already anot? I already shared. I got no bonus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 he like you is commision base. base on number of table. but good thing is, he got side line. collect empty drinking can to sell to garanguni type. Nope, mine is fixed salary, no commission. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phangck Neutral Newbie December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 Can those who are getting more than 3 months bonus share which industry are they in? So that ppl can jump ship if got the opportunity, thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vangaat Neutral Newbie December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 I think 3 months and above are quite decent.. Though my co give out only 2 months every year.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...