Heavier Penalties for Motorised Bicycle Offences

Neutralsg

most tulan thing is most of them is not apologize at all.

their attitude is worst then the device.

u put 2 of them together, u got a time bomb.

You sure 2 is enough? How about adding in blasting the music loudly?

Also this nuisance is coming back. Just last year, people riding these devices blasting music loud at night is almost unheard of. This year it's getting common, especially those ah bengs and old uncles. I really don't understand, loud music, bright lights, from these riders at night. What for? Return of the "biker" gangs?

While imposing heavier penalties is a step forward, I still hope the authorities can do something on registration, identification and insurance. Like motor insurance, it is not just to protect the owner, but other road users as well. In case of PMDs, is to protect the pedestrians. I often see pedestrians giving way to PMDs instead. We were told to exercise tolerance on the pavement but accidents will happen. And when that happens, we do not want to see hit and run cases. Some sort of traceability will be good and will make the PMD users more careful on the road knowing that they will be accountable for any accidents caused by them.

I agree the penalises and law implementation is to protect the road users than owner of those PMDs/ebike la. Pedestrians need to give way to them if not when they knocked onto us, dont blame them. Lol.

You sure 2 is enough? How about adding in blasting the music loudly?

Also this nuisance is coming back. Just last year, people riding these devices blasting music loud at night is almost unheard of. This year it's getting common, especially those ah bengs and old uncles. I really don't understand, loud music, bright lights, from these riders at night. What for? Return of the "biker" gangs?

Agree on the super high intensity lights. Kena blinded a few times both while driving and walking on the pavement. I know it's normal for people to zhng their own personal transport machine, but come on la. the lights is suppose to shine on the road and not on people's faces.

Confirm many will turn full-time.

I won't be surprised if they ban it altogether. No more of this nonsense. No need to tackle the issue either.

Rules will be broken when there's no enforcement. "Do anything but don't get caught" mentality is unstoppable.

Too much SAF influence? LOL

Then we should go PAP lite as well, if they keep on destroying our standard of living with their nonsensical ideologies.

Decreasing our standards of living and allow all these nuisance to mess up our streets and endangering safety of the people and other motorists.

A total ban would be better in the long run before the problem gets messier and almost impossible to remove in the long run and that kind of money can be spend better elsewhere other than such unnecessary problems in the first place.

The streets became safer after a total ban of these devices just a few years ago. Now bring them back to create more mess and nuisances?

Try Saying that again when you grow old and your legs are weak.

Most users of such motorised bikes are elders who has difficulties walking , and they use it to commute to market and nearby. To derive them with a ban is rather unkind And self centred.

Edited by Ingenius

Nearly knocked down by these devices a few times and saw a few such incidents recently.

Cars and these devices are totally different types. Cars are purely restricted on the roads with established laws and systems to guide and enforce safe use of the vehicles. Yes, there are more cases of such errant (and crazy) drivers but they are easily apprehended with their ownership registration. I do agree that we need to enforce a stricter and more gracious way of driving. People nowadays gets crazy and angry so easily, be it a driver, biker or even the bus passenger. Probably overpopulation had lead all these kind of stresses to the people these days.

How about a person being knocked by one of these devices? Most would probably "hit and run" with perhaps just a sorry.

And these can literally run every where, from grass patches, pavements to roads and such small size to catch. Do you think the police will even be pursuing them if they can run away very fast and easily?

I understand your POV.  I will not allow myself to be nearly knocked down by these devices.  I will make sure the users hit the floor before i hit the floor.  I am serious about this.

Now, it is rice already become porridge, what you gonna do about?

I also nearly got knocked by those devices while walking on pathway. These devices are really destructive and dangerous.

You always nearly got knocked.  When will you be knocked?

Seriously, juz shout or push the person if it is that closed.  I will not care whether the person got injured or not.

Most users of such motorised bikes are elders who has difficulties walking , and they use it to commute to market and nearby. To derive them with a ban is rather unkind And self centred.

If the use of motorised bikes are purely restricted to people with mobility disabilities and difficulties, it's totally fine. You have your point.

However if abusing the name of mobility difficulties to use for massively cause nuisance on the streets while one have the perfectly ability to walk properly, these devices should totally ban.

You always nearly got knocked.  When will you be knocked?

Seriously, juz shout or push the person if it is that closed.  I will not care whether the person got injured or not.

These people come fast from behind and my blindspot, by the time i reacted those people already zoom past me far far liao. Lol.

If the use of motorised bikes are purely restricted to people with mobility disabilities and difficulties, it's totally fine. You have your point.

However if abusing the name of mobility difficulties to use for massively cause nuisance on the streets while one have the perfectly ability to walk properly, these devices should totally ban.

Actually even those e-bikes are for people with mobility disabilities and difficulties, but these people also must look out for other road users on the pavement as well lo. Often i encountered these mobility disabilities and difficulties people riding on those ebike, they really expect people to give way to them completely as if they have the right of way.

I understand your POV. I will not allow myself to be nearly knocked down by these devices. I will make sure the users hit the floor before i hit the floor. I am serious about this.

Now, it is rice already become porridge, what you gonna do about?

If it's so easy to siam, then there won't be so many accidents.

I remembered that I was almost knocked down by a bicycle years back. The bicycle was only inches away from me before it avoided me. I didn't see it until it was so close to me. The cyclist luckily just in time to brake, avoided me and fell off the bike.

If it was in turn these devices, do you think I will be so lucky? Mind you, the bicycle is only peddled by the feet.

I just hope people will make more noise about this nuisance, and let those people wake up their stupid ideas if the accident rates don't stop.

if mobility is an issue for those who truely need it... then speed should not.. 

limit the speed then.

If it's so easy to siam, then there won't be so many accidents.

I remembered that I was almost knocked down by a bicycle years back. The bicycle was only inches away from me before it avoided me. I didn't see it until it was so close to me. The cyclist luckily just in time to brake, avoided me and fell off the bike.

If it was in turn these devices, do you think I will be so lucky? Mind you, the bicycle is only peddled by the feet.

I just hope people will make more noise about this nuisance, and let those people wake up their stupid ideas if the accident rates don't stop.

The problem is users of bicycle or PMD expect pedestrian to give way.  If you don't give way, they LL lor.

After that incident, you have not been knocked down.  It proves that you don't have to give way.

Mind you, the strong will bully the weak.  If you stay strong, you will not be buillied.

Whenever bicycle ring bell to ask me to siam, i heck care.

if mobility is an issue for those who truely need it... then speed should not.. 

limit the speed then.

15km/h on footpath.

20170110_ActiveMobility_Key_regulations_proposed_bill_AnnexA.pdf

The problem is users of bicycle or PMD expect pedestrian to give way.  If you don't give way, they LL lor.

After that incident, you have not been knocked down.  It proves that you don't have to give way.

Mind you, the strong will bully the weak.  If you stay strong, you will not be buillied.

Whenever bicycle ring bell to ask me to siam, i heck care.

There was once i didnt give way to one ebike uncle coming from behind, and after he finally managed to ride past me, he keeps tsk tsk me and indirectly scold me for not considerate enough to give way to ''elderly''.  -_-

Lucky he nvr did that to me.  Otherwise, i will shout loud loud this is pedestrian footway.  Not cycle way.

Under the new rule, cyclist/PMD user on footpath should give way to pedestrian.

Elderly uses personal mobility aid, i.e. motorised wheelchairs or mobility scooters.

I think chewing gum and ebikes/PMDs are equally nuisance. But ebikes/PMDs can create destructive and injuries. Whereas chewing gum doesnt. Lol.

Walk on the streets of NY or LA in downtown (though I have not been there in almost 5 years) everywhere on the streets you can see on the floor black like fillings of gum; Does not cause injury though of course or even stress which I would say if suddenly the guy behind you blares his horn as if we are supposed to give way to them; If its just a soft bell tone type then it does not startle people is fine with me; but we live amongst all kinds of people in this sardine can    

I think even though it is a soft bell tone, but usually these cyclist would ring their bell continuously and impatiently from behind to indicate you to give way to them. And it become quite annoying and stressful. Lol.

I G N O R E