Csnewbie 1st Gear December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 An elderly woman unknowingly 'glued her eyelids shut' when she applied dental adhesive paste that was dispensed by a hospital pharmacy. STOMPer Austin, her son, said she was supposed to be given eye gel for her eye problems. Said the STOMPer: "As shown in the pictures attached, my mother was prescribed Solcoseryl 20% Eye Gel but whoever was behind the counter gave her Solcoseryl DENTAL ADHESIVE PASTE instead. "My mother does not understand English, and her eyesight is too poor to make out the words even if she did. "I came home to find her complaining that it was difficult to open her eyelids and discovered to my horror that she had applied this paste to her eyes." In a phone conversation with STOMP, Austin had verified that his mother's eyelids were glued shut because she had applied the dental adhesive paste. He added: "She had to have her eyes rinsed repeatedly. As it is, there is no telling if there is going to be any permanent damage from this mistake and she may very well had gone blind if nobody was home tonight. "Please urge your readers to check and double-check anything that they are given by hospital pharmacies, especially if they have elderly parents." According to the STOMPer, his mother brought to the hospital's A&E department, where she was given an eye irrigation treatment. However, the family is still waiting for a response from the hospital on the matter. Has our medical professionism gone down? How mani times had your doctors laugh at your plight bef? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 this is damm farked up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 (edited) Has our medical professionism gone down? How mani times had your doctors laugh at your plight bef? My friend recently kena something like this as well, his pregnant sis suddenly below bleeding, quickly go to nearby hospital, hospital doc say muz abort liao coz baby die, den his sis very sad, still cannot believe the truth, she go to private hospital gynae, the doc say baby heart still beating why wanna abort? Luckily she go and seek second opinion if not a life wasted juz like that.... Edited December 14, 2010 by Curahee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 (edited) My friend recently kena something like this as well, his pregnant sis suddenly below bleeding, quickly go to nearby hospital, hospital doc say muz abort liao coz baby die, den his sis very sad, still cannot believe the truth, she go to private hospital gynae, the doc say baby heart still beating why wanna abort? Luckily she go and seek second opinion if not a life wasted juz like that.... WTF...... could just be a case of spotting, quite common, didnt the doctor do check before they say must abort???? Any half bake gynae will use the device to check for heart beat and gibe injection if need be...... this need to be brought to the attention of the MC...... bad.... .... Edited December 14, 2010 by Nlatio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fierydog2002 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 nowsaday our healthcare mostly of the pharmacist, nurse, doctor are from our neighbouring countries. thus e error.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 My friend recently kena something like this as well, his pregnant sis suddenly below bleeding, quickly go to nearby hospital, hospital doc say muz abort liao coz baby die, den his sis very sad, still cannot believe the truth, she go to private hospital gynae, the doc say baby heart still beating why wanna abort? Luckily she go and seek second opinion if not a life wasted juz like that.... should complain to SMA!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 An elderly woman unknowingly 'glued her eyelids shut' when she applied dental adhesive paste that was dispensed by a hospital pharmacy. STOMPer Austin, her son, said she was supposed to be given eye gel for her eye problems. Said the STOMPer: "As shown in the pictures attached, my mother was prescribed Solcoseryl 20% Eye Gel but whoever was behind the counter gave her Solcoseryl DENTAL ADHESIVE PASTE instead. "My mother does not understand English, and her eyesight is too poor to make out the words even if she did. "I came home to find her complaining that it was difficult to open her eyelids and discovered to my horror that she had applied this paste to her eyes." In a phone conversation with STOMP, Austin had verified that his mother's eyelids were glued shut because she had applied the dental adhesive paste. He added: "She had to have her eyes rinsed repeatedly. As it is, there is no telling if there is going to be any permanent damage from this mistake and she may very well had gone blind if nobody was home tonight. "Please urge your readers to check and double-check anything that they are given by hospital pharmacies, especially if they have elderly parents." According to the STOMPer, his mother brought to the hospital's A&E department, where she was given an eye irrigation treatment. However, the family is still waiting for a response from the hospital on the matter. Has our medical professionism gone down? How mani times had your doctors laugh at your plight bef? Ya man! That's why I never go for complete checkup, my colleague got poked in the ar$e and he "AWWWWWWW!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 sue them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear December 14, 2010 Author Share December 14, 2010 (edited) My personal perception of doctors is that,besides being professional in their (field of)knowledge, should be caring & compassionate as well.Which isn't the case in Sg most of the times,as i observed. Edited December 14, 2010 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 An elderly woman unknowingly 'glued her eyelids shut' when she applied dental adhesive paste that was dispensed by a hospital pharmacy. STOMPer Austin, her son, said she was supposed to be given eye gel for her eye problems. Said the STOMPer: "As shown in the pictures attached, my mother was prescribed Solcoseryl 20% Eye Gel but whoever was behind the counter gave her Solcoseryl DENTAL ADHESIVE PASTE instead. "My mother does not understand English, and her eyesight is too poor to make out the words even if she did. "I came home to find her complaining that it was difficult to open her eyelids and discovered to my horror that she had applied this paste to her eyes." In a phone conversation with STOMP, Austin had verified that his mother's eyelids were glued shut because she had applied the dental adhesive paste. He added: "She had to have her eyes rinsed repeatedly. As it is, there is no telling if there is going to be any permanent damage from this mistake and she may very well had gone blind if nobody was home tonight. "Please urge your readers to check and double-check anything that they are given by hospital pharmacies, especially if they have elderly parents." According to the STOMPer, his mother brought to the hospital's A&E department, where she was given an eye irrigation treatment. However, the family is still waiting for a response from the hospital on the matter. Has our medical professionism gone down? How mani times had your doctors laugh at your plight bef? This is an eye opening case because it seems silly to have 2 different medicine bearing the same name except for its description - SOLCOSERYL. Perhaps, the medical association and HSA should review and rectify the potential hazard of such medicine. Meanwhile, staffs who issue medicine should be REMINDED to be more alert and be aware of the ailment of the patient to avoid such confusion. It is ridiculous to issue a medicine relating to dental to someone who has an eye ailment unless both medicine can be used for either ailment. Unfortunately, it sometime takes such an incident to rectify such potential confusion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 My friend recently kena something like this as well, his pregnant sis suddenly below bleeding, quickly go to nearby hospital, hospital doc say muz abort liao coz baby die, den his sis very sad, still cannot believe the truth, she go to private hospital gynae, the doc say baby heart still beating why wanna abort? Luckily she go and seek second opinion if not a life wasted juz like that.... If there is evidence of the 1st doctor making such grave mistake, he/she and the hospital should be sued. The mistaken diagnosis should also be reported to the medical association to take the doctor to task. Such incident, if true is exasperating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 Ya man! That's why I never go for complete checkup, my colleague got poked in the ar$e and he "AWWWWWWW!" Your fren never properly "relax" ah?? Must relax and let go, otherwise could be painful. Would a hot babe lady doctor help?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 looks like someone will tio pok soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 we have too many FT nurses working here, and many of them don't even understand English or converse in English. I have been to SGH enough times to know this..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 (edited) Noted a lot of foreigners in public hospitals now. My mum who goes for regular checkup says she's served by foreign doctor everytime she visits. And different almost everytime. Luckily she can speak & understand English. But what about others who can converse only in their language like Chinese, Malay, Indian. So foreign talent is present almost everywhere except one area. No wonder the gov not scared their iron rice bowl get taken away. It is "us" who needs to be worried it seems Edited December 14, 2010 by Christan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 My friend recently kena something like this as well, his pregnant sis suddenly below bleeding, quickly go to nearby hospital, hospital doc say muz abort liao coz baby die, den his sis very sad, still cannot believe the truth, she go to private hospital gynae, the doc say baby heart still beating why wanna abort? Luckily she go and seek second opinion if not a life wasted juz like that.... Wah, this is very serious, which hospital is that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 could be a genuine mistake. imagine having to read so many prescriptions in a day. i find that there is more checks at clinics rather then hospitals because the doctor gets to verify the medicine again before the assistant pass to the patients. Whereas at the hospital pharmacies, the assistants will check probably once and dispense the medicine. Maybe more should be done to prevent re-occurences. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 14, 2010 Share December 14, 2010 I dun wanna disclose the place... Anyway a lesson learn is that if wanna seek medical advice better seek second opinion esp a decision that will affect life and death. One cent one worth, private hospital seems more professional. Ex but gd. My friend sis is not spotting, its those blood trickling down kind of bleeding, like gg to miscarriage kind of bleeding. Luckily baby survive and no need to kill the baby. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...