Fireball0088 5th Gear December 15, 2010 Share December 15, 2010 Feel sorry for you but do you have anything in black and white regarding the sofa's quality? Saleman's comments must be taken with large handful od salt one. why you oso hear the calling of the avengers ar? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear December 15, 2010 Share December 15, 2010 Hiya MCF brudders, need your advice here as I'm at my wit's end. Bought a sofa set from P***** & R*** around middle of 2009 and was told by the salesman that the leather they use (Eco leather) supposed to have been treated in such a way that it can withstand spillage, easy to maintain and durable, 5-10 years no problem. Well, that was what we were told. I even mentioned to the salesman that the sofa that I was replacing lasted me 8 years before the leather started to crack (with little maintainence). To my horror, about more then a month ago, I discovered that the so-called Eco leather had started to form "blisters" at the edge of the seats and some had tear in them (1 cm long). Called P***** & R*** to complain and was told by their customer officer that I did not "take care" of the leather, that's why the cracks and tear. "No no no" I said, leather where got like that one and it was only after slightly more than a year, I told her. I demanded a replacement of the seats and if need be I'll pay for them 50-50. Sent in photos of the damage and the CSO informed me that they will get their factory people to review and they will decide the next course of action. Should I get the replacements seats knowing that the leather may be of inferior quality? Or should I go to CASE and thrash it out? Headache arhh because until now no calls from them regarding the replacements and the sofa set cost me $2K+ How arhh?? did you take care of the leather? was your sofa put near/under sun? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear December 15, 2010 Share December 15, 2010 Called Picket & Rail earlier to enquire on the replacement cushion for my sofa AND NOW THE BUGGER TELLS ME! "Ehhhh . . . the leather we use is not top grade one" I said "You mean I pay S$2k for PVC type of leather?" "Ehhh . . . you want good leather it will cost you S$500 per cushion" HAIZ!! What a rip-off! I'm taking this as a lesson and will not buy from Picket & Rail from now on. You can argue with the point that even PVC leather should not give way so soon, it's quite obvious that you got a lemon. Just go to CASE and report, spend our money please! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear December 15, 2010 Share December 15, 2010 Sgd2k decent quality leather try Malaysia. Most sofas are from my or china anyway. All my furniture from MY. Prices for my and sg is the same but 1 is in ringgit and 1 in Sgd. Even my dunlopillo mattress is cheaper by about 50% for exact same model Gucca and Milan are the more established brand albeit abit more expensive than small my shops They sent over from jb? Need to pay tax rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 15, 2010 Share December 15, 2010 (edited) They sent over from jb? Need to pay tax rite? the 7% gst lor.. thats all in SG you also pay the gst... so no difference Edited December 15, 2010 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yslim Neutral Newbie December 15, 2010 Share December 15, 2010 Hi, Dont give up, do the following, step by step: 1) Call again and insist on talking to store manager, not the CSO or the salesman, better still get the GM 2) Insist that they have sold you inferior, substandard product (which is true, no leather give way in a month) 3) Insist on a completely new set, nothing less, if not you will write in the internet, write to press 4) They will offer you something lesser, dont take it, insist on a new set 5) If not working, write to companies email, tell them to resolve in 1 week, if not write about their poor quality in net, newspaper, CASE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 15, 2010 Share December 15, 2010 Hi, Dont give up, do the following, step by step: 1) Call again and insist on talking to store manager, not the CSO or the salesman, better still get the GM 2) Insist that they have sold you inferior, substandard product (which is true, no leather give way in a month) 3) Insist on a completely new set, nothing less, if not you will write in the internet, write to press 4) They will offer you something lesser, dont take it, insist on a new set 5) If not working, write to companies email, tell them to resolve in 1 week, if not write about their poor quality in net, newspaper, CASE +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear December 15, 2010 Author Share December 15, 2010 Hi, Dont give up, do the following, step by step: 1) Call again and insist on talking to store manager, not the CSO or the salesman, better still get the GM 2) Insist that they have sold you inferior, substandard product (which is true, no leather give way in a month) 3) Insist on a completely new set, nothing less, if not you will write in the internet, write to press 4) They will offer you something lesser, dont take it, insist on a new set 5) If not working, write to companies email, tell them to resolve in 1 week, if not write about their poor quality in net, newspaper, CASE Hey brudder, thank you for the advice but sofa with me for a year+. I've taken from the CSO the manager's name and contact and will call him tomorrow. No worries lah, just a bit sore for buying a lemon sofa. Chat with you guys tomorrow, am installing my World of Warcraft expansion . . .Cataclysm now heh hee. THANK YOU, MCF BRUDDERS!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 16, 2010 Share December 16, 2010 actually it seems that leather sofa is more prone to peeling etc.. but den again it shouldnt happen within a year. i used to have a full leather sofa for around 6yrs. condition was so bad we threw away and bought a PVC instead. almost 3yrs now.. still going good. bought from afurniture warehouse in paya lebar area or was it genting lane. cant remember already. but it was cheap. less than 1k for a whole set den another $300+ for a nice coffee table. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged December 16, 2010 Share December 16, 2010 actually it seems that leather sofa is more prone to peeling etc.. but den again it shouldnt happen within a year. i used to have a full leather sofa for around 6yrs. condition was so bad we threw away and bought a PVC instead. almost 3yrs now.. still going good. bought from afurniture warehouse in paya lebar area or was it genting lane. cant remember already. but it was cheap. less than 1k for a whole set den another $300+ for a nice coffee table. alamak.. you compare 3 yr old pvc sofa to 6 yr old full leather sofa.. how can?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 16, 2010 Share December 16, 2010 alamak.. you compare 3 yr old pvc sofa to 6 yr old full leather sofa.. how can?? ehh.... 6 year old started peeling like from 3yo.. until 6yo see liao buay tahan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 16, 2010 Share December 16, 2010 do a acra search and pay a visit to any of the directors lor..... tell them about the case.. quite sure they can get something done... you dare? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged December 16, 2010 Share December 16, 2010 ehh.... 6 year old started peeling like from 3yo.. until 6yo see liao buay tahan Maybe lack of maintenance la.. real leather needs frequent maintenance one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear December 16, 2010 Share December 16, 2010 no case for u la. during the past 1 yr, the sofa is with u, can say u didnt care for the leather now turn finger at them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear December 16, 2010 Share December 16, 2010 actually it seems that leather sofa is more prone to peeling etc.. but den again it shouldnt happen within a year. i used to have a full leather sofa for around 6yrs. condition was so bad we threw away and bought a PVC instead. almost 3yrs now.. still going good. bought from afurniture warehouse in paya lebar area or was it genting lane. cant remember already. but it was cheap. less than 1k for a whole set den another $300+ for a nice coffee table. Less than 1k i reckon its w/o spring rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 16, 2010 Share December 16, 2010 Less than 1k i reckon its w/o spring rite? yea w/o spring.. its showing signs of sagging Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear December 17, 2010 Author Share December 17, 2010 Hey brudder, thank you for the advice but sofa with me for a year+. I've taken from the CSO the manager's name and contact and will call him tomorrow. No worries lah, just a bit sore for buying a lemon sofa. Chat with you guys tomorrow, am installing my World of Warcraft expansion . . .Cataclysm now heh hee. THANK YOU, MCF BRUDDERS!! Confirm my name is Robert Tok Chye Tow . . . . . Called the manager of Picket & Rail yesterday morning and told him the what had happened, said he would look into it and call me back. Till now no news and no call from him PICKET & RAIL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic December 17, 2010 Share December 17, 2010 Confirm my name is Robert Tok Chye Tow . . . . . Called the manager of Picket & Rail yesterday morning and told him the what had happened, said he would look into it and call me back. Till now no news and no call from him PICKET & RAIL Chill...my advise is as each day passed you will feel less heartache on this issue. Give the mgr sometime probably bz with secretary testing out the quality of sofa to prove your case. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...