Saviourwu 1st Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 look at those soaring COE prices... CAT A $47,604 CAT B $62,502 CAT E $64,900 Guess there will really be much fewer cars on the road these days? Wonder who will want to pay around $65k just to buy a picanto, compared to can buy a good quality sedan car in the past... Any of you guys sold your cars for quick bucks? My car park seems a bit more empty these days :P ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 car population will continue to grow.. remember its the growth rate... it becomes less affordable... more for the wanted or riches... riches will choose non-peak hours to drive or buy and park in their garage... hence it might be lesser cars on the road @ peak hours... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 Not really, in fact look like more cars to me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 last time in SG cars were also so expensive.... AE101 1.6 was like ard 80k i think... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 last time in SG cars were also so expensive.... AE101 1.6 was like ard 80k i think... now 1.6L hitting 100k liao... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 (edited) They are reducing GROWTH RATE. not reducing no. of cars. No. of cars are still increasing juz at a slower rate. Cars are now increasing @ around 0.x% per year (1.5% - the cutback due to previous over estimates) But our population is growing @ 3% EXCLUDING foreign talents. Therefore overall demand increase therefore price increase. Edited December 9, 2010 by Nf0rc3r Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 They are reducing GROWTH RATE. not reducing no. of cars. No. of cars are still increasing juz at a slower rate. Exactly..it will take 5-6 years before all the marginal cases will be taken off the roads..that is if the trend of rising COE price is set to continue..unless those pple can afford(or willing) to take out cash of $50k-100k to buy that piece of paper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 now 1.6L hitting 100k liao... [laugh] well ppl keep complaining now new cars very expensive... actually its just back to normal like last time... my colleague was telling me tis morning... now the coe is more then the price he paid for his aveo wif coe then... hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 COE will not reduce no. of car on the road. U can wait for LTA to implement the GPS road pricing system, that one will help to reduce as it make ppl think twice before they start the engine. They want to change sporean mindset, typical mindset is now i buy a car, i muz use until kao kao, 101% fully utilise it so that my every cent worth, with the new charging system on usage, ppl cannot suka suka wanna go spin den juz go for a spin etc. Coz every trip will be charge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 The reason why COE premium is so high now is because the allocated COE numbers is very limited now, so the highest bidder win. Doesn't mean expensive COE, nobody wanna buy car. It's just those who can afford, or willing to pay alot more, will get the car. And those current car owners, knowing now the COE is so damn expensive, will be put off getting a new car. So they continue driving their current car, hence this will not reduce the numbers of vehicles on the road either. And how many of us here are willing to sell our cars (with better profit margin now) and to take public transport?? Rarely. And again, this will not further reduce the number of vehicles. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kilatz 1st Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 look at those soaring COE prices... CAT A $47,604 CAT B $62,502 CAT E $64,900 Guess there will really be much fewer cars on the road these days? Wonder who will want to pay around $65k just to buy a picanto, compared to can buy a good quality sedan car in the past... Any of you guys sold your cars for quick bucks? My car park seems a bit more empty these days :P Fewer cars because school holiday ma... I go work in the morning oso sibei smooth...roads clear. Of course my office is not in town Seems this thing happen only in Dec...June holiday not as empty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skateboard Neutral Newbie December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 Less COE = Better 2nd Hand Market = Higher utilisation of vehicles I believe that in the medium term, the car density on the road will not see much difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 Unless they disqualified more drivers and let lesser people pass the test. 10% disqualified drivers = 10% less car owners?? It's time to set up super strict check and get those reckless and dangerous driver off the road... $$ as no effect as there will still be people who have spare cash to throw... But no license=no car...that would be a better deal.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 Seems lIke many people got the wrong impression that reducing quota will cause lesser overall cars on the road. Or expensive COE and cAr prices will cause the cars population to decrese or no one will buy cars. I want to say again at today $60k COE there will still be buyers, just visit the showroom this weekends. I think it will be crowded with kiasu buyers who wants to beat the march quota cut. Somehow I got the feeling that buying today is still much much cheaper than buying in march2011. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Lesser cars on the rd? Dun really think so. But in a way, the newly registered of new cars might be slower than before. In my carpark, i see fewer new cars but still have lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 look at those soaring COE prices... CAT A $47,604 CAT B $62,502 CAT E $64,900 Guess there will really be much fewer cars on the road these days? Wonder who will want to pay around $65k just to buy a picanto, compared to can buy a good quality sedan car in the past... Any of you guys sold your cars for quick bucks? My car park seems a bit more empty these days :P Definitely will help if no. of COE reduce per year. Can you imagine during 2003 to 2008..every year there are approx. 120k registered and now they are trying to reduce to 40k per year.... And there are cars that reached their 10 years N COE still btw $47 to $60k...I do not thk many will renew....IMO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Off topic a bit. Yesterday evening, the road was freakishly clear. I mean, at 6.30pm leaving Tuas and AYE (Keppel) was smooth all the way. Only at a few bottlenecks did my speed reduce to less than 40km/h. I reached Clarke Quay in 20+ mins! At peak hour! In my years at Jurong, this was the first time I ever experienced this! Anyone knows what happened? It can't be the COE cos that would just be illogical. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazecow Neutral Newbie December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Off topic a bit. Yesterday evening, the road was freakishly clear. I mean, at 6.30pm leaving Tuas and AYE (Keppel) was smooth all the way. Only at a few bottlenecks did my speed reduce to less than 40km/h. I reached Clarke Quay in 20+ mins! At peak hour! In my years at Jurong, this was the first time I ever experienced this! Anyone knows what happened? It can't be the COE cos that would just be illogical. School holidays....... Now you know whos actually clogging up the streets. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...