Malaysians driving to Singapore Daily

Skateboard

Time to buy a car in Malaysia and pay VEP daily.

Extracted from Limsimi -

Nowadays, buying a car in Singapore seems to be an affair for the privileged upper class of citizens. And we are not taking about marquee brands like Posche and Ferrari. We are talking about Toyota Altis, Honda Civic and even Hyundai Avante.

After all, the Certificate of Entitlement (COE) in Singapore has now reached a new frenzied height at a 10 year high. A piece of non-transferable COE paper (alone!) will now cost you:

Small-Medium Car: S$47,604 (RM114,250)

Large Car: S$62,502 (RM150,004)

Crazy COE Price in Singapore

As a result of this paper chase, the prices of the following models ballooned to a fashion which led aspiring car owners to chase the dust:

Toyota Altis: S$100,333 (RM240,800)

Honda Civic (1.8l): S$123,000 (RM295,200)

Hyundai Avante: S$98,000 (RM235,200)

At such prices, you can get a landed property in Johor Bahru instead if you forgo the drive.

For Malaysian Work Permit Holders (non-PRs) working in Singapore and yet to own a car, it is now mathematically sound to buy a car in Malaysia and simply pay the VEP on a daily basis instead. Let's use the example of David Si Pei Heng who works in Singapore and because he is a non-Singaporean PR, can drive a Malaysia-Registered Car into Singapore.

David can either choose to:

1. Buy a Honda Civic in Singapore (Total Cost: S$123,000)

2. Buy a Honda Civic in Malaysia and pay the daily VEP fees (Total Cost: RM120,000 (S$50,000) + VEP fees for 10 years (S$25 * 22 working days * 12 *10 = S$66,000) = S$116,000)

This means that if David choose option 2 - over a 10 year period, he will:

1. Save S$7,000 compared against option 1 in terms of car purchase.

2. Pay lower car insurance.

3. Save on interest from car loan

4. Pay only a fixed cost of ERP at S$5.00 daily, even if he travel in/out of the CBD area like nobody's business.

5. Save on VEP for those days he is on MC or want to Chao Keng".

6. Save on Road Tax... [more]

http://www.limsimi.com/leisure-entertainme...nd-johor-bahru/

On 12/9/2010 at 3:40 PM, Skateboard said:

Time to buy a car in Malaysia and pay VEP daily.

Extracted from Limsimi -

Nowadays, buying a car in Singapore seems to be an affair for the privileged upper class of citizens. And we are not taking about marquee brands like Posche and Ferrari. We are talking about Toyota Altis, Honda Civic and even Hyundai Avante.

After all, the Certificate of Entitlement (COE) in Singapore has now reached a new frenzied height at a 10 year high. A piece of non-transferable COE paper (alone!) will now cost you:

Small-Medium Car: S$47,604 (RM114,250)

Large Car: S$62,502 (RM150,004)

Crazy COE Price in Singapore

As a result of this paper chase, the prices of the following models ballooned to a fashion which led aspiring car owners to chase the dust:

Toyota Altis: S$100,333 (RM240,800)

Honda Civic (1.8l): S$123,000 (RM295,200)

Hyundai Avante: S$98,000 (RM235,200)

At such prices, you can get a landed property in Johor Bahru instead if you forgo the drive.

For Malaysian Work Permit Holders (non-PRs) working in Singapore and yet to own a car, it is now mathematically sound to buy a car in Malaysia and simply pay the VEP on a daily basis instead. Let's use the example of David Si Pei Heng who works in Singapore and because he is a non-Singaporean PR, can drive a Malaysia-Registered Car into Singapore.

David can either choose to:

1. Buy a Honda Civic in Singapore (Total Cost: S$123,000)

2. Buy a Honda Civic in Malaysia and pay the daily VEP fees (Total Cost: RM120,000 (S$50,000) + VEP fees for 10 years (S$25 * 22 working days * 12 *10 = S$66,000) = S$116,000)

This means that if David choose option 2 - over a 10 year period, he will:

1. Save S$7,000 compared against option 1 in terms of car purchase.

2. Pay lower car insurance.

3. Save on interest from car loan

4. Pay only a fixed cost of ERP at S$5.00 daily, even if he travel in/out of the CBD area like nobody's business.

5. Save on VEP for those days he is on MC or want to Chao Keng".

6. Save on Road Tax... [more]

http://www.limsimi.com/leisure-entertainme...nd-johor-bahru/

Bro you're calculative :D

  On 12/9/2010 at 4:36 PM, Thugstercena said:

get the proton lancer ex

this should be the best buy.. 1st batch has what, 60% japanese car.. but at Proton pricing... best deal.. [laugh] [laugh]

I used to have this colleague that drives a malaysian car around in SG during my attachment. He is full Singaporean but use to stay in Msia for 3years for business last time. He don't want tell us why he can be driving a msia car leh.

Any singaporeans can just go in msia and buy their cars?

There appears to be a rule that prohibits Singaporeans or PRs from driving Malaysian vehicles in Singapore.

http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/mot...de_overview.htm

Of course, if you drive carefully, don't speed, don't road hog, and just don't do anything illegal, and avoid driving at night, it's quite likely you'll not be found out. Then again, there are always unexpected incidents.

coe is not at crazy price now... is was crazy for almost 10yrs... now back to normal...

14yrs back i use to own a 3rd hand honda civic 1.5 cost me $80k... very high paper, then sell off and get new a lancer cost me $90k...

but still cheaper then my friend... who buy a new toyota corona 1.5 for $145k!

Edited by Jeffang

Have a colleague who did just that. Bought a Sg registered cruze recently, but difference is he secured the price just before the COE hike went up, So I guess he got the best of both worlds as he does only pay the VEP daily shuttling btween sg and hme in malaysia..Yet car price purchased was still low.. :huh:

Maybe the garment should consider if the VEP should increase, in tandem with the rise in COE prices.

Singaporean and PR cannot drive Malaysia car into Singapore lar, but to be honest, I don't think the custom does any checks.

On 12/9/2010 at 8:54 PM, Mandan said:

Have a colleague who did just that. Bought a Sg registered cruze recently, but difference is he secured the price just before the COE hike went up, So I guess he got the best of both worlds as he does only pay the VEP daily shuttling btween sg and hme in malaysia..Yet car price purchased was still low.. :huh:

Actually, everyone whom bought 2 years ago really got the best deal. And some selling their drive for a profit now.

Nowadays COE is not even a piece of paper, it's just data in a computer. Most expensive data in the world , uniquely sgp. :D

Bought 2 years ago, sell at a profit now?? Unless you dun want to drive anymore, dan you will truely gain. Otherwise it's as good as talking c0ck. Cos buying a car in sg will never be like an investment like property, one thing for sure is that as long as you want to drive you will incur losses.

On 12/9/2010 at 4:50 PM, GLZT said:

I used to have this colleague that drives a malaysian car around in SG during my attachment. He is full Singaporean but use to stay in Msia for 3years for business last time. He don't want tell us why he can be driving a msia car leh.

He can drive Msia cars, but he cannot drive Msia cars in Singapore.

On 12/9/2010 at 8:54 PM, Mandan said:

why need to pay VEP if he driving s'pore registered car?

On 12/9/2010 at 4:50 PM, GLZT said:

coverted to malaysian lor..... thats y dun dare tell you