Static problem occurred on car door

Josho

I am wondering if anyone had this issue. Each time I am out of car, while trying to close the door, I will get the static from it.

Earlier on when I open the door, attempt to let the door touch the other car's, I thought I will not get it. I tried to close the door using the top corner near the rubber side to push but I still got it.

This does not happen on the right side of the door but on left as well. To think my wife also gotten it before.

I didn't mod the car, everything suppose to be very smooth. It is only recently that I got the static. During that period of time, I didn't even do anything to the car.

Car:

5yr old Nissan Lation (Sedan)

I am wondering if anyone had this issue. Each time I am out of car, while trying to close the door, I will get the static from it.

Earlier on when I open the door, attempt to let the door touch the other car's, I thought I will not get it. I tried to close the door using the top corner near the rubber side to push but I still got it.

This does not happen on the right side of the door but on left as well. To think my wife also gotten it before.

I didn't mod the car, everything suppose to be very smooth. It is only recently that I got the static. During that period of time, I didn't even do anything to the car.

Car:

Its you not the car lol.... get yourself grounded...

Try to earth your car seat to the metal base. And maybe the carpet to the chassie.

Somehow there is no 'electrical' continuity between your seat n carpet to the car metal part!!

Mainly caused by your backside rubbing the seat when you about to leave the car.

You can try to change your pants material or your footwear, it will help.

My previous car always got the problem. I always touch the silver hook(the catch for the car door) when i get out from the car. Always can feel a slight tingle surging thru my fingers to the metal hook.

My current car Jazz has no more such issues.

If its recent...plese check your attire and footwear.

Got new pants and shoes?

Or maybe you added a new cushion to the car? Or did anything to the interior of the car?

Else.....you may have a change of diet?

Lastly...it might be a sign for you to chang car liao!!

Car:

Your attire nylon?

Hmmm. Initially I thought it was myself.... But....

My clothing, shoe wear and everything your said, remain the same for quite sometime already. meaning to say, last time, there's isn't any issue until now tho.

That's why....

I wear jean, polo and sport shoe wor.

Simon Tan - I wish i can change car... impossible to do so.. might lose job. =(

Recently weather cooler, it's either the negative charged air molecules from the car's air con or wet rainy outside air that caused the static. See if u get it during hot weather.

Did u juz recently change to nylon undies? [dead] Whenever theres static, the few main culprits r ur clothings, ur behaviour or the environment. If u keep rubbing ur shoes on carpets in office, u will kena static too when ur body get in contact wif any surfaces. Dry atmosphere(low humid) is oso 1 of the causes, when i was in USA 2 yrs detachment, everyday oso kena static b it getting in/out of my car & can see sparks somemore.

So my method of discharging in the least painful way which even now im still doing it is by using bottom of my fist where its the most meaty part to juz gently touch on any surfaces to discharge myself in case theres static, b4 using my hand to open any doors or touch any other things wif my fingers. [rolleyes]

watwheels - dry weather like just now lor.

Alantyc - wearing boxer, fabric? Hm... now you say about car mat... maybe its that... because my car mat is getting thinner tho. using the $50 3A type. (I'm in office got it until I'm so.... haiz... i can see spark as well) Look like I should get out and use handphone to close the door in case i got static again.

thanks all

watwheels - dry weather like just now lor.

Alantyc - wearing boxer, fabric? Hm... now you say about car mat... maybe its that... because my car mat is getting thinner tho. using the $50 3A type. (I'm in office got it until I'm so.... haiz... i can see spark as well) Look like I should get out and use handphone to close the door in case i got static again.

thanks all

Juz joking wif u on the undies part.. but its not impossible to b 1 of the minor causal factor hor.. [laugh]

Maybe u sud try to ground yr car to remove any built-up static.

U can buy those grounding strap. Usually its black wh a reflector n u attach to a metal part[usually rear exhaust box or lower rear part of car body] n it wil dangle just touching e road.

Everytime it touches e road, it wil discharge any static fm yr car.

This sud help.