Justifiable "profiling" method used by Car Sales Ppl?

Nutsack

this is more evident in Singapore. travel to other neighbouring countries and you will experience better service quality.

those who provide really good service, not just a front. people who don't filter customers.. treats all equally.

so u r happy or not happy with this practice? [wave]

I just think it's not accurate, and may cost the SEs to lose potentially lucrative sales because they chose this very crude way of profiling customers - especially when the choice is between slacking at the table and talking to customers when showroom is relatively empty.

When I proposed to my wife, I was only a poor army boy and she was a working lady oredi. So that's love i think. Haha.

Like that one ah Singapore. Profiling takes place every instance, like in the HDB lift which floor you press...press 4-5th floor means you can only afford that level of housing..press 46-50th floor means ur wallet loaded...

I am sure ur wife or girlfriend profiesl you also by the car you drive, the job you hold, whether VP in a bank or engineer nia...

I dun think this is good practice but just some of the cb things local people and FT do nowadays. [knife]

I just think it's not accurate, and may cost the SEs to lose potentially lucrative sales because they chose this very crude way of profiling customers - especially when the choice is between slacking at the table and talking to customers when showroom is relatively empty.

ya its bad sales attitude...but its good cos these lousy SEs will either b kicked out gradually or they learn to do it right...at the end of the day, i thk as customers as long as we know our rights, these pattern from them is manageable.

i think because its a big ticket item, a return customer is not something that happens yearly (unless totalled), so which explains the f up attitude.

anyway the SE i bought from 8 years ago, provided good post service so I bought the new one from her again.

For the past year, her post sale service is still good. maybe another one in 8yrs time [laugh]

I had a bad experience at a Japanese dealer along Bt Timah Road in 2008. I was around the area and wanted to drop by to see if a new sports model was launched. The salesgirl had a bad attitude and very reluctant to give me a test drive. On the test drive, she asked me to turn into the minor road (which is not the normal test drive route for that dealer coz I have driven others before), go one round and came out. Sibei tulan. I bought the Z4.

人不可冒相

may as well says:

以貌取人 失之子羽

anyway, a capitalistic and materialistic society will always use such things for quick profiling lah.

(efficient and go for the money only)

Starts all the way up with those elitist mentality at the top echelon.

Same like HK. It's integrated in Asian's metality.

Went HK miu miu with berms, tees and flipflops. None interested to serve me. When i asked about this particular bag which cost SGD1.8k, all the SEs come swaming in and explained every single details to me.

I had a bad experience at a Japanese dealer along Bt Timah Road in 2008. I was around the area and wanted to drop by to see if a new sports model was launched. The salesgirl had a bad attitude and very reluctant to give me a test drive. On the test drive, she asked me to turn into the minor road (which is not the normal test drive route for that dealer coz I have driven others before), go one round and came out. Sibei tulan. I bought the Z4.

Needless to say.. Tan Chong? You were looking at the 370Z or GTR right?

i think because its a big ticket item, a return customer is not something that happens yearly (unless totalled), so which explains the f up attitude.

It is sometime useful to remember that "big fishes" swim together. A good service SE may benefit from referrals by a satisfied customer.

Sometime it boil down to the company policy which emphasize on sales efficiency/productivity.

generally speaking, enthusiastic SE are from not so popular car distributors or SE new in the trade.

whilst arrogant SE either represent a premium brand or have too many customers thus opportunity cost to entertain less serious buyer is high.

of course there are those gems whose customer oriented service is blind to visual appearance but these are few and far between.

I totally agree with TS here.

A few years back, me, my father and his friend went to Leng Kee to shop for cars in a weekday. We wanted to buy 3 cars (1 car to replace my father old Nissan sunny and 2 for his friend as he got a large family). We have done our research and had decide what cars we are getting. So just we walk into the "Popular" showroom in Shorts and T-shirt. Not a single SE come and serve us for the whole 15mins or so. So we just walk around the few car we interested, open the door, the boot and bonnet of the car ourselves still no one come and serve us.

Then came a couple wearing quite formal, the whole bunch of SE just flock towards them ask them what car they looking for and what their budget so on and so fore..... A Very different attitude. Haizzz.... But the couple just walk out of the showroom after looking through the car without buying.

By the end of the day, my father just call me to approach any SE to come to serve us. As a guy...of course i went to look for a young and pretty SE. The SE give me the "sian sian" look but she follow me to where my father and his friend were. When my father' friend told the SE we are getting 3 cars, i can see the look on her face change immediately.... She quickly led us a sofa to sit down and tell the auntie to serve us drinks while she prepare the docs and brochures of the car for us.

Don't understand why some of the SE are like that....

Those sales people who judge customers by their attire are extremely shallow. My friend is in the property line, and he says the really rich people dress very casually because they are sick of wearing formal attire day in day out, and I agree with him.

My experience

go alone: less attention.

Go with wifey or with kids in tow. More attention.

This was what i felt when I was younger. those uncle with wife and kids got more attention.

Now I become 1 of them, get more attention when i bring them.