Nutsack Clutched December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 As many already know, car sales people or executives at car showrooms will often treat showroom visitors according to a set of personal "scales" or "benchmarks" with which to decide whether they (visitors) are potential customers. - Sometimes it's your age: Too young = play play only. don't wanna waste my time - Dressed to shabbily: Too poor. Cannot afford the BMWs / Mercs / Porsches I'm selling (maybe less so for less prestigious marques) - Flashy car = big fish = must smile widely and entertain his/her every request Do we all agree with these, occasionally, unreliable "profiling" sales execs use in deciding whether to make an effort to assist customers? Personal experience, if I walk in (i look relatively young but am really not as young as I look), sometimes sales execs won't take even a second look at me. And sometimes it happens even when showrooms are relatively empty. But if i dress properly, they'll come in droves. Once at the Mini showroom (hunting for friend's car), they'll see me driving in and come drooling. Even to the extent of opening the glass door for my friend and I (cos the green house showroom gives people inside 100% visibility of cars coming in). Issit an Asian/Singaporean mentality? Cos I've been to foreign showrooms in more westernised countries, and have never gotten that kinda treatment even when we occasionally drove a rental. Not saying it's right or wrong. But I'm seeking personal accounts and/or maybe comments from fellow MCFers. Perhaps different experiences? Nice stories? Or horror stories? :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Once at the Mini showroom (hunting for friend's car), they'll see me driving in and come drooling. Even to the extent of opening the glass door for my friend and I (cos the green house showroom gives people inside 100% visibility of cars coming in). What car you drive? Everyone "profiles" and not just in the car industry. Anyway, when I was buying my first car, my dad decided to tag along. The SEs all swarmed around him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 It happen in gernally across the broad in the service sector, not just showroom. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutsack Clutched December 8, 2010 Author Share December 8, 2010 It happen in gernally across the broad in the service sector, not just showroom. Example? :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutsack Clutched December 8, 2010 Author Share December 8, 2010 What car you drive? Everyone "profiles" and not just in the car industry. Anyway, when I was buying my first car, my dad decided to tag along. The SEs all swarmed around him Rather not say. It makes me quite recognisable. Anyway, age seem to matter. Accompanying my dad to get his retirement ride. And he gets more attention from SEs all the time. Somehow he doesn't need to convince people to let him test drive cars most don't get to test drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 (edited) But this cuts both ways. If I am subject to profiling, I would never buy from that particular SE(s). Not only that. I will say out loud "No one wants to serve me?" And then I will stomp out. Having said that though, they are almost always nice to me even though I wear T-shirt and berms and drive a humble Jap car to the showrooms. Considering that sales are tough to clinch nowadays, I will be surprised if there are any showrooms where the SE fail to give you the proper attention. Other than VW of course. Edited December 8, 2010 by TandemAssassin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Actually it happens alot more in SG. My friend SE recounted to me how an old ah pek in singlet, shorts, slippers carry big plastic bag into showroom. When he finally got served, closed deal very fast, wanted to pay full cash... all stored inside the plastic bag... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Like that one ah Singapore. Profiling takes place every instance, like in the HDB lift which floor you press...press 4-5th floor means you can only afford that level of housing..press 46-50th floor means ur wallet loaded... I am sure ur wife or girlfriend profiesl you also by the car you drive, the job you hold, whether VP in a bank or engineer nia... I dun think this is good practice but just some of the cb things local people and FT do nowadays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nc35 Neutral Newbie December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 lets not talk about car showroom.. even to some branded name shops.. i wear t-shirt and berms in.. they all act busy.. c foreigners. all chiong.. wat to do.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Like that one ah Singapore. Profiling takes place every instance, like in the HDB lift which floor you press...press 4-5th floor means you can only afford that level of housing..press 46-50th floor means ur wallet loaded... definitely true in sinkieland..having been to other countries..its quite different in the service level Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shemmy Clutched December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 The service at mini is really solid. I came in an altis back then yet they entertain me. Ask me to test drive, i say don't want cos not confirm buying. My SE say nevermind, he'll drive me. The rest is history. A few years later i went back to buy part, my SE actually accompany me to the parts department which was a ten mins walk away.. The service is so good that i would consider a second mini. Best thing is that porsche showroom is beside, can park for free and walk over just in case one day strike 4D. Usually, i won't blindly walk into a showroom if i'm really interested in buying.. Will do research first on whom gives the best discount Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 As many already know, car sales people or executives at car showrooms will often treat showroom visitors according to a set of personal "scales" or "benchmarks" with which to decide whether they (visitors) are potential customers. - Sometimes it's your age: Too young = play play only. don't wanna waste my time - Dressed to shabbily: Too poor. Cannot afford the BMWs / Mercs / Porsches I'm selling (maybe less so for less prestigious marques) - Flashy car = big fish = must smile widely and entertain his/her every request Do we all agree with these, occasionally, unreliable "profiling" sales execs use in deciding whether to make an effort to assist customers? Personal experience, if I walk in (i look relatively young but am really not as young as I look), sometimes sales execs won't take even a second look at me. And sometimes it happens even when showrooms are relatively empty. But if i dress properly, they'll come in droves. Once at the Mini showroom (hunting for friend's car), they'll see me driving in and come drooling. Even to the extent of opening the glass door for my friend and I (cos the green house showroom gives people inside 100% visibility of cars coming in). Issit an Asian/Singaporean mentality? Cos I've been to foreign showrooms in more westernised countries, and have never gotten that kinda treatment even when we occasionally drove a rental. Not saying it's right or wrong. But I'm seeking personal accounts and/or maybe comments from fellow MCFers. Perhaps different experiences? Nice stories? Or horror stories? :) Years ago I was told by a colleague his experience. He strolled into a car showroom along Orchard Road (in those days many car showrooms there). One friend of his enquired with the Salesman the price of one model in the showroom. The reply: People who buy these cars here do not enquire about the price. Either they buy or they do not buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 The problem is Singaporeans like to feel pampered, but yet they dress shabbily when out. Just like going to Nus/Ntu class like going to their own kitchen. Wearing shorts and slippers. How to gain respect. You tell me lah...if your SE wears cartoon Tshirt and army brooks running shoe, will you like this SE? There is low service standard in Singapore. We all grow up in this environment. If you want to buy things, just ask the price...happy buy...not happy ask for discount...still not happy walk away. It's the norm in Singapore. More so when it comes to selling cars in Singapore. The quota controls the car sales. Even if you want to sell more cars also not possible. Overseas the market is open wide, if you don't work to please the customers..u will lose the sales. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 it is common... got it a lot of time.. best is that one i see @ car show... Hyundai some more.. that SE say u cant afford it anyway and walk away.. that time just complete NS.. so LLSt... another place u see are those watch shop or branded stuff place.... friend ever told me when ask to see the handbag.. the SE do until like buay gum wan like that...until he pay for the bag in cash.. then the SE start to entertain him... but i heard those branded shop in europe laggi worst.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Haha. Not true lah. Pressing 5 in a HDB lift means when your HDB queue number came, the highest floor remaining was 5. Like that one ah Singapore. Profiling takes place every instance, like in the HDB lift which floor you press...press 4-5th floor means you can only afford that level of housing..press 46-50th floor means ur wallet loaded... I am sure ur wife or girlfriend profiesl you also by the car you drive, the job you hold, whether VP in a bank or engineer nia... I dun think this is good practice but just some of the cb things local people and FT do nowadays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Rather not say. It makes me quite recognisable. Anyway, age seem to matter. Accompanying my dad to get his retirement ride. And he gets more attention from SEs all the time. Somehow he doesn't need to convince people to let him test drive cars most don't get to test drive. so u r happy or not happy with this practice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 As many already know, car sales people or executives at car showrooms will often treat showroom visitors according to a set of personal "scales" or "benchmarks" with which to decide whether they (visitors) are potential customers. - Sometimes it's your age: Too young = play play only. don't wanna waste my time - Dressed to shabbily: Too poor. Cannot afford the BMWs / Mercs / Porsches I'm selling (maybe less so for less prestigious marques) - Flashy car = big fish = must smile widely and entertain his/her every request Do we all agree with these, occasionally, unreliable "profiling" sales execs use in deciding whether to make an effort to assist customers? Personal experience, if I walk in (i look relatively young but am really not as young as I look), sometimes sales execs won't take even a second look at me. And sometimes it happens even when showrooms are relatively empty. But if i dress properly, they'll come in droves. Once at the Mini showroom (hunting for friend's car), they'll see me driving in and come drooling. Even to the extent of opening the glass door for my friend and I (cos the green house showroom gives people inside 100% visibility of cars coming in). Issit an Asian/Singaporean mentality? Cos I've been to foreign showrooms in more westernised countries, and have never gotten that kinda treatment even when we occasionally drove a rental. Not saying it's right or wrong. But I'm seeking personal accounts and/or maybe comments from fellow MCFers. Perhaps different experiences? Nice stories? Or horror stories? :) Never got such treatment at Regent motors 6 years back, nor Wearnes 6 months back. All pretty much maintained decent level of service up til the post-purchase period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 人不可冒相 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...