Ken4555 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 dear all... for those who drive manual cars, have you ever push start your car? i have a few questions, hope you can share your views... i start my car many times a day... i have no idea when my starter motor will kaput... so far its still ok... i have only once crank the car when the engine was already on... stupid... but no side effects right?... 1) when you push start a car do you release clutch on 1st gear or 2nd gear? 2) lately a few times when i park on a slope, and i think that letting the car roll down and then engaging a gear to start the car, will save the life of my starter motor... but i am not sure if this will damaging to the car as the car rolls, no power steering no proper brakes and when engine starts immediately everything comes on... wonder if this way of starting the car will damage the car's components... expert advise please... thanks... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 (edited) Push start, let it roll in neutral, have some momentum, slot to first gear, apply half clutch, when it is about to start, fully release the clutch. You only apply push starting when battery runs out and no other way to kick the engine a life. Otherwise, I don't see the need to do it just to save the starter. Edited December 8, 2010 by Heartbreakid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Push start a modern car? wouldnt the steering be locked? Go straight only? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 I'm just replying to T.S. And I mentioned that push start is only at the worse scenario when the battery fails totally, when no other help is available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Your method is wrong. Should be done in this sequence 1)Set the key to on 2)clutch in and push to second gear,first gear to strong,when you release,the car may not have the strength to move. 3)Accelerator fully depress 4)Start pushing and when you sense the momentum is there,release the clutch,must be fast. Too slow the gearbox will slow down the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 (edited) I did try engine start without cranking everyday during the 1st 3 months of ownership as I wanted to try some hypermiling techniques. At that time was able to get additional ~1-2km/L FC per tank. But stopped doing that cos lazy, think its no pt and scared damage car. My car manual got specifically say that push starting is not recommended by the manufacturer. You might want to check your manual. Car now at the start of 3rd year. Touchwood, hope nothing happen. But knowing how to push start has been immensely helpful. There was once where I on hazard light for continuous 10 hours until battery flat. The push start saved me. This is something automatic cars can't do. For those who are interested (where was that hypermiler guy in MCF ? This is for you) Coasting: Approaching traffic light from some distance away ~500m, u see that traffic light turning red. 1. Clutch in, put to gear 2, right leg standby on the brake pedal 2. turn off ignition, and switch on again (don't crank) 3. the car will roll towards junction, brake if necessary 4. If traffic light remain red for another 3 min, u would have saved fuel bcos no idling of engine. 5. If at 3., the light turn green, while car is still rolling, just release the clutch for a split second and clutch in, the engine will start and u can continue on your journey. (If you do it right even your passenger won't be able to feel any jerk.) You would still have saved fuel bcos u had rolled along without fuel for a relatively long time and this is even more fuel saving than simply putting your car to neutral as most manual drivers do bcos the engine is off, so u don't even waste the engine idling part. Most modern Hybrids do exactly the same thing, only that it is assisted by technology. (Engine cut at junction, cutoff when rolling to a stop, recharging energy while braking, etc) Edited December 8, 2010 by Windchoco Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Some newer cars now come with electric steering and accelarator. If battery is dead.... call workshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 On 12/8/2010 at 2:22 AM, Ken4555 said: dear all... for those who drive manual cars, have you ever push start your car? i have a few questions, hope you can share your views... i start my car many times a day... i have no idea when my starter motor will kaput... so far its still ok... i have only once crank the car when the engine was already on... stupid... but no side effects right?... Your car must be rather quiet But anyway, once only, shouldn't be any problem at all. 1) when you push start a car do you release clutch on 1st gear or 2nd gear? Experimented with both and seems easier and more smooth on 2nd gear 2) lately a few times when i park on a slope, and i think that letting the car roll down and then engaging a gear to start the car, will save the life of my starter motor... but i am not sure if this will damaging to the car as the car rolls, no power steering no proper brakes and when engine starts immediately everything comes on... wonder if this way of starting the car will damage the car's components... expert advise please... thanks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 It's not recommended to off engine and let it roll to the junction.Everything on the road is ever changing.There is no such thing as safe on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Author Share December 8, 2010 On 12/8/2010 at 2:44 AM, Mightymito said: Push start a modern car? wouldnt the steering be locked? Go straight only? then push start what? and the key in why would it be locked? of course straight lah... what talking you sia? guess you've never ever push started a car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 2nd gear should be correct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Author Share December 8, 2010 On 12/8/2010 at 3:00 AM, Windchoco said: I did try engine start without cranking everyday during the 1st 3 months of ownership as I wanted to try some hypermiling techniques. At that time was able to get additional ~1-2km/L FC per tank. But stopped doing that cos lazy, think its no pt and scared damage car. My car manual got specifically say that push starting is not recommended by the manufacturer. You might want to check your manual. Car now at the start of 3rd year. Touchwood, hope nothing happen. But knowing how to push start has been immensely helpful. There was once where I on hazard light for continuous 10 hours until battery flat. The push start saved me. This is something automatic cars can't do. For those who are interested (where was that hypermiler guy in MCF ? This is for you) Coasting: Approaching traffic light from some distance away ~500m, u see that traffic light turning red. 1. Clutch in, put to gear 2, right leg standby on the brake pedal 2. turn off ignition, and switch on again (don't crank) 3. the car will roll towards junction, brake if necessary 4. If traffic light remain red for another 3 min, u would have saved fuel bcos no idling of engine. 5. If at 3., the light turn green, while car is still rolling, just release the clutch for a split second and clutch in, the engine will start and u can continue on your journey. (If you do it right even your passenger won't be able to feel any jerk.) You would still have saved fuel bcos u had rolled along without fuel for a relatively long time and this is even more fuel saving than simply putting your car to neutral as most manual drivers do bcos the engine is off, so u don't even waste the engine idling part. Most modern Hybrids do exactly the same thing, only that it is assisted by technology. (Engine cut at junction, cutoff when rolling to a stop, recharging energy while braking, etc) huh... i think switching off the engine before the lights is ridiculous.... actually i kinda feel push starting will shorten the life of the gear box... but its just my butt feel... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Author Share December 8, 2010 my car not exactly quiet... but was in one of those carparks near those noisy generators.... so blurr blurr sotong crank 2nd time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 2nd gear would seems easier for most car, but 1st gear is still possible. So I think just use 2nd to save time and effort. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 On 12/8/2010 at 2:22 AM, Ken4555 said: dear all... for those who drive manual cars, have you ever push start your car? i have a few questions, hope you can share your views... i start my car many times a day... i have no idea when my starter motor will kaput... so far its still ok... i have only once crank the car when the engine was already on... stupid... but no side effects right?... 1) when you push start a car do you release clutch on 1st gear or 2nd gear? 2) lately a few times when i park on a slope, and i think that letting the car roll down and then engaging a gear to start the car, will save the life of my starter motor... but i am not sure if this will damaging to the car as the car rolls, no power steering no proper brakes and when engine starts immediately everything comes on... wonder if this way of starting the car will damage the car's components... expert advise please... thanks... 1)push start only when battery is dead. Clutch in 2nd/3rd gear (First gear? you don pity the person pushing behind is it?) don release, On engine. Push and prepare to release clutch fast enough like you changing gear during normal driving and rev a litlle..not too much( Cos during this time vehicle might jerk badly depending how you execute the sequence) 2)This procedure is sooo Mr. Bean... Its ok...But its also dangerous....because all systems are not ready to go especially your airbags. Have you check the battery Ken..?? Maybe its the spark plugs also... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 On 12/8/2010 at 4:15 AM, Ken4555 said: my car not exactly quiet... but was in one of those carparks near those noisy generators.... so blurr blurr sotong crank 2nd time... Over crank will definitely spoil it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 My steering is electric Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alantyc Clutched December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 On 12/8/2010 at 2:47 AM, Passion said: Your method is wrong. Should be done in this sequence 1)Set the key to on 2)clutch in and push to second gear,first gear to strong,when you release,the car may not have the strength to move. 3)Accelerator fully depress 4)Start pushing and when you sense the momentum is there,release the clutch,must be fast. Too slow the gearbox will slow down the car. Correct method! No one in the right mind will put in neutral & switch to 1st gear thereafter(extra & redundant step + heavy jerking encounter when clutch released) for push start... unless clutch slipping liao... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...