Help: which desktop comp has built-in wireless?

SimonTan

Yes...shold have just ask first before i go out to buy.

I did not really read the specs, as i had assumed that all computers has the built-in wireless module into the motherboard( because all laptop has them for a long long time already). Even those $499 net book has wireless in them.

My old Acer desktop also has the built-in wireless! It never came to my mind that wireless is not standard.

Anyway......which wireless USB is good? My internet is connected to my free starhub 1Mbs hubstation. My router is Belkin. I know i should get the 'n' speed, as last time when i boight the Belkin, the saleman told be 'N' speed is the fastest available.

Better ask now before i go out to get it!!

btw, laptop and netbooks are for wat main purpose??? it's for mobility of cos all comes wif built-in wifi lah... unless u wan to tell me u carry ur desktop and monitor everywhere, to ur office and for meeting all these (less the keyboard and mouse)... so dun keep saying tat u tink tis is standard and tat is standard.... if so much tings standard dan everyone no need to study for higher educations and tinking liao and btw pls dun tink u get N type wifi (be it usb adapter or PCI card) can get u any speed very high... u are only on 1Mbps and toking abt N here is a joke...

there's a shop in Sim Lim that's selling high end wifi adapters and antennae, even for outdoor use. If want to overcome attenuation and line of sight issues, can visit this shop and take a look. I think on 4th or 5th floor - has some cool sat dish like antenna displayed.

Yes....I think I should have done more research on the computer before I buy. But then I am not a computer inclined guy.

Guess buying a 'N' adaptor is a joke form my AX1900? Anyway....lets see what the salesman tell me later when I go see him again!

Aiya....no wonder the salesman seems so friendly whenever I go buy computers and accessories. I guess my ignorant, gave them the chance to sell me overpriced things.

My old Acer model is Aspire L3600. I like it for its sleek form factor. (Now looking at my old Acer specs) It has the wireless AR5BXB63 built in.

When I bought this new AX1900 yesterday, I was looking at similar small form factor.

Nothing else come close to my old L3600....the AX1900 has the smallest form factor at that Challenger store. So I bought it. My wife likes it to be as small as possible...........

And the rest is history.

Edited by SimonTan

Yes...shold have just ask first before i go out to buy.

I did not really read the specs, as i had assumed that all computers has the built-in wireless module into the motherboard( because all laptop has them for a long long time already). Even those $499 net book has wireless in them.

My old Acer desktop also has the built-in wireless! It never came to my mind that wireless is not standard.

Anyway......which wireless USB is good? My internet is connected to my free starhub 1Mbs hubstation. My router is Belkin. I know i should get the 'n' speed, as last time when i boight the Belkin, the saleman told be 'N' speed is the fastest available.

Better ask now before i go out to get it!!

since you are only using the 1Mbps hubstation and if you don't do file transfers between your devices, then no point getting N...

but first of all, does your router even supports N? [laugh]

$599 overprice [confused] [confused]

i got a HP slim for $899 3 years ago [:(]

My motherboard alone was nearly that price that he paid for his system when I bought it 5 years ago [laugh]

Edited by Xtrocious

Just get a usb wifi around 30 bucks and solve the case...

Since u say in SH 1mb...should be the package with cable tv right??

Therefore, no demand for fast speed, any usb wifi stick will do the job...

Or sell away that desktop 2nd hand for 350 and get another model...

Just got the USB 'n' 150mbs stick.

Now the computer is funtioning well. Doing all the updating and downloading of software. Getting ready t

For my mum and wife to trade stocks tomorrow.

You may like to use a Homeplug ethernet adapter. Just plug into the power socket and connect with a network cable to your desktop. It must work in pair meaning you must have a pair of the Homeplug ethernet adapter.