Help: which desktop comp has built-in wireless?

SimonTan

For the past five years, I have being using wireless to surf internet in my home.

All my laptops, ipads, desktop computer are able to wirelessly link up to my router to connect to the internet.

One week ago my work horse desktop computer conked out, smoke coming out.

This old slim line, with slot in DVD drive, Acer computer was running on vista. It has built in wireless network, similar to laptops, there is no visible external antenne.

I made a big mistake today, in buying a new desktop computer that did not come with a built in wireless network. Acer, model ASX1900. As it was on promotion at challenger for just $599.

I spent the whole day trying to figure out where the fark is the wireless network and how to turn it on to connect to my wireless router.

Only after trying for five hours, doing reseqrch on the internet, then i realised that this computer does not come with wireless network, it comes only with a base-T Lan network. Another fark....this particular model ASX1900 is like very rare and only few website got review. Somemore my core duo is outdated E5700, while the website all reviews newer ASX1900 with newer e6600 processors.

Blardy hell....l always thought nowadays computers sure come with wireless network capability.

All laptops got wireless built in, so i assume wireless is standard in all computers nowadays!!

Why desktop got standard wireless built in?

Anyone tell me which model of desktop on the market has the built in wireless capability, at reasonable price?

Tomorrow i am going to get a USB wireless network adaptor.....haiz......stupid me...Ass U Me!!

What's wrong with using an external wireless adapter?

Desktops don't norm come with wireless capabilities as there are not portable.

My conked out Acer desktop was more than two years old, and it came with wireless.

Since nowadays all laptops got wireless.

So i had AssUMe that by right all computer should have wireless also mah.

$599 is just the desktop unit without screen.

I need a new desktop to allow my mum and wife to monitor their shares!

Haiz....wasted money to buy this useless computer today. Felt so stupid.

Yup, a plug in USB wireless is the solution.

Just feel stupid that i actually wasted the whole day trying to set up the wireless on the non existant desktop!!

Did i mention this is windows7 version.

Its new to me. It did not occur to me that desktop does not come with wireless, as all my desktop and laptops and ipad, all has wireless in-built!,

So i was very determined to figure out where the wireless drivers and network located in this new windows7 system.

KNN staying in whole day and cursed and swear!

My conked out Acer desktop was more than two years old, and it came with wireless.

Since nowadays all laptops got wireless.

So i had AssUMe that by right all computer should have wireless also mah.

$599 is just the desktop unit without screen.

I need a new desktop to allow my mum and wife to monitor their shares!

You need to get a wireless adapter..

eh..sorry to say this..but for $599

i dun think can expect much bah ?

dont assume..... [sly] ... if u know how to find, i meant, google, can get real good deal...

i paid $580 nett for a Acer AX5900 system, brand new with 1 yr warranty register online.....

(spec: i3-530, 2Gb memory, 320GB hdd, window7, and yes, built in wireless... [laugh] )

if simon tan ask me earlier, i will reco him the lobang and not spend $599 on a lousier spec system .... [:p]

Bro... you taking this too hard... after all it's only the wifi issue. As long as the rest of the computer works ok, it's 600 bucks well spent for a low cost PC.

Another few bucks or so can settle your wifi issue. Why so serious?! :blink:

Yes...shold have just ask first before i go out to buy.

I did not really read the specs, as i had assumed that all computers has the built-in wireless module into the motherboard( because all laptop has them for a long long time already). Even those $499 net book has wireless in them.

My old Acer desktop also has the built-in wireless! It never came to my mind that wireless is not standard.

Anyway......which wireless USB is good? My internet is connected to my free starhub 1Mbs hubstation. My router is Belkin. I know i should get the 'n' speed, as last time when i boight the Belkin, the saleman told be 'N' speed is the fastest available.

Better ask now before i go out to get it!!

dont assume..... [sly] ... if u know how to find, i meant, google, can get real good deal...

i paid $580 nett for a Acer AX5900 system, brand new with 1 yr warranty register online.....

(spec: i3-530, 2Gb memory, 320GB hdd, window7, and yes, built in wireless... [laugh] )

if simon tan ask me earlier, i will reco him the lobang and not spend $599 on a lousier spec system .... [:p]

If your pc is far from the router and worried about speed, get the home plug which cos about $120 a pair, for faster speed.

I use them even my pc has wifi :D

Edited by Jman888

All brands are almost the same.

The limitation is more likely to be your internet connection throughput rather than the router/adapter's. As such, G's 54mbps might be sufficient.

If your internet connection is higher than 54mbps, get N.

For the past five years, I have being using wireless to surf internet in my home.

All my laptops, ipads, desktop computer are able to wirelessly link up to my router to connect to the internet.

One week ago my work horse desktop computer conked out, smoke coming out.

This old slim line, with slot in DVD drive, Acer computer was running on vista. It has built in wireless network, similar to laptops, there is no visible external antenne.

I made a big mistake today, in buying a new desktop computer that did not come with a built in wireless network. Acer, model ASX1900. As it was on promotion at challenger for just $599.

I spent the whole day trying to figure out where the fark is the wireless network and how to turn it on to connect to my wireless router.

Only after trying for five hours, doing reseqrch on the internet, then i realised that this computer does not come with wireless network, it comes only with a base-T Lan network. Another fark....this particular model ASX1900 is like very rare and only few website got review. Somemore my core duo is outdated E5700, while the website all reviews newer ASX1900 with newer e6600 processors.

Blardy hell....l always thought nowadays computers sure come with wireless network capability.

All laptops got wireless built in, so i assume wireless is standard in all computers nowadays!!

Why desktop got standard wireless built in?

Anyone tell me which model of desktop on the market has the built in wireless capability, at reasonable price?

Tomorrow i am going to get a USB wireless network adaptor.....haiz......stupid me...Ass U Me!!

first of all, i tink u really ought to do some serious research in how many types of wifi can be in a desktop and to tell u normally desktop does not come wif built-in wifi (which means on motherboard)... those built-in wifi motherboards cost much more dan usual which is available in sim lim, some brands like asus and gigabyte... following i dun tink ur ur previous Acer comes wif built-in wifi on motherboard (i did a search on ur model but cant find anyting to confirm my assumption), it juz comes wif a PCI wifi card which is slot internally and i doubt u open up and see it...

so end of the day, do juz get a PCI wifi card and slot into ur $599 desktop and there u go... u will hav a "built-in" wifi again...

to tink of wan to get cheap cheap desktop and expect a lot... btw, e6600 is not the latest if u really noe and y not go for DIY when u can hav all the tings u wan at a relatively cheap price too...

the only aspect of branded PC is tat some may giv u on-site warranty which is the only plus point i see comparing wif DIY... i hav nv owned a DIY PC b4 and i will not choose to hav one...