Wolfy3769 2nd Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Was following the annoucement ceremony on the World Cup ytr... I was told that Qatar winning bid include plan to build new stadium for the World Cup... after the World Cup, the new Stadium (so of them) will be dismanlte and then given to 3rd world country as a gift... sort of promoting the football in 3rd world countries in Africa. Is it possible? we are easily talking abt stadium that easily seat 40K~60K ppl and cause billions to build... is there really any sense in this kind of project? wont the relocation cause as much? Could this just be marketing trick or really possible. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Was following the annoucement ceremony on the World Cup ytr... I was told that Qatar winning bid include plan to build new stadium for the World Cup... after the World Cup, the new Stadium (so of them) will be dismanlte and then given to 3rd world country as a gift... sort of promoting the football in 3rd world countries in Africa. Is it possible? we are easily talking abt stadium that easily seat 40K~60K ppl and cause billions to build... is there really any sense in this kind of project? wont the relocation cause as much? Could this just be marketing trick or really possible. this mean Fifa is brainless lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 (edited) i suspect oil money plays a big part in the results. but it is a good first time for eastern europe and middle east though. Edited December 3, 2010 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 holding it in such a warm country means that the europeans will be out of contention! brazil or argentina will lift teh 2022 world cup! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Been to Qatar.... One of the biggest gas exporter in the world. Qatar hosted the Asian Games in 2006. After the Asian Games, most of the facilities was left empty. Oh well if u have the money... But it is a good choice, hopefully they have the infrastructure like enuf hotel, transportation for the World Cup.... holding it in such a warm country means that the europeans will be out of contention! brazil or argentina will lift teh 2022 world cup! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 If u go to Qatar, U must try their 4WD across the Khor Al Udeid desert.... Recently Qatar agreed to supply Singapore with LNG.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 So let's hope world doesn't end 2012.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Now look who talking.... from Yahoo.... Fifa made 'wrong decision' WASHINGTON - US PRESIDENT Barack Obama said Fifa made the 'wrong decision' on Thursday when selecting Qatar over an American bid to host the 2022 World Cup in what will be a major setback for football in America. 'I think it was the wrong decision,' Mr Obama said at the White House, joining thousands of disappointed Americans who watched the announcement from Zurich, where a video message from him had been part of the US presentation. 'Obviously we're very disappointed. To come up short is very difficult to take,' said US Soccer Federation president Sunil Gulati, who called the defeat 'a setback in moving the sport forward' in a long-sceptical US market. '(Hosting in 2022) was the equivalent of putting your foot on the accelerator. From that point it's an opportunity lost. Will we get there? I'm confident we will. It's going to take longer. It's going to take more work.' It was the second major sport bid loss for Americans in as many years. Mr Obama attended last year's International Olympic Committee vote on the 2016 Summer Games site when his hometown, Chicago, was ousted on the first ballot. Only minutes after Qatar was announced as Fifa's choice for 2022, frustrated US supporters vented their feelings on US Soccer's Twitter site. 'Gutted', 'USA Soccer is set back another 20 years' and 'Qatar? Wow. Soccer actually just got less relevant in the US' were among the shocked reactions. -- AFP Think the Blatter fella will tell him... Mr Presidental..... we think you the Yank grape is very the sour de...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 wa....brazil n qatar win the bid...... it will be a very very hot world cup [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 wa....brazil n qatar win the bid...... it will be a very very hot world cup [laugh] brazil meh? i thought russia?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Now look who talking.... from Yahoo.... Fifa made 'wrong decision' WASHINGTON - US PRESIDENT Barack Obama said Fifa made the 'wrong decision' on Thursday when selecting Qatar over an American bid to host the 2022 World Cup in what will be a major setback for football in America. 'I think it was the wrong decision,' Mr Obama said at the White House, joining thousands of disappointed Americans who watched the announcement from Zurich, where a video message from him had been part of the US presentation. 'Obviously we're very disappointed. To come up short is very difficult to take,' said US Soccer Federation president Sunil Gulati, who called the defeat 'a setback in moving the sport forward' in a long-sceptical US market. '(Hosting in 2022) was the equivalent of putting your foot on the accelerator. From that point it's an opportunity lost. Will we get there? I'm confident we will. It's going to take longer. It's going to take more work.' It was the second major sport bid loss for Americans in as many years. Mr Obama attended last year's International Olympic Committee vote on the 2016 Summer Games site when his hometown, Chicago, was ousted on the first ballot. Only minutes after Qatar was announced as Fifa's choice for 2022, frustrated US supporters vented their feelings on US Soccer's Twitter site. 'Gutted', 'USA Soccer is set back another 20 years' and 'Qatar? Wow. Soccer actually just got less relevant in the US' were among the shocked reactions. -- AFP Think the Blatter fella will tell him... Mr Presidental..... we think you the Yank grape is very the sour de...... The blxxdy American wants everything to be in their way, whatever other people did are all wrong, they think they are one who should get everything in this world. The American has forgotten that they had hosted the world cup in 1994, so it is right for FIFA not to award the 2018 WC to USA and let other country has a chance to be the host. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 brazil meh? i thought russia?? Brazil 2014, Russia 2018, Qatar 2022 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Who wants to go US to watch or play world cup only to be humiliated at the airport security pat downs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Was following the annoucement ceremony on the World Cup ytr... I was told that Qatar winning bid include plan to build new stadium for the World Cup... after the World Cup, the new Stadium (so of them) will be dismanlte and then given to 3rd world country as a gift... sort of promoting the football in 3rd world countries in Africa. Is it possible? we are easily talking abt stadium that easily seat 40K~60K ppl and cause billions to build... is there really any sense in this kind of project? wont the relocation cause as much? Could this just be marketing trick or really possible. They got money what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 The blxxdy American wants everything to be in their way, whatever other people did are all wrong, they think they are one who should get everything in this world. The American has forgotten that they had hosted the world cup in 1994, so it is right for FIFA not to award the 2018 WC to USA and let other country has a chance to be the host. frankly speaking, i agree with him. similar to Jap and Korea WC. consider a flop with so many kelong referee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Brazil 2014, Russia 2018, Qatar 2022 wah cb. first humid like fug.... then cold like fug.... then dry and hot like fug. think singapore best chance to qualify is in 2014 le, got weather advantage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear December 3, 2010 Author Share December 3, 2010 Then it will have to be the world first.... a stackable stadium.... u know lah... spore not enough land for those mega stadium... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear December 3, 2010 Author Share December 3, 2010 Personally, i think US/JAP/Korea all out because.... a Korean war... all three countries econ will up lorry... so why risk.... another could be the time.... i think waking up in the morning to watch the game (@ 9am)... is a big no no to those european... so they sure try all kind of pattern to stop the election... of course we asian, would like to see Jap / Korea to win the bid.. cause the match start @ 7 till just mid-nite... dont need to take leave or burn oil.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...