Sk65 1st Gear December 2, 2010 Share December 2, 2010 Hi all, suppose to be a gift for my wife's bday. dunwan spend 2-3K on a channel bag. thus mus crack brain to think of something not so ex, yet special. decided to register a domain for her. however, there seemed to be quite a number of website able to provide this service. which is the more reputable ones ar? Also, from my minimal research, either i have a server, on 24hrs a day at home (consumes electricity) or i can engage a web host at a fee. am i correct with the understanding so far? please advice, if you know more about this trade. have roughly 10 days to complete the project b4 her bday hahahha. Thanks. SK ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdang Neutral Newbie December 2, 2010 Share December 2, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 4:40 AM, Sk65 said: Hi all, suppose to be a gift for my wife's bday. dunwan spend 2-3K on a channel bag. thus mus crack brain to think of something not so ex, yet special. decided to register a domain for her. however, there seemed to be quite a number of website able to provide this service. which is the more reputable ones ar? Also, from my minimal research, either i have a server, on 24hrs a day at home (consumes electricity) or i can engage a web host at a fee. am i correct with the understanding so far? please advice, if you know more about this trade. have roughly 10 days to complete the project b4 her bday hahahha. Thanks. SK Bro, nowadays webhosting very cheap liao.. around 10 dollars a month you can get a decent host.. and it can be done within 24hrs + registering the domain and getting everything up. I recommend you get a local host as it is easier for you to get local support if needed. Some local hosting out there: http://clever.com.sg/ http://www.hostsg.com/ http://www.vodien.com/singapore-web-hosting.php you can find alot more if you search in google now here is the question, do you intend to create a website for her, or what do you expect her to do with the website? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear December 2, 2010 Share December 2, 2010 (edited) On 12/2/2010 at 6:31 AM, Ahdang said: Bro, nowadays webhosting very cheap liao.. around 10 dollars a month you can get a decent host.. and it can be done within 24hrs + registering the domain and getting everything up. I recommend you get a local host as it is easier for you to get local support if needed. Some local hosting out there: http://clever.com.sg/ http://www.hostsg.com/ http://www.vodien.com/singapore-web-hosting.php you can find alot more if you search in google now here is the question, do you intend to create a website for her, or what do you expect her to do with the website? erm i think a chanel bag will be more useful for her Edited December 2, 2010 by Ithunk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear December 2, 2010 Author Share December 2, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 6:31 AM, Ahdang said: Bro, nowadays webhosting very cheap liao.. around 10 dollars a month you can get a decent host.. and it can be done within 24hrs + registering the domain and getting everything up. I recommend you get a local host as it is easier for you to get local support if needed. Some local hosting out there: http://clever.com.sg/ http://www.hostsg.com/ http://www.vodien.com/singapore-web-hosting.php you can find alot more if you search in google now here is the question, do you intend to create a website for her, or what do you expect her to do with the website? thanks bro i will create ar kinda a blogspot will do the job but just want to do something extra gonna document our "journey" + build up to the big day next yr + house reno pics exciting hor... shall google more later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 2, 2010 Share December 2, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 7:22 AM, Sk65 said: thanks bro i will create ar kinda a blogspot will do the job but just want to do something extra gonna document our "journey" + build up to the big day next yr + house reno pics exciting hor... shall google more later. that IS what you should do and create as a present...... but she still wants the LV or chanel [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 2, 2010 Share December 2, 2010 if u got the knowlegde will no sweat if not is v hard.. i using arvixe,inside alot pre software to download etc and build site easily,from forum to blogs to shopping cart etc $4 usd a month but i google the coupon and disounted more..LOL local one also v easy to fun..but not sure what is offer linux usually is cheaper have fun,the sense of building ur site from beginning to end is very good espeically if u know nuts about it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear December 2, 2010 Author Share December 2, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 7:26 AM, Jman888 said: that IS what you should do and create as a present...... but she still wants the LV or chanel [laugh] if she dun have LV or chanel, then its my job to buy her one la but she's got few already one more is just adding into the collection hmm bro(s) dun discuss wat is a good bday gift la. OT already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear December 2, 2010 Author Share December 2, 2010 my knowledge = MFC + Excel + word + powerpoint i can enjoy sleepless night for the next 1 week liao la. thanks all for the advice so far. hahahha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged December 2, 2010 Share December 2, 2010 I dont think she would like this gift. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ongjoh Neutral Newbie December 2, 2010 Share December 2, 2010 hey try http://www.ebizwebhosting.com.sg quite cheap and they have a lot of tools to help u make a site quick Comes with free domain too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear December 2, 2010 Author Share December 2, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 8:46 AM, Ongjoh said: hey try http://www.ebizwebhosting.com.sg quite cheap and they have a lot of tools to help u make a site quick Comes with free domain too hmm your 1st post...... thanks anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear December 2, 2010 Author Share December 2, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 7:27 AM, Freestylers09 said: i using arvixe,inside alot pre software to download etc and build site easily,from forum to blogs to shopping cart etc quick question. is it better to buy the domain, or get it free when take up plans from hosting sites? say if i decided to not continue the plan next time, what happen to the domain? they take back? or legally still mine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 2, 2010 Share December 2, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 9:34 AM, Sk65 said: quick question. is it better to buy the domain, or get it free when take up plans from hosting sites? say if i decided to not continue the plan next time, what happen to the domain? they take back? or legally still mine? u dun own them, u only 'loan' from them if u not continuing next time,they will release it, FB bought it which belong to them only just name nia 200k hmm i buy together one,easier coz direct setup liaoz,clicking nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear December 2, 2010 Author Share December 2, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 9:52 AM, Freestylers09 said: u dun own them, u only 'loan' from them if u not continuing next time,they will release it, FB bought it which belong to them only just name nia 200k hmm i buy together one,easier coz direct setup liaoz,clicking nia yo bro, wat u mean ar ? a bit blur lia i am at the registration page, s--t miss the BLACK friday promo, 50% (i think so) but i can't seemed to see the place to buy the domain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdang Neutral Newbie December 5, 2010 Share December 5, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 7:26 AM, Jman888 said: that IS what you should do and create as a present...... but she still wants the LV or chanel [laugh] haha.. depending on what type of ger la.. some might be impressed by the website and be moved.. some think you are bo liao.. but one thing is the same.. all will like the LV bag Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdang Neutral Newbie December 5, 2010 Share December 5, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 6:33 AM, Ithunk said: erm i think a chanel bag will be more useful for her yes the power of branded bags Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdang Neutral Newbie December 5, 2010 Share December 5, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 7:22 AM, Sk65 said: thanks bro i will create ar kinda a blogspot will do the job but just want to do something extra gonna document our "journey" + build up to the big day next yr + house reno pics exciting hor... shall google more later. hmmm sounds interesting, you know what works for ur wife so good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdang Neutral Newbie December 5, 2010 Share December 5, 2010 On 12/2/2010 at 10:23 AM, Sk65 said: yo bro, wat u mean ar ? a bit blur lia i am at the registration page, s--t miss the BLACK friday promo, 50% (i think so) but i can't seemed to see the place to buy the domain when u "buy" a domain name, you are actually paying to use it for a certain period of time, normally 1 yr or 3 yrs. When the time is up, you will be asked to renew the domain, in which failure to do so will result the domain name to be free to be purchased by others again. Hope this is clear enough ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...