Should I Renew my COE When it Expires?

Crazecow

ote name="DennisWong" post="5169309" timestamp="1400212813"]

Yes, the PARF loss is around 7-8k (which I can use to trade in (offset), right?)

And yes, the CVT rebuild is about S$3k. (Is there a good/reliable workshop to do this?)

-> I've got this in another post....

Bro if u renew coe your PARF will be gone.. U can't trade-in/offset for the PQP hor.. Dun mix up..

If u buy a used or new car then yes, u can trade-in/offset that w the used or new car.

Wonder if it is better to renew for only 5 years assuming current PQP is 60k, than another 5 years on the 15th year in hope that PQP will be lower than? Or is there some other clauses I have overlooked? Please advise.

Other than the higher cost of maintenance, FC and road tax, the insurance premium will be higher as well. The insurance co's will find any reason to inflate their premiums. In this case, they will say that an old car is more prone to malfunction on the roads; which is partially true depending on the maintenance and conditions the car has/will be subjected to. Also loss of parf. I myself have been having sleepless nights thinking about the same questions.

Wonder if it is better to renew for only 5 years assuming current PQP is 60k, than another 5 years on the 15th year in hope that PQP will be lower than? Or is there some other clauses I have overlooked? Please advise.

once you renewed for 5 years, you can do it again, best to go for 10 years one shot since you will be getting the balance amount back if scrapping

Other than the higher cost of maintenance, FC and road tax, the insurance premium will be higher as well. The insurance co's will find any reason to inflate their premiums. In this case, they will say that an old car is more prone to malfunction on the roads; which is partially true depending on the maintenance and conditions the car has/will be subjected to. Also loss of parf. I myself have been having sleepless nights thinking about the same questions.

For insurance just do 3rd party only. Very few will insure as comprehensive. Your loss is capped by the residual Coe value. If you total loss the car on the second day of renewal, you only lose the parf. So why pay more for insurance when ultimately what they give you back is also the remainder Coe.

juddering CVT problem inherent to Jazz/Fit and the ES Civic

you will have to live with it throughout the entire lifespan of the car

no need to rebuild the transmission. just change start clutch. estimated cost is <1k at KAH motor

This is not start clutch problem.

Because, if it's start clutch, then the shuddering will occur only when I'm moving forward, from stationary position.

The problem that I have is when I'm moving both forward AND reverse.

This means it's the transmission/gearbox, not start clutch.

I've checked with KAH:

S$3800 to overhaul/repair. (warranty 1 year or 40000km, whichever comes first.)

S$8000 to replace NEW one.

Because, if it's start clutch, then the shuddering will occur only when I'm moving forward, from stationary position.

I've checked with KAH:

Forward or reverse will use start clutch

But well that's just my opinion. Go ahead to rebuild if you think necessary.

once you renewed for 5 years, you can do it again, best to go for 10 years one shot since you will be getting the balance amount back if scrapping

Thanks for the reply. But what if I renew for 5 years at PQP 60k now, I pay 30k. Assuming 5 yrs later the PQP drop to 20k, than I renew again for another 5 yrs but only pay 10k instead of 30k? So potentially, I will save 20k for the entire 10 yrs. Am I right to say?

if i'm not mistaken, after you renewed it for 5 years, the car must be scrapped at the end of the term. it's only renewable again if you opted for 10 years.

quoted from LTA

For 5-Year COE Renewal

1. Category C vehicles with 5-year COE that had expired before 25 Feb 2013, and Categories A, B and D vehicles:

The 5-year COE is non-renewable. You must deregister the vehicle upon the expiry of the 5-year COE.

Edited by Kevin613

If you renew COE for 5 years, once the 5 years is up you have to scrap the car.

The only way is you renew COE for 10 years then you can renew COE more than once.

hi, I hv a Kia Cerato Forte Jan 2010, I bought at price $52000 with Including COE $18502

I would like to know how much I can get back for COE rebate and PARF if I sell my car now.

my monthly installment is $544 for 10 yrs.

COE expired at 2020 Jan.

quoted from LTA

For 5-Year COE Renewal

1. Category C vehicles with 5-year COE that had expired before 25 Feb 2013, and Categories A, B and D vehicles:

The 5-year COE is non-renewable. You must deregister the vehicle upon the expiry of the 5-year COE.

This rule is only applicable for Cat C vehicles which is for commercial vehicles which owner can renew again for 2nd time for 5 more years.

Once paid a 5 year COE renewal for cars, that's it....you cannot renew it next round anymore.

The car need to be scrap at the end of the 5 yrs.

Edited by Keira

This rule is only applicable for Cat C vehicles which is for commercial vehicles.

Once paid a 5 year COE renewal for cars, that's it....you cannot renew it next round anymore.

The car need to be scrap at the end of the 5 yrs.

For 5-Year COE Renewal

I've checked with KAH:

All AD(s) will suggest total rebuild or full replacement.

Usually for rebuild(s), whatever the respective AD(s) quotes, u can get the same job done at 50-75% of the price outside. U may want to trawl some ws threads to have an idea of the black inn(s) to avoid.

All AD(s) will suggest total rebuild or full replacement.

Usually for rebuild(s), whatever the respective AD(s) quotes, u can get the same job done at 50-75% of the price outside. U may want to trawl some ws threads to have an idea of the black inn(s) to avoid.

Yup. I agree.

However, sometimes I feel that ADs give better assurance than some workshops.

Other than the black inns, I also get contradicting feedback/comments on some of the workshops. Kindda like heng sueh one.

You got any good gearbox/transmission workshops to recommend? :)

Thanks!

Edited by DennisWong

Yup. I agree.

However, sometimes I feel that ADs give better assurance than some workshops.

Other than the black inns, I also get contradicting feedback/comments on some of the workshops. Kindda like heng sueh one.

You got any good gearbox/transmission workshops to recommend? :)

Thanks!

I go to :

Accord Auto Services Pte Ltd

Address: 10 Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2A

#03-11 AMK Autopoint

S(568047) (map)

Phone: 64819518

Fax: 64819516

But as explained in another thread post, I go there with my bike shop acting as an intermediary. Hence, this car ws actually sends the invoice addressed to my bike shop to which I make payment to.

I really cannot give a testimony of their service/price as my bike shop negotiates for me. The story is too long for me to explain. Maybe if there are other bros here who walk in direct, they would be in a better position to advice.