Dice 3rd Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 guys, i'm having a question now so seeking some feedback. i would luv to change my ride now but wife doesnt wanna for practical reasons car is fully paid and it's a jap 1.5L car bought new in Sep 2005 and so far trade in price quoted is between 24K and 28K. from onemotoring webby some details of my car: OMV 12.9K QP paid 14K Minimum PARF 7K from a financial "payback" point of view would trading in or selling the car now give me back more money than scrapping it say on 7th year? sorry, first ride so this is all new to me so hoping for gurus to chip in your advices... cheerios! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 Cars are depreciating assets. If you have fully paid up, might as well sell it now then wait. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khrz Neutral Newbie November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 yeah but for the next car are you going to buy 1st hand or second hand? full cash? i guess your wife worry about the financial liability.. since now fully paid smelly smelly also can drive until the car die and get back few k which save the worries of monthly installment etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 why you wan to change your ride? drive it til full 10yrs old! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeyritztt 1st Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 Guess u hv to evaluate the current ride...if it's giving u problems that it really need to be replaced? If it's running well without any deteriorating concerns, then might as well keep driving it til its due. Plus point is u've paid it full, so not much of a hassle to service the loans (which is always good). Minus point is...major wear&tear will start creeping in once past the 5-6yr mark, so there's money to be spend.. so, it's all up to you really.. just my opinion to share :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 drive 10 yrs n scrap. Coe too high now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 from a financial "payback" point of view would trading in or selling the car now give me back more money than scrapping it say on 7th year? check your depreciation difference using my spreadsheet (link below), and take into consideration that COE price will probably keep on rising, so the longer u wait to get your new car, the higher it will cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 hmm.... any reasons to change? family?? or into sales or whatever that need to 'package' yourself better? debt free is better than loading yourself... car give u problem?? if not, just keep it lor.. who knows 5 yrs later... COE coming to 20k range... timing just nice... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 With the rising COE. Also quota will keep reducing, agian in march 2011, perhaps again in august 2011. COE may hit $100k. Best is to get a new car now. With reduced car quota, easily new car can become more expensive $10k or even $20k by april 2011!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Junjie 1st Gear November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 With the rising COE. Also quota will keep reducing, agian in march 2011, perhaps again in august 2011. COE may hit $100k. Best is to get a new car now. With reduced car quota, easily new car can become more expensive $10k or even $20k by april 2011!!!! COE hitting 100K??? You afraid that the world is not messy enough?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 COE hitting 100K??? You afraid that the world is not messy enough?? COE migth be hitting 100K due to the reduce COE quota. If COE quota didn't reduce, COE price wld not become so high! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 Bro,from my noob assessment from the value you provide. OMV 12.9K QP paid 14K Minimum PARF 7K lets say body - 6k QP - 7k ARF - left 10.5? actually dealer quoted you 24k,you'll really kena makan. But even they quote you more,you've to fork out additional at least 40k for say a vios?Unless you got cold hard cash,if not keep the car and drive till COE becomes cheaper.Now the COE is super expensive.Given the near 40k Cat A,every year you'll CONFIRM depreciate 4k just on paper alone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 With the rising COE. Also quota will keep reducing, agian in march 2011, perhaps again in august 2011. COE may hit $100k. Best is to get a new car now. With reduced car quota, easily new car can become more expensive $10k or even $20k by april 2011!!!! So, have change ur ride recently?.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 So, have change ur ride recently?.... Yeah he bought a Jazz and hope COE goes to 200k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 Bro,from my noob assessment from the value you provide. OMV 12.9K QP paid 14K Minimum PARF 7K lets say body - 6k QP - 7k ARF - left 10.5? actually dealer quoted you 24k,you'll really kena makan. But even they quote you more,you've to fork out additional at least 40k for say a vios?Unless you got cold hard cash,if not keep the car and drive till COE becomes cheaper.Now the COE is super expensive.Given the near 40k Cat A,every year you'll CONFIRM depreciate 4k just on paper alone. Actually if your car can make it until 10 yr mark, it is better to drive till then and change. Unles your car cannot make it lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 (edited) guys, i'm having a question now so seeking some feedback. i would luv to change my ride now but wife doesnt wanna for practical reasons car is fully paid and it's a jap 1.5L car bought new in Sep 2005 and so far trade in price quoted is between 24K and 28K. from onemotoring webby some details of my car: OMV 12.9K QP paid 14K Minimum PARF 7K from a financial "payback" point of view would trading in or selling the car now give me back more money than scrapping it say on 7th year? sorry, first ride so this is all new to me so hoping for gurus to chip in your advices... cheerios! I believe many other motorists are facing the same question. I believe there is a threshold where the resistance would arrest the support and COE would hang around there, occassionally dipping a little. As it is, if your existing car is still in order, you may want to keep it for its lower depreciation than new car (likley your car can last next 5 years if you have the CV joints serviced every 50,000 km, besides the regular servicing/maintenance). However, if you have any clue the car is going to be officially a lemon, trade-in for another car (new or used). A brother of mine traded-in his just last weekend (numerous mechanical and electrical issues with the car to entertain). Edited November 29, 2010 by Good-Carbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic3106 1st Gear November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 With the rising COE. Also quota will keep reducing, agian in march 2011, perhaps again in august 2011. COE may hit $100k. Best is to get a new car now. With reduced car quota, easily new car can become more expensive $10k or even $20k by april 2011!!!! I hope no one is stupid enough to repeat the $100K COE again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 COE will rise next year for sure as there's a drastic cut in quota. However, remember early last year during the downturn? My girlf's Cat-A COE was like SGD2,000+. Nothing lasts forever. I believe one day, COE price will fall but we we just dunno when. Just gotta make sure you have the cash ready when the time comes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...