JessOng88 Neutral Newbie November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) im consider relatively young to own a car. so among most of my friends only im driving. got my ride end last year. after i get my ride starting to feel different. when im out to meet my friends i must go fetch them from their house. i drive them there still must pay for parking (and of cause petrol) for example i stay in bishan, my friend ask me accompany her go buy things from tampines. so i must fetch my friend from her house and drive her to tampines and shop when i got no business to do there.. i might sound abit stingy but everything is money.. still must drive back to toa payoh after that.. once awhile nevermind but every time go out must drive them to the place and fetch them back. end of the day who is going to pay for my petrol? parking ? i work so hard for the money but they didnt appreciate me at all at least bother to treat me dinner or buy me movie to let me feel better.. any advise to counter them ? sometimes even more dulan, go their house to fetch them i still must wait for them to get ready instead of coming down straight when i reach.. wtf right! Edited November 27, 2010 by JessOng88 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 U r doing this as a form of investment. They are girls. Subconsciously u r still enjoying being used by them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JessOng88 Neutral Newbie November 27, 2010 Author Share November 27, 2010 U r doing this as a form of investment. They are girls. Subconsciously u r still enjoying being used by them excuse me im a lady too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 don't be taken advantage of. learn to say no when enough is enough. give rides only when it's convenient for you. you don't need friends that take you for granted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 U may have offered them in the first place and subsequently it'll be more and more difficult to deal with their demands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GSIdude Neutral Newbie November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Perhaps you should not have started this habit from the start. Be asservative, if your friends starts avoiding you, or go out with you only because of a sponsored ride home, they're probably not very good friends to begin with. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Those are not your real friends..learn to differentiate between real friends Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) Like you say, you and your friends are still young. Most likely, they are not as 'zhi dong'. Next time when meeting them tell them you taking public transport, if they ask where your car, just tell them you overspent on petrol and parking so don't want to drive and hope they get the hint lor. Alternatively, get a few numbers of the resident tiko peks in MCF.I m sure they willing pick and send them round sg especially if your gal frens are pretty, young and nubile. If your frens are guys, ask them F off..... Lol I used to be in the same predictment as you, I will tell them sorry I can't pick u or send you home cuz noton the way so you still want to go anot Edited November 27, 2010 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Tell them bu sun lu lahh.. Say u're not on the way or they're out of your way lor. Must be firm. If somebody wan me to fetch/send, i always make sure they're within my journey. I got friend who just sits into my car when i BEEPBEEP to open my doors, expecting me to send. LLST Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) You can afford to own a car means you are already a successful person. You should avoid those can't afford a car. Edited November 27, 2010 by Mrlau Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) I also started driving since I was poly year 2 just after I got my license. U wont get this problem if u just reject them if not convenient. I drive to school everyday but only fetch people if they are going to the same place as me or nearby. Now in NS I also do the same thing. Only fetch people if convenient. If dont feel like fetching I will just tell them directly that its not convenient or on the way. Edited November 27, 2010 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Treesmaker Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 I can relate to you. Just say you are not driving to Orchard Road, Tampines, wherever because of traffic jam, say were are not feeling well, there no parking spaces, etc. Suggest her to take a taxi then fetch you, lol. She will soon get the message. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMfreedom Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 i completely understand ur feeling cuz i also having the same situation here, sometime worst ask them to wait at the roadside cuz easier to pick up but when i reach there they are still not there yet ..... in the end have to go around the area another round or go below their house before they come down zz damn wasted alot of petrol and time :angry: . Going out need to fetch them and still have to send them back home , when going out until very late car have to park at top floor next day morning have to go climb the stair as my carpark got no lift.Petrol,carpark,food everything have to pay myself and sometime i wan to ask them fr some petrol money but feel very paiseh but they not automatic wan need to open mouth then give :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pelican 1st Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) initially when have car it feels nice to fetch people. i think next time, you directly say ask them go some mrt which is convenient for you to fetch them. Eg. if you stay in tpy, ask them come tpy mrt. when sending them home, unless it is super late, send them home as good faith to save their taxi fare, else send them somewhere convenient for you to drop by. my friends wont ask me to go their house to fetch them unless i offer to. most will ask me go somewhere convenient for me to fetch them. Edited November 27, 2010 by Pelican Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 excuse me im a lady too... how about guy friends? Can invest in them? what about investing in me? Wanna fetch me go shopping? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Point to the digital clock and tell them after the trip that this is the amount in dollars they have to pay. Remember to change to 24 hr clock format.. For me am also considerably young for a driver, but most of the time i'll be the one offering, if i feel like it and if not too inconvenient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Chio bo? Don't drive when go out with them, that's the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 So, from this lesson, you learn to see that some of your friends are materialistic. In the sense that, they don't feel ashame of asking you to pick them up even when you are not on the way. For one or two times is ok, just like waiting for them. But subsequently they are still doing this to you, seriously, are they really consider your friends? For me, if someone is to pick me up, I took the initiative to wait for them earlier. If the driving person is not on my way but I would want a ride, I'll be taking public transport to a location on the way to the person who pick me up. Anyway, next time, tell your friends to all meet at one location for you to pick them up, or all take public transport, that is fair for everybody and most of all, fair to yourself. Don't let people take you for granted. If they are your true friends, they won't take you for granted. Get what I mean? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...