A001 Neutral Newbie November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 I find sell it at true mileage is the best. Let the next owner know what to expect to change . Rather than false mileage. What happen if you are one of the victim? How would you feel? When timing belt snap? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Rule of thumb when buying used car is mileage is fake and changing of timing belt, gearbox oil and servicing is a must. So when I buy used car, mileage is no importance. Every yr old the car is, I take as 25k so 4 yrs old is 100k. I seriously dun think anything wrong with what TS is saying, if you all can tahan dealer do it then y not private seller to dealer? The most is private buyer an seller than should be no no but it still depends on the trust between 2 strangers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Wow, thats dangerous of you. Now imagine the person who has bought your car and missed all those important and major service and part change. Got difference meh of the buyer is buying from dealer? I think majority also tweak odo but I noticed there is more high mileage cars maybe there is less tweaking now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Anyone know where I can change my odometer reading? I thought of reduce from 100k km -> 50k km then sell it to a car dealer. That is what they always do. This will save them effort to adjust it and give me a better price. Win win. who? not everyone who is selling their car is same as you ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 who? not everyone who is selling their car is same as you ok. Why dun u tell us which dealer dun tweak odo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Why dun u tell us which dealer dun tweak odo? Actually some cars I saw posted on sgcarmart have reasonable amout of mileage according to the age of the car. But these are mostly 1year old car and below, so I think some of the dealers are just too lazy to tweak the odo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Actually some cars I saw posted on sgcarmart have reasonable amout of mileage according to the age of the car. But these are mostly 1year old car and below, so I think some of the dealers are just too lazy to tweak the odo. 1yr old how much can u tweak.... Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meengineer Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Dun do that. Is really illegal. Wat if the dealer found out, confront u for tampering the ODO? U will get into trouble with the relevant aurthority. Just sell as wat is the mileage now. $ not much diff. I just sold my 4 yrs car with mileage at 185000km. The dealer paid me reasonable. Really fully utilise the car. Let the dealer do it themselve. Trust me.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 who? not everyone who is selling their car is same as you ok. those dealers will usually check if car is serviced with authorized dealer, if AD got latest records, then they will not tweak cos they know buyers nowadays abit smarter already. if car is no longer with AD for quite some time, gaga TWEAK AH! no one will find out! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Why dun u tell us which dealer dun tweak odo? Just because we expected it, doesn't mean we should accept it openly. Since we don't like it, so why should encourage one more person to do it by telling where to do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) Just because we expected it, doesn't mean we should accept it openly. Since we don't like it, so why should encourage one more person to do it by telling where to do? erm... see nothing wrong does not necessarily mean accepting it not encougraging is ok but name calling and berating? unless this same people will dare say it to the dealer's face look at meengineer post's and your own post.... see the difference? Edited November 27, 2010 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samboy666 Neutral Newbie November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Change odo never change dealer price lah bro. Now dealer offer your years usage no more odo reading.... Don"t change your odo cause next buyer will know what to replace parts in future.., Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 The authorities really should crack down more on this practice, because it's tantamount to cheating. In other countries offenders can be jailed for tampering with the meter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Why dun u tell us which dealer dun tweak odo? i dont know which dealer/seller does/doesnt. but at least shouldnt lump all dealer/seller together and say everyone tweaks it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Dun do that. Is really illegal. Wat if the dealer found out, confront u for tampering the ODO? U will get into trouble with the relevant aurthority. Just sell as wat is the mileage now. $ not much diff. I just sold my 4 yrs car with mileage at 185000km. The dealer paid me reasonable. Really fully utilise the car. Let the dealer do it themselve. Trust me.... 185,000km for 4 years old car! You must be a frequent user of NSH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) Anyone know where I can change my odometer reading? I thought of reduce from 100k km -> 50k km then sell it to a car dealer. That is what they always do. This will save them effort to adjust it and give me a better price. Win win. First, was your ride serviced at AD ? If yes i am pretty sure AD have your exact mileage. Second, Boleh land ws can tweet your OD for a fee. Locally can be done as well. Is ILLEGAL ! Don't do it. What go around come around. Your next car ODO probably tweeted as well, unless u r getting a new car from AD. Edited November 27, 2010 by Kopites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 i dont know which dealer/seller does/doesnt. but at least shouldnt lump all dealer/seller together and say everyone tweaks it. it depends how y ou interpret the word 'they'... for me i will take it as most...... which is not entirely wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zuoom 1st Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 The authorities really should crack down more on this practice, because it's tantamount to cheating. In other countries offenders can be jailed for tampering with the meter. yes. that should be the way to curb the rampant practice occurring. most of the cars here clock relatively low mileage as it is already. why the need to resort to these sort of stuff? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...