Pelican 1st Gear November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 if you gently kiss the bumper in front, something like releasing brake slowly roll brake roll brake, and gently kiss the car bumper in front. Assume the following scenarios, 1) totally no scratch, no dent, no visible damage at all 2) very slight scratch 3) slight dent of maybe size of 50cents will the driver in front able to claim from you in any of the above scenario? eg. change bumper, re-spray bumper. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 YOU are liable as long as there is contact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alantyc Clutched November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 Yes. I did encounter a similar case last time of slow rolling & kissed the front... paint cracked niaz but still settled in pte. The car went to ws & ws said reverse sensor spoil summore! But wat to do... lan lan pay lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonsoir1 Neutral Newbie November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 if you gently kiss the bumper in front, something like releasing brake slowly roll brake roll brake, and gently kiss the car bumper in front. Assume the following scenarios, 1) totally no scratch, no dent, no visible damage at all 2) very slight scratch 3) slight dent of maybe size of 50cents will the driver in front able to claim from you in any of the above scenario? eg. change bumper, re-spray bumper. it all depends buddy, if there's the slightest hint of scratch? you will need to compensate la...rule of the game. Case in point. My bumper was rear ended by M'SIA motorbike last monday, from my rear view mirror? we were travelling around 20-30km/h.. anyway, they fell off, and my bumper cracked. they said no money, "you can craim frommy insulance".... what can i say?i just got it spray painted and fixed up today....my own cash....haha... But the morale of story is? u kiss? u usually pay and apologise lor, and perhaps owner will say pay $100-$200 if nothing major and no need to report to insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 (edited) to me if there is totally nothing no hint of damage, really no scratch. hit me, nothing crack no damage at ALL , i nothing close 1 eye, (normal i dun care one) if i hit someone and its so really nothing, i mean nothing, no prove he can take all the pic he want, i still say no prove no damage , go complaint, i tell my insurance this guy want claim me, dun think the insureance will let him claim. no prove of damage. call police let him be... unless he got video proof or anything, i will denied, human nature dun blame me. most pple will do same --- if got scratch depends on how extensive, i ganna one hit in front, a small bump, i settle 50 bucks, he okie, thank God! --- if dent , some bumper can go to shop reheat, and reform to original shape. at most i pay spray and redo back. rear person pay. Edited November 25, 2010 by Circuit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 (edited) if you gently kiss the bumper in front, something like releasing brake slowly roll brake roll brake, and gently kiss the car bumper in front. Assume the following scenarios, 1) totally no scratch, no dent, no visible damage at all 2) very slight scratch 3) slight dent of maybe size of 50cents will the driver in front able to claim from you in any of the above scenario? eg. change bumper, re-spray bumper. During the rain along Bukit Timah Road, a lady driver tapped the car brakes every few hundred metres. On the sixth occassion, she actually also stopped her car. I could felt my bumper touched hers. I got down for vehicles damage inspection. She drove off (not knowing what happened?). I got back into my car wet by the shower. On the second occassion, my car somehow inched downhill and touched the bumper of a Police patrol car. It went off like nothing happened?. So lucky X 2? Edited November 25, 2010 by Good-Carbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 to me if there is totally nothing no hint of damage, really no scratch. hit me, nothing crack no damage at ALL , i nothing close 1 eye, (normal i dun care one) if i hit someone and its so really nothing, i mean nothing, no prove he can take all the pic he want, i still say no prove no damage , go complaint, i tell my insurance this guy want claim me, dun think the insureance will let him claim. no prove of damage. call police let him be... unless he got video proof or anything, i will denied, human nature dun blame me. most pple will do same --- if got scratch depends on how extensive, i ganna one hit in front, a small bump, i settle 50 bucks, he okie, thank God! --- if dent , some bumper can go to shop reheat, and reform to original shape. at most i pay spray and redo back. rear person pay. I also thought the same way before that no prove no claim. Until I encountered this situation. I hit some one very lightly but totally no damage. So we stopped the cars and the other guy keep taking photos. I thought no damage so he cannot claim. But in the end the insurance company paid him cuz he got the workshop invoice got some bar inside the bumper damaged. End up he claimed more than $1000. Including respray of his bumper cuz he claimed that got hairline cracks in the bumper but cannot be seen in the photos cuz photos not clear enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 I also thought the same way before that no prove no claim. Until I encountered this situation. I hit some one very lightly but totally no damage. So we stopped the cars and the other guy keep taking photos. I thought no damage so he cannot claim. But in the end the insurance company paid him cuz he got the workshop invoice got some bar inside the bumper damaged. End up he claimed more than $1000. Including respray of his bumper cuz he claimed that got hairline cracks in the bumper but cannot be seen in the photos cuz photos not clear enough. very likely car owner strike $2 starter...and ws $2 starter prize....the bumper stay on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avant_stealth Clutched November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 Just now ard 7+ at PIE after BKE, toward Eng Neo got some car and motorbike like settling issues in the rain, haha..sway sia. As if minor accident not enuf, still muz endure rain! Serious note though, why issit some ppl can't fking give way to those ppl coming out from minor road into expressway? Cimbing up to SLE then nid wait so long cz no one let ppl on small road in so...i follow 1 car in front, go road shoulder and drive ahead. Then see opening signal and slowly move in. It was damn slow just now. But some ppl must go bumper to bumper... zzzzz idk why sometime i let ppl come into my land when they signal...hao ren may hao bao...So from BKE gg to PIE (toward eng neo), i let this mitsubishi come in front of me..very sudden cuz he din Q up. Next came a big cefiro and i was....errrr i alrdy let yr buddy go infront of me, nw let me pass can??? Noo...tt guy had to fight with me bumper to bumper behind the mitsubishi. ENd up he give up cuz i quickly cover up more area. wat these ppl thinking?? gib way to 1 car will die mehzzzz?? On the highway i alrdy gib way alot lot...much more than last time... sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 Just now ard 7+ at PIE after BKE, toward Eng Neo got some car and motorbike like settling issues in the rain, haha..sway sia. As if minor accident not enuf, still muz endure rain! Serious note though, why issit some ppl can't fking give way to those ppl coming out from minor road into expressway? Cimbing up to SLE then nid wait so long cz no one let ppl on small road in so...i follow 1 car in front, go road shoulder and drive ahead. Then see opening signal and slowly move in. It was damn slow just now. But some ppl must go bumper to bumper... zzzzz idk why sometime i let ppl come into my land when they signal...hao ren may hao bao...So from BKE gg to PIE (toward eng neo), i let this mitsubishi come in front of me..very sudden cuz he din Q up. Next came a big cefiro and i was....errrr i alrdy let yr buddy go infront of me, nw let me pass can??? Noo...tt guy had to fight with me bumper to bumper behind the mitsubishi. ENd up he give up cuz i quickly cover up more area. wat these ppl thinking?? gib way to 1 car will die mehzzzz?? On the highway i alrdy gib way alot lot...much more than last time... sigh some pple insist on their right of way....wat can we do ? lan lan loh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avant_stealth Clutched November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 which brings me to my thoughts that...nxt time if i buy my 1st car. It must be a 2nd hand or avg car. basket...wan challenge issit? okay lor, my car cheap cheap one...i repair at most few hundred, few thousand. YOURS will be much higher!!! and NCD etc etc will haunt you! lol, was thinking along these lines on my way back. If i buy expensive car ar...chances are that ill b scared that cheapskate driver langa my car la, pay $ nvm but troublesome lor. So in a way la, expensive cars got more to lose if they wan play bumper to bumper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 Was driving into Malacca after the NSH heavy rain and coming up to traffic lights and stopped. A Malaysian car pulled up behind me and we all felt our car jerk. I got out like wtf, fuming a bit. Walk to back of my car and there is a 200mm gap between both bumpers. Feeling a bit stupid I do all the actions like 'what's going on, can't you stop in time, how can you hit my car'. Inspect the bumper closely. Get back in the car quickly and drive off. The jerk must have been the automatic gear on my car after I'd stopped and had my foot brake on. [blush] i salute u for daring to get off your car in situation like this....... , u obviously don know dangers that lurks around u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nighthawkcity 1st Gear November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 i also kena.. kaoz.. claim me 1.8k in damages where i see no damage at all. in fact, i might not have touched his car lo.. insurance company just replied that its 100% my liability.. next time i know what to do alr if i wan to change rear bumper.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 There was once I sat on my bro car, he couldnt jam brake in time and hit an avante infront lightly. I was pretty sure there was contact, my dad just say dont do anything until the guy come out. Surprisingly the avante just drove off but no visible damage was seen from the inside of our car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 very normal....i saw a teksi knocked into a lau van van guy come out and see then went back in, then drive off telsi lau Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 i was thinking the same thing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 Was driving into Malacca after the NSH heavy rain and coming up to traffic lights and stopped. A Malaysian car pulled up behind me and we all felt our car jerk. I got out like wtf, fuming a bit. Walk to back of my car and there is a 200mm gap between both bumpers. Feeling a bit stupid I do all the actions like 'what's going on, can't you stop in time, how can you hit my car'. Inspect the bumper closely. Get back in the car quickly and drive off. The jerk must have been the automatic gear on my car after I'd stopped and had my foot brake on. [blush] Someone did told me he found it a little scary when he first drove automatic transmission. I never like it after a week-long practice with automatic transmission car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 There was once I sat on my bro car, he couldnt jam brake in time and hit an avante infront lightly. I was pretty sure there was contact, my dad just say dont do anything until the guy come out. Surprisingly the avante just drove off but no visible damage was seen from the inside of our car. Do not be surprised if that was original Beetle instead of Avante. He may get out and laugh at your crumpled car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...