Cerano 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 As you guys know the term netbook didnt come into popular usage till maybe 1-2yrs ago... however... I find it very weird when people term powerful but small laptops as "just" a netbook as netbook brings along connotations of small underpowered gadgets. I am especially puzzled when people term an Alienware M11x a netbook with its ULV I5 and I7 processors, 1GB GDDR5 Geforce GT 335M, 8gb ram? And to think people simply call it a "netbook" because it lacks an optical drive? I remember the earlier days before netbooks came into play and they had 11" thin laptops... they actually cost more than normal laptops with an optical drive and were correctly termed ultraportables. Now apparently to most laymen anything small is a netbook. What a dreadful term ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 (edited) As you guys know the term netbook didnt come into popular usage till maybe 1-2yrs ago... however... I find it very weird when people term powerful but small laptops as "just" a netbook as netbook brings along connotations of small underpowered gadgets. I am especially puzzled when people term an Alienware M11x a netbook with its ULV I5 and I7 processors, 1GB GDDR5 Geforce GT 335M, 8gb ram? And to think people simply call it a "netbook" because it lacks an optical drive? I remember the earlier days before netbooks came into play and they had 11" thin laptops... they actually cost more than normal laptops with an optical drive and were correctly termed ultraportables. Now apparently to most laymen anything small is a netbook. What a dreadful term huh?? you start this thread again huh?? anyway, you know why laptop now become notebook instead?? cause some bugger sue a laptop company when the laptop burn her lap. true story hor. BTW isnt M11 a gaming device?? who show no repect to it for calling it a netbook. Edited November 23, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 (edited) huh?? you start this thread again huh?? anyway, you know why laptop now become notebook instead?? cause some bugger sue a laptop company when the laptop burn her lap. true story hor. BTW isnt M11 a gaming device?? who show no repect to it for calling it a netbook. nice no la this thread is to ask people what they think makes a netbook a netbook. how underpowered must your laptop be to be less than a notebook this website lor all these internet trolls ah... i dont own an M11x but i respect it too for its sheer power http://forums.elementalgame.com/391637 Edited November 23, 2010 by Cerano Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 To me a Netbook is one that runs on Intel's ULV Atom processor, whether full Win7 OS or knockdown version, or full XP Pro OS. Even Sony's VAIO X series that runs on Intel Atom but with larger screen.... i still consider it as Netbook. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 To me a Netbook is one that runs on Intel's ULV Atom processor, whether full Win7 OS or knockdown version, or full XP Pro OS. Even Sony's VAIO X series that runs on Intel Atom but with larger screen.... i still consider it as Netbook. actually anything running on LVT process. i call it Net book liao. cause apart from surfing net. nothing much can be done on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 actually anything running on LVT process. i call it Net book liao. cause apart from surfing net. nothing much can be done on it. u still havnt explain to me what is LVT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 u still havnt explain to me what is LVT got lah. :angry: low voltage Processor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 got lah. :angry: low voltage Processor. chey say CULV or ULV la! anyway the I5,I7 here with throttlestop to unlock the fsb multiplier is very powerful. when max turbo + OC enough to outgun certain i5s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 A netbook is a portable device that let us surf the Internet on the move and NO MORE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 A netbook is a portable device that let us surf the Internet on the move and NO MORE. so in that case would an m11x be a netbook? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 Limited Visual Temptations? Low Voice Trembles? Landing Vehicle Tracked? Licensed Veterinary Technician? Land Value Taxation? Loud Voice Talking............... u still havnt explain to me what is LVT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 A net book by far, the termed coined, was for use only to surf the...NET, and nothing more, then again, it still runs as well as a regular notebook, minus some chromatics options, one can still use it for daily work, spreadsheets, mails etc.....have one which I have been using for 2 years now, comes in really handy when travelling with no need to lug a heavier equipment for the same purpose. i hope I've answered your question well...impertinent one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 A net book by far, the termed coined, was for use only to surf the...NET, and nothing more, then again, it still runs as well as a regular notebook, minus some chromatics options, one can still use it for daily work, spreadsheets, mails etc.....have one which I have been using for 2 years now, comes in really handy when travelling with no need to lug a heavier equipment for the same purpose. i hope I've answered your question well...impertinent one. think he just want us to afirm him lah. if not same question ask once every month meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 so in that case would an m11x be a netbook? It's a powerful notebook with small screen. But... it is still a Dell. Avoid if can. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 It's a powerful notebook with small screen. But... it is still a Dell. Avoid if can. but alienware is the only laptop that will allow X-fire Grahpic card leh... for gaming. No choice wor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 A net book by far, the termed coined, was for use only to surf the...NET, and nothing more, then again, it still runs as well as a regular notebook, minus some chromatics options, one can still use it for daily work, spreadsheets, mails etc.....have one which I have been using for 2 years now, comes in really handy when travelling with no need to lug a heavier equipment for the same purpose. i hope I've answered your question well...impertinent one. thank you oh wise one no wonder they say wise-ness comes with age Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 think he just want us to afirm him lah. if not same question ask once every month meh no la this one slightly modified ok! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 It's a powerful notebook with small screen. But... it is still a Dell. Avoid if can. icic ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...