Gnomish 2nd Gear November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 My left low beam light bulb blown, can advise how much to change (so that i would not be robert) and where to fix it on a weekend? I'm driving a create forte by the way. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 (edited) DIY bro. Just buy the bulb from a stockist and change yourself. Should be either H4 (double filament), HB4, HB3 or H7. Are the low or high beam separated or together? Edited November 20, 2010 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 My left low beam light bulb blown, can advise how much to change (so that i would not be robert) and where to fix it on a weekend? I'm driving a create forte by the way. Thanks. My right side low beam just blew last night. I went to spare part shop n bought a Philips Premium bulb, 30% brighter than normal, [H7] fr $10 this morning n changed it myself. Took abt 1 hr to change bulb n do e alignment so as not to blind cars in front. Mine need to remove e whole headlamp housing to change bulb. Just remember not to touch e glass part of e bulb or it wil blow very fast. U can get yr regular ws to change fr u. Maybe $10 labour charge but make sure he do e alignment otherwise u might not hv e lamp shining properly on e road or might blind vehicles in front f u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnomish 2nd Gear November 20, 2010 Author Share November 20, 2010 Thks for the replies... I thought of DIY but don't seem easy. Still need to do what alignment?!... Guess better let workshop do. Any workshop for this? Can change only 1 bulb? It should be a H7. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 Thks for the replies... I thought of DIY but don't seem easy. Still need to do what alignment?!... Guess better let workshop do. Any workshop for this? Can change only 1 bulb? It should be a H7. Bring to me,I help you do?It's very simple.Alignment just park in front of a wall.About 7 to 10m away from wall.The concentrate of the light shouldn't be more than 10cm on the wall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 (edited) Thks for the replies... I thought of DIY but don't seem easy. Still need to do what alignment?!... Guess better let workshop do. Any workshop for this? Can change only 1 bulb? It should be a H7. Check wh yr regular ws u do yr service. If u find e mech careful n do things slow n steady, u can ask him to change as ty sud b able to do without problem. Chech his charges 1st n what bulb he use. I prefer philips premium at $10 fr e H7 cos its 30% brighter, not too ex, can buy just 1 pc n its very long lasting. Or u buy e bulb yrself n ask yr mech to change only. Edited November 20, 2010 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnomish 2nd Gear November 20, 2010 Author Share November 20, 2010 So kind of you all. From the response it seems like most of the bros here change bulb on your own. .. I'm like a real noob... Goosh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 it is a learning experience. I ever had to change an entire lamp cluster myself too. But brake pads onwards errrr cannot. too much work and i don't want to risk anything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 I also buy the $10 Philips bulb and DIY took me 10 mins to take out and 20 mins to put back. You should try it too It is fun to DIY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 So kind of you all. From the response it seems like most of the bros here change bulb on your own. .. I'm like a real noob... Goosh. It's depends whether r u a DIY person. If u are not, just drive to any workshop and buy bulb from them and also ask them to change for u lor. Although changing bulb seems to be an easy task, but not everyone is so DIY lah, so no need to feel noob. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 So kind of you all. From the response it seems like most of the bros here change bulb on your own. .. I'm like a real noob... Goosh. We all need to start learning sometime. Take it slow n if not sure, do not anyhow do as it cud cause more problems later. Watch yr mech how he do n learn fm there. Some things might look simple but needs some skill n technique to b done well. When i bought my 1st car also quite lost on how to DIY stuff. That was many years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Intel Clutched November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 (edited) My left low beam light bulb blown, can advise how much to change (so that i would not be robert) and where to fix it on a weekend? I'm driving a create forte by the way. Thanks. Cerato Forte easy to change. No need take the headlight out. I help my friend change before. The left side got the battery so your hand must be nimble and slim. You will see afew cover behind your headlight. Go open the one that the bulb blow, turn anti clockwise, It will open. The bulb is just inside. plug out the connector, There is a locking wire holding the bulb. The rest will be easy. Take out bulb put in bulb. lock with the locking wire. connect back the connector. close the cover. Done. 10min job. Don need go workshop waste money. Edited November 21, 2010 by Intel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 My left low beam light bulb blown, can advise how much to change (so that i would not be robert) and where to fix it on a weekend? I'm driving a create forte by the way. Thanks. buy from powerbulb.com.. the price is good... somemore SGD is strong now... and start DIY... remember dont touch the bulb... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnomish 2nd Gear November 21, 2010 Author Share November 21, 2010 Cerato Forte easy to change. No need take the headlight out. I help my friend change before. The left side got the battery so your hand must be nimble and slim. You will see afew cover behind your headlight. Go open the one that the bulb blow, turn anti clockwise, It will open. The bulb is just inside. plug out the connector, There is a locking wire holding the bulb. The rest will be easy. Take out bulb put in bulb. lock with the locking wire. connect back the connector. close the cover. Done. 10min job. Don need go workshop waste money. I opened up the bonnet to take a look... Not easy leh. My fat hands has difficulty reaching in to open up the cover already cos of the battery. Guess i'll just have to let someone earn my money... Hah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 I opened up the bonnet to take a look... Not easy leh. My fat hands has difficulty reaching in to open up the cover already cos of the battery. Guess i'll just have to let someone earn my money... Hah Then maybe u need to remove lamp housing or shift battery. If u not confident, better to pay a few bucks to ws than to damage something n end up spending more $. When mech do, u watch n learn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 Bring to me,I help you do?It's very simple.Alignment just park in front of a wall.About 7 to 10m away from wall.The concentrate of the light shouldn't be more than 10cm on the wall. Easier to do the headlamps alignment at night in the dark Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 my stock osram bulbs are still working after almost 4 years !! during the 2nd year, change to a pair of $70 Nightbreakers and yup, they "breaked" down together abt 11 mths later. after that switched back to my stock and they are still working. i wud suggest that everyone keep a spare pair in your car just in case your headlights blow so you can change immediately. Its very very dangerous to drive at night without the lights as i have discovered when it happened to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 Easier to do the headlamps alignment at night in the dark I use e wall as a rough guide 1st n do a proper alignment on a dark n quiet road when got e chance. I also go abt 50 meters in front n look at e headlights to make sure ty dont irritate vehicles in front. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...