Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 my SE told me it comes with drawers below the front seats which can be found on the showroom units. i'm not too bothered by it (at least for now) as i've yet to figure out a use case for them and i thought they might even hinder any amp installation as i'm likely to spend a bit on ICE based on my past track record. Thanks for the advice, probably my SE misinformed me. So their sales leaflet is correct then. Woohoo!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 (edited) Both engine the same, twin charge. DSG 1.4. Sport version is tuned to 170bhp. how come huh?? oh.. i remember liao. 1.4 turbo charge is 122 BHP my bad. Edited November 22, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 When COE gone up to $60k, you will get "turan"... At first I also think so to console myself. But not likely lah. Due to VIRTUE of low OMV at 18k, total car cost is about 18k x 2.3 = 41.4k With current COE at 39k, total cost only 80.4k. (onemotoring basic car cost spreadsheet document uses this formula) With current pre-launch price of 99.8k, profit still = 9.4k! Definitely not selling at a loss, only making less to fight turf war. VW can still tahan till COE shoot up till 48k for cat A, then it will start to make loss for every Touran it sells. But I do not think next COE bidding will shoot up 10k unless some drastic announcement is made. But if COE really can shoot up to 60k in next 1 or 2 bidding, which is too farfetched to happen, it will be interesting to see if VW will absorb the average 10k it will loss per car it sell during the prelaunch, which will be about 180 to 200 cars. But alas, I should have heeded my wife advice to go showroom early in morning of first day pre-launch, then I will be a more happy man. The more I think about the difference I could make with a 30k topup to achieve same loan situation, the more I feel bad missing the deal. Next time must be more decisive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 yeah, with CEO so high. it will continue till nexy year. but seriously if Touran come out next year March. i will grap it. sure bo ur becoming NATO already so plan to upgrade from Jetta to touran? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 (edited) 28K version is using the TSI twin charge version i believe hence higher torque and BHP. Got control at the steering, got paddle shift. Thats all i know. in simple term, sport edition = 28K with supercharger and turbo charger normal edition = 18k onli turbo-charger is this what u try to say ? Edited November 22, 2010 by Sleepy-T Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 sure bo ur becoming NATO already so plan to upgrade from Jetta to touran? better than become chiongster and died right? this is call proper thinking process. I dont know leh. i am still thinking if i want to give birth to more children or not. if yes. have to go for touran liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 in simple term, sport edition = 28K with supercharger and turbo charger normal edition = 18k onli turbo-charger is this what u try to say ? i was wrong liao lah... Anyway basically what i mean is More power, plus steering on control and peddla shift, base on what i read so far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 i was wrong liao lah... Anyway basically what i mean is More power, plus steering on control and peddla shift, base on what i read so far. bro, for your info, you can add the leather steering with control for $1K, with paddle shift add another $500 :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 bro, for your info, you can add the leather steering with control for $1K, with paddle shift add another $500 :) what then what is the point of getting the sports one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 Can this seat 7 adults comfortably? In addition, driving for more than 5 years, reliable or not .. .seems that this 7 speed DSG got alot of issues ... .. now like quite tempted . .wah ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 Can this seat 7 adults comfortably? In addition, driving for more than 5 years, reliable or not .. .seems that this 7 speed DSG got alot of issues ... .. now like quite tempted . .wah ha 7 adults to sit comfortably, I guest has to be estima/alphard whatever. I've also read the 6 spd DSG is way more reliable than the 7spd DSG (which also has a torque limit so cannot tune too much). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronlee 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 bro, for your info, you can add the leather steering with control for $1K, with paddle shift add another $500 :) i really hope in the near future, i'm able to purchase the leather steering with control option with VW or outside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 what then what is the point of getting the sports one engine at 170bhp, led lights like audi, gps system + multi-cd changer, nicer trimmings (i think), cruise control, paddle shift, fog lights, amongst other things. Thats why i did not go for the sports version. I dun chiong so much nowadays, the 140bhp feels good enough after test drive, plus $2K add ons, good enough for me :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 i really hope in the near future, i'm able to purchase the leather steering with control option with VW or outside. bro, why not rent a car during CNY? and wait for later shipment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronlee 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 what then what is the point of getting the sports one for most people including myself, it's hard to justify the premium for the sports version. essentially, the additional $23k gives you: - 30 more bhp (0-100km/h at 8.5 sec compared to 9.5 sec for the base model) - folding tables on front seats backrest - factory fitted leather trim "Nappa" and door trim panels in leather appearance - cruise control system - leather covered 3-spoke multi-function steering wheel with paddle shift - leather covered hand brake lever handle, chrome hand brake lever button and gearshift knob in leather - "RNS 510" navigation system with 6.5 inch high resolution touch screen display integrated 30GB hard drive, audio CD (WMA and MP3), video DVD playback and SD memory card slot - heated front sports seats with lumbar support - Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronlee 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 engine at 170bhp, led lights like audi, gps system + multi-cd changer, nicer trimmings (i think), cruise control, paddle shift, fog lights, amongst other things. Thats why i did not go for the sports version. I dun chiong so much nowadays, the 140bhp feels good enough after test drive, plus $2K add ons, good enough for me :) bro, SE told me even the sports version does not come with the running LED. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 oic....does the external appearance look the same between the 2 models? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronlee 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 bro, why not rent a car during CNY? and wait for later shipment? i know. it's just me. i don't like to wait. moreover, there's always some uncertainty such as shipment delay, COE fluctuation etc. should the delay goes up to 4-5 months which is not unusual for VW, the rental charge will probably wipe out the early-bird savings. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...