Kopites Supersonic November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 Don't understand why this thread can drag so long. Regardless whether there is stopline, turn Left/right only when it is safe to do so !! Bang upon turing left/right implies is not safe for your to make the turn. Vehicles going straight always have the right of way regardless of the speed he is doing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 So sorry that happened to your car. What colour your car? Mine was same colour as newly paved road, so the other driver could had mistaken for part of the road (laugh) What color doesn't actually matter because it was on a hot afternoon and if he cannot see my vehicle, then he must have driven with his eyes closed While it's water under the bridge, it's an indelible experience. Have a nice day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Threesixhonda Neutral Newbie November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 thot he raised his arm and looked like he wanted to say sorry..... may be wrong. but am quite sure you will lose out cos you turning and he was going straight... no case for you bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 hi Doraemarc, thks for the reply. no injury to anyone. a police car appear within 3 mins and ask two questions. Anyone injure? Any damage to public property? Then we move off to a nearby carpark to settle liao and police just left. will reporting to my insurance and not claiming affect my ncd (mine currently 50%), the other party is p plate. juz inform ur insurance abt the matter. u wont wan a rude shock later on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 to be frank, there is no way u could haf missed the camry if u had did a FINAL check before turning. u checked left. checked right. fixed ur eyes on the pedestrains on the right and turned. inbetween these few seconds, anything can appear on ur left. i'm juz curious, how long haf u gotten u licence? no pun intend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 thot he raised his arm and looked like he wanted to say sorry..... may be wrong. but am quite sure you will lose out cos you turning and he was going straight... no case for you bro he raised his arm to signal "WTF" la. hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianake 2nd Gear January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Can I believe you are not testing/questioning my knowledge of the Highway Code? (I believe you are asking sincere question, as you may find refresher driving lessons including Highway Code, useful). In case of doubt, go to the carpark mentioned to see the stop line (most of them painted white) I am not testing your knowlege. I am just asking a question based in the video I saw . Did you see a stop line in the video? By the way, do you know the place where this accident happen? Oh by the way, TS also mentioned that there is no stop line at the location of the accident. Maybe you want to go to the exact location to double check . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 (edited) hi guys juz encounter a minor accident. need ur advice again. kindly view e video from my car recorder here: The story goes like this: I was driving out from my carpark. When i checked left there's no car. the video also showed there's no car approaching from left when i reach the junction. i proceed to turn out slowly as there's a car n some pedestarians on my right so naturally i focus more on my right (i cant be watching my left while doing right turn right?) and as u can see e car appear from my left n i cant stopped in time n bang into him. would like to ask does major/minor road rule applies within carpark? cos there's not stop line on my side to state dat i'm minor or he major. although at junction he's going straight while i turning right. but do take note he was not there yet when i was turning out. it ends up his car in front as i was slow n he's fast. (i was slow as there r pedestrians on right) damage: his car - rear right rim scratched, fender n door dent in. now he wanna claim 100% liability on my side and wanted me to pay for one set of rims as we going settle private. but i still think there's some point of contest as it could been avoid if he din insist 'his right of way' as he could hv slow down seeing me alr turn out from my road. thus wanna confirm whether minor/major rule applies in carparks so i can negotiate with him a fairer compensation. cos if repair cost bcoms too high i will go claim insurance. one new set of 19 inch rim cost easily $1k+!! going by video evidence, is there a possibility it will be 50-50? i know going insurance is lose-lose as it's not a big repair, but if he want me to pay for all four rims dun think it's fair. even my previous accident when pple bang me n scratched my rear right rim, insurance also nv compensate full set. btw i'm not trying to shirk any responsiblity here but i dun to juz pay blindly thus bros kindly give adivce pls. thanks bedok 85 market there ah... ehh.. i think u 100% at fault leh.. he gg straight, you turning.. A car hit me like you did also.. he admitted fault and paid me to privately settle. In this scenario, there are 2 possibilities: 1. As you are turning, his car front hit your side. Has more points to fight as you already more or less completed your turn and he didnt slow down. But can also say you turn out recklessly. 2. He already passed you and your front hit his side (which is the case now). He is gg straight, and you did not check and hit his car. So clearly was your fault. When you turn, arent you supposed to look left and right before proceeding? The same as crossing the road. You dont just check for cars on right on a 2 way traffic road right? oh.. and for the rims part, insurance companies will not pay for a full set. only the affected rims. So you should not be buying him one whole set. If he insist, go to insurance.. how i know? coz the car hit my rims. and ins coy only will pay for the affected rim. In the end, luckily i found a replacement.. if not.. sian liao. Edited January 4, 2011 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 to be frank, there is no way u could haf missed the camry if u had did a FINAL check before turning. u checked left. checked right. fixed ur eyes on the pedestrains on the right and turned. inbetween these few seconds, anything can appear on ur left. i'm juz curious, how long haf u gotten u licence? no pun intend. I usually check at least 3 times both left and right sides just to be sure before turning right into a major road at an uncontrolled junction. Never know what might hit you. I nearly killed a biker when I was driving out to see a doctor.. Damned tree blocked my view and I could only hear the sound of the bike.. heard it but not sure where the sound was from. So I proceeded to move out slowly and that was when I saw the bike fast approaching. Stomped on the brakes and stopped in time. Luckily the biker braked too, otherwise he would have died and I would have ended up in jail Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 I usually check at least 3 times both left and right sides just to be sure before turning right into a major road at an uncontrolled junction. Never know what might hit you. I nearly killed a biker when I was driving out to see a doctor.. Damned tree blocked my view and I could only hear the sound of the bike.. heard it but not sure where the sound was from. So I proceeded to move out slowly and that was when I saw the bike fast approaching. Stomped on the brakes and stopped in time. Luckily the biker braked too, otherwise he would have died and I would have ended up in jail Is it due to your A pillar? It happened a few times for me, the A pillar just block the entire incoming car from the other direction while I was doing a bend....It covered the whole of the other car for a good 5-10m. Very short short distance but enough to become an accident..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Tauyouteka Camry G. Think don't submit the video is better. Use mouth talk. Chances are that it's 50/50 depending on how you put it. Might lose out but confirm not 100%. Maybe 60/40 or 70/30 max. Got any witness? If not cook story up lor. Offer him a reasonable repair cost if want to settle privately. Of coz not new set of rims. Tell him take it or leave it, or next year both NCD affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Is it due to your A pillar? It happened a few times for me, the A pillar just block the entire incoming car from the other direction while I was doing a bend....It covered the whole of the other car for a good 5-10m. Very short short distance but enough to become an accident..... Ah.. thanks for reminding me.. so it's tree + A pillar.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Ah.. thanks for reminding me.. so it's tree + A pillar.. that's very true, especially A-pillars of MPVs. I have problems with A-pillars for my cars present and past. Always happen when turning to a pedestrian crossing, straight to zebra crossing, or turning out from small roads. Tend to block pedestrians and oncoming traffic. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...