Minor Accident. Advise Pls

Doraemarc

hi guys juz encounter a minor accident. need ur advice again. kindly view e video from my car recorder here:

The story goes like this:

I was driving out from my carpark. When i checked left there's no car. the video also showed there's no car approaching from left when i reach the junction. i proceed to turn out slowly as there's a car n some pedestarians on my right so naturally i focus more on my right (i cant be watching my left while doing right turn right?) and as u can see e car appear from my left n i cant stopped in time n bang into him.

would like to ask does major/minor road rule applies within carpark? cos there's not stop line on my side to state dat i'm minor or he major. although at junction he's going straight while i turning right. but do take note he was not there yet when i was turning out. it ends up his car in front as i was slow n he's fast. (i was slow as there r pedestrians on right)

damage: his car - rear right rim scratched, fender n door dent in.

now he wanna claim 100% liability on my side and wanted me to pay for one set of rims as we going settle private. but i still think there's some point of contest as it could been avoid if he din insist 'his right of way' as he could hv slow down seeing me alr turn out from my road. thus wanna confirm whether minor/major rule applies in carparks so i can negotiate with him a fairer compensation. cos if repair cost bcoms too high i will go claim insurance. one new set of 19 inch rim cost easily $1k+!! going by video evidence, is there a possibility it will be 50-50? i know going insurance is lose-lose as it's not a big repair, but if he want me to pay for all four rims dun think it's fair. even my previous accident when pple bang me n scratched my rear right rim, insurance also nv compensate full set.

btw i'm not trying to shirk any responsiblity here but i dun to juz pay blindly thus bros kindly give adivce pls. thanks

I suggest you see if there is anywhere that sells 1 replacement rim for his design - maybe ask him where he bought his set. Cannot be that you have to replace all, just as someone get bang on 1 door cannot ask the other person to replace all 4 doors. If you replace all 4 for him in the end, you have a right to take the original 4, then you can try and sell and get back some.

Generally travel in straight line has right of way.

Refer to your basic theory booklet. Or refer to the BOLA chart http://www.gia.org.sg/pdfs/Barometer%20of%...%20Jun%2008.pdf

Basically it's an uncontrolled junction with no stop lines. Sad to say I can't view the video from office. But most of the time, the vehicle going straight will have the right of way unless there are specific road markings indicating otherwise.

You are turning, he is going straight.

You never check before turning... 100% claim you

But to claim entire set of rims is abit overboard dont you think so?

he seems to drive quite fast. u should haf do a final check on ur left before turning.

for me, rim i will only pay him tat damaged one. and the rest of the damages. if he die die wants all 4, ask him to f--k spider.

best is ask him claim insurance sua.

Just wondering, if you dun accede to his requests and he tells you nvm, claim from ur insurance for injuries as well.

Would that be worth it ?

but is it really so straightforward that TS should bear 100% liability. Right of way doesn't mean that the driver with the right of way should be absolved from all responsibility. if a driver sees a car turning into his lane, shouldn't it be his responsibility to slow down as well (despite having right of way).

Just wondering, if you dun accede to his requests and he tells you nvm, claim from ur insurance for injuries as well.

Would that be worth it ?

then so be it lor. 19" rims are expensive leh. somemore dunno wat brand. u mean u wanna come out wif 3-4k cash for this type of accident? then buy insurance for wat?

but is it really so straightforward that TS should bear 100% liability. Right of way doesn't mean that the driver with the right of way should be absolved from all responsibility. if a driver sees a car turning into his lane, shouldn't it be his responsibility to slow down as well (despite having right of way).

Your sentences contradicts with one another.

You are turning, he is going straight.

You never check before turning... 100% claim you

i checked b4 turning. he's not there yet. it's juz dat there's more 'threats' on my right thus i focus more on my right while turning right. u cant possibly ask me still look left when i alr begin my right turn right?

u can see from my video, he's not there on my left when i reach e junction

Edited by Doraemarc

then so be it lor. 19" rims are expensive leh. somemore dunno wat brand. u mean u wanna come out wif 3-4k cash for this type of accident? then buy insurance for wat?

What i mean is if you find it unreasonable or not cost effective, then no choice have to let insurance payout.

Just be prepared that the other party might inflate claims.

If only everyone practiced courteous and defensive driving, we would not have accidents.

What i mean is if you find it unreasonable or not cost effective, then no choice have to let insurance payout.

haha pai seh. no wonder i see ur reply over and over and find it alittle weird. me english no gd lah! :D

dat's y i wanna verify from video evidence is there any chance of 50-50.. or even 70-30... as long insurance will penalised him as well, he might think twice abt it as i got nothing to lose in this way.

dun report insurance: pay him full set of rims, plus other repair cost in private, total bill easily $2k

report insurance: my excess is $500 only. next yr premium increase maybe by $2k? but i'm not losing my NCD as i dun hv any.

so diff only maybe few hundreds but i dun intend to let him 'lion open mouth' n claim full set from my pocket.

so if insurance finds it even 70-30, he will lose 30% of his NCD for next yr? plus his premium will increase also.

i'm not trying to play punk but quite obvious e other party not being very reasonable either so y shld i suffer after buying insurance?