MAZDA 6

Voxy28

Saw a one-star review in Sgcarmart for Mazda 6, due to the poor service at TEK. Wonder who this is, if true, pls post footage of TEK mishandling your car during servicing, driving really fast, going over humps without slowing down etc

I’m sure we all want to see it and will support you. TEK doesn’t deserve good publicity if they treat our cars like dirt during servicing

2010 car b in jan was 19k. End up in dec was 70k liao. That yr was the return of the high coe liao. Haiz.

I rem back in 2009 new camry was like 80 90k. Hehe. No way will we see such prices liao.

2009 March is best time to buy Car,COE is cheap,no CEV & above $20,000 OMV no extra Tax.

Hi Banz,

Your good friend happened to be chonghan ? Else at least 2 onwers of 5 yrs old A7 with same experience but it is again a performance car which is one's aspiration but not to be repeated perhaps .. lol !

Cheers.

Richard

Ehh you know Chong Han, the world is very small. I just had lunch with him on Tues for him to advise me on Audi ownership.

His advise is

1. Prepare a sum of money in case anything goes wrong

2. All Audi regardless of age or versions has problems, it's how much the owner is willing to fix the issue

3. Even for the MU version, it is considered less problematic amongst other Audis, but comparing against the Mazda, it is problematic 

4. Fun factor, Audi have much better drive

I've not owned a fun car, therefore it's still a contention between illogical / heart (Audi) and logical / brain decision (Mazda 6)

Ehh you know Chong Han, the world is very small. I just had lunch with him on Tues for him to advise me on Audi ownership.

His advise is

2. All Audi regardless of age or versions has problems, it's how much the owner is willing to fix the issue

3. Even for the MU version, it is considered less problematic amongst other Audis, but comparing against the Mazda, it is problematic 

I've not owned a fun car, therefore it's still a contention between illogical / heart (Audi) and logical / brain decision (Mazda 6)

Hi Banz,

Lol ... indeed a small wordd. 

Yes, forester fxt buddy before he gave it up cos of bad ride comfort and moved to A7 ... please send my best regards to him since I do not meet him anymore.

Go with the heart especially young and more u turns unlike me old man... experience it and you may get lucky ... we only live once and it is no big deal to lose a bit more $ (all lose one) but with bought experiences which living is for, right ??   Whether to do it again is a different topic though ... keke !!

Cheers,

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032

His advise is

Actually, do you really think Audi’s handling better than Mazda? My Mechanic said that Mazda drives better than Audi.

Of course, in terms of engine refinement, Audi wins without any doubt.

In terms of space, I notice that rear space is a bit tight for Audi models, but Mazda models are more spacious.

Actually, do you really think Audi’s handling better than Mazda? My Mechanic said that Mazda drives better than Audi.

In terms of space, I notice that rear space is a bit tight for Audi models, but Mazda models are more spacious.

One fine day, after driving my Mz 6 for 3 months, my colleague who drive a A4 pick me up for some meeting.

I was siting at the rear as there are a few of us.

Before boarding the car, my knee knock hardly on the car body.... :grin:  :grin:

Too used to the space that Mz6 given to us.

But one thing i notice, the body of the A4 is damn solid...  :a-good:  :a-good:

It depends...the Mz3 is very tight on space at the rear too. On the other hand, the A6 is very spacious, as big as the Mz6. 

One fine day, after driving my Mz 6 for 3 months, my colleague who drive a A4 pick me up for some meeting.

I was siting at the rear as there are a few of us.

Before boarding the car, my knee knock hardly on the car body.... :grin::grin:

Too used to the space that Mz6 given to us.

But one thing i notice, the body of the A4 is damn solid... :a-good::a-good:

Haha. Do you know knock hardly on the car seat in front?

Yeah when opening/closing door of Audi and Mazda, can feel the difference already.

Not sure if it is just me. Even A5 feels less spacious at the back than Mazda 6. Especially for the person sitting in the middle of the back row of Audi, it is highly unlikely for him or her to rest his own her feet on the centre of the transmission tunnel, but for Mazda 6, it is possible.

Actually, do you really think Audiâs handling better than Mazda? My Mechanic said that Mazda drives better than Audi.

Hi Redboy,

But the power and pick up of A4 is ichiban which makes it nice to drive and quiet too cos engine not stressed. Body a bit light at top speed though ...

Cannot compared ... different league and $ ... designed for autobahn and not Jap hway.

Just the thup thup sound of the conti suspension is something Jap cannot be compared to midrange conti.

Test of the pudding is that I will swap my to-be-collected mazda6 executive for any new A4 even with more assumingly reliable issue or I am the only idiot ... lol!

Cheers.

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032

Richard, you will swap out your Mazda 6 now for an A4? 

I'm leaning both ways on fun vs reliability. 

I have driven a KIA for nearly 10 years and reliability is top notch. It is surprisingly good except for the wear and tear being much faster than a Jap.

Going to an Audi, its like diving to the deep end of the pool.

Haha. Do you know knock hardly on the car seat in front?

Yeah when opening/closing door of Audi and Mazda, can feel the difference already.

Not sure if it is just me. Even A5 feels less spacious at the back than Mazda 6. Especially for the person sitting in the middle of the back row of Audi, it is highly unlikely for him or her to rest his own her feet on the centre of the transmission tunnel, but for Mazda 6, it is possible.

The body is definitely more solid than a Mz6.

From this incident , i concluded 2 things:

1. Audi body is solid. i can feel the sheer pain on my knee after the knocking... :a-bang:  :a-bang:

2.  Its hard for me to find a car, within the Mz6 price bracket, for the same size.

I start to take notice of all the rear car door frame whenever i sit in or test drive. Most of them don'tcome close to Mz6.

Another funny incident i encountered was i have a guest from HongKong and he is driving a CX-5 in HK.

When he came over, my colleague who drive a X-trail picked him up. 

He use the same strength that he used to close his own car on the X-trail and my colleague jumped on him!! :yuush:  :yuush:

He was asking him why you slam his car door....

Well we all know what is the reason though.... :grin:  :grin:

Edited by L23

Richard, you will swap out your Mazda 6 now for an A4?

I'm leaning both ways on fun vs reliability.

I have driven a KIA for nearly 10 years and reliability is top notch. It is surprisingly good except for the wear and tear being much faster than a Jap.

Going to an Audi, its like diving to the deep end of the pool.

Hi Banz,

In 0.000001 of a second ... different league and hence $ but I am a car person.

Cheers.

Richard

It depends...the Mz3 is very tight on space at the rear too. On the other hand, the A6 is very spacious, as big as the Mz6.

Hi Slayer,

Hence many who move to MPV or SUV will stay with at least SUV despite higher FC and/or no pick up as well as bigger $.

Hard to move back to condo/hdb after landed properties .. lol !

This is same for young families with kids needing child seat or old couples who cannot afford to damage their precious knees anymore ..keke !

Cheers.

Richard

Hi Slayer,

Hence many who move to MPV or SUV will stay with at least SUV despite higher FC and/or no pick up as well as bigger $.

Hard to move back to condo/hdb after landed properties .. lol !

This is same for young families with kids needing child seat or old couples who cannot afford to damage their precious knees anymore ..keke !

Cheers.

Richard

Hi Richard,

Haha... I changed from Odyssey (7 seater) to a Passat... Although MPV are very comfy but it drives like a boat and very slow.  I love to drive and we only need 6/7 seats occasionally.  There was a very impulsive decision to change to a sporty sedan when I visited the VW showroom.  The Mz6 Wagon was deliberated too but I felt that it was not powerful enough.  Agreed with my wife when there is a need for extra seats, the "extras" will take Grab, [laugh]

cheers...

Hi Richard,

Haha... I changed from Odyssey (7 seater) to a Passat... Although MPV are very comfy but it drives like a boat and very slow. I love to drive and we only need 6/7 seats occasionally. There was a very impulsive decision to change to a sporty sedan when I visited the VW showroom. The Mz6 Wagon was deliberated too but I felt that it was not powerful enough. Agreed with my wife when there is a need for extra seats, the "extras" will take Grab, [laugh].

cheers...

Hey Slayer,

Odyssey is not really an mpv per se .. more like a sedan that can sit 6-7 .. lol ! More seriously, I test drove it thrice before getting the estima aeras at 20k more vs 88k back then .. I could not accept center row passengers with aircon blower right at their faces.

Be careful on the extras who are family members or have enuff $ to book your old folk resort hor ... tgif !

Cheers and joke joke hor .. also my fault for not stating typical MPVs and SUVs .. keke !

Richard

PS: PM me to test drive my Oct 2017 fxt SUV with wrx sti limited seats and many chocolate bars, autofoam and modded suspension with at least 350nm 240 bhp ?

Edited by richard_crl032

Hey Slayer,

Odyssey is not really an mpv per se .. more like a sedan that can sit 6-7 .. lol ! More seriously, I test drove it thrice before getting the estima aeras at 20k more vs 88k back then .. I could not accept center row passengers with aircon blower right at their faces.

Be careful on the extras who are family members or have enuff $ to book your old folk resort hor ... tgif !

Cheers and joke joke hor .. also my fault for not stating typical MPVs and SUVs .. keke !

Richard

PS: PM me to test drive my Oct 2017 fxt SUV with wrx sti limited seats and many chocolate bars, autofoam and modded suspension with at least 350nm 240 bhp ?

The Odyssey that you test drove is not the same as mine which is the current model, full size MPV that is as big as the Estima.  It has captain seats and walk thru aisle to the third bench.  Really, I feel like a van driver [laugh]

Thanks for your offer... my current Passat also have 350nm torque which I don't think I really know how to maximise....

Anyway, I saw the new Mz6 a couple of weeks ago at the showroom.  Interior is quite nearly or on par with the A4...

Hello. Any Bros collecting their Mz 6 in the next couple of weeks? Heard from my SE that all shipment haywire cause of storms and natural disasters.