VellfireS 4th Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 Hi all, Have not been to Jakarta for quite sometimes. Most of the time, it was friends that bring me around. This time round wanted to DIY and don't want to disturb them. So where is the best area to stay (since I'm not driving)? in term of : 1. Ease of access to Shopping area . (Not too far between city center and airport). Heard there is a 7Floor slide in a Hotel or Shopping centre. 2. Night Market . (For street food) 3. Places of interest. (Intend to go Bogor to visit Taman Safari) . 4. Bandung (Wanted to give someone a surprise visit) . Thank you very much for your advice. Regards, I have stayed at this hotel called Ciputra hotel.. Just beside it is a shopping complex.. Wow. Room shiok ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 Ok only lah, not really fantastic, just my opinion, but some people like it lor becos it is spacious. But I like the sweet sour fish soup at a small restro call Raja Kapiting lor.,..inside got asam, pineapple, fish, salted vege, chilli.....yum yum Lols.. I bought some fake branded perfumes at Mangga Dua.. Lots of stalls selling them.. haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Afarty Clutched January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 oh u did ? hmm hows the clothes for females? is it very muslim/indonesian or suits singapore chinese oso ?? :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 I have stayed at this hotel called Ciputra hotel.. Just beside it is a shopping complex.. Wow. Room shiok oh ciputra hotel to me sucks man, room small probably havent reneovated yet as the room is old and breakfast is so so. one of my memorable stay is at Ritz carlton but of course before bombing incident hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 Makanan apa yang enak donk? nasi goreng donk LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear January 14, 2011 Share January 14, 2011 nasi goreng donk LOL And Baso too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 15, 2011 Author Share January 15, 2011 And Baso too Bak Mee Keriting too . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 15, 2011 Share January 15, 2011 Bak Mee Keriting too . Regards, oh goodness that was the BEST noodle i ever had in my whole life.... I know someone who will freeze it and bring back on monthly basis.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kilatz 1st Gear January 15, 2011 Share January 15, 2011 Which is best affordable hotel to stay in Jakarta? By affordable I mean less than 120 sgd a night...that's standard right? I have always loved staying at Sari Pan Pacific. But my family is in Jakarta so I have not much need for hotel stay. Just wondering what places do trabellers like to stay in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear January 15, 2011 Share January 15, 2011 Bak Mee Keriting too . Regards, Yao shiu lor, you all make my seliva dripping liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 15, 2011 Share January 15, 2011 Bak Mee Keriting too . Regards, SIUMAY JAKARTA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched January 15, 2011 Share January 15, 2011 If you know anyone working in the local companies there, can ask them to book for you at corporate rates. I got it last time at 80 bucks per night at pan pac. Which is best affordable hotel to stay in Jakarta? By affordable I mean less than 120 sgd a night...that's standard right? I have always loved staying at Sari Pan Pacific. But my family is in Jakarta so I have not much need for hotel stay. Just wondering what places do trabellers like to stay in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched January 15, 2011 Share January 15, 2011 Common food such as Bak Mie, Bakso, Sate, nasi/mee goreng, ikan bakar can be easily found in most places. The lesser known foods includes Pempek (from Palembang), Murtabak, Bakwan, Gudeg, sop buntu/sapi, bebek goreng etc. In fact, the chilli sauces there are better than the ones that you can find here and I used to bring back several bottles whenever I go back to Indo although now most can be found at belanja.com located at Lucky plaza. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 24, 2011 Author Share February 24, 2011 Which is best affordable hotel to stay in Jakarta? By affordable I mean less than 120 sgd a night...that's standard right? I have always loved staying at Sari Pan Pacific. But my family is in Jakarta so I have not much need for hotel stay. Just wondering what places do trabellers like to stay in. I'm going again in March . Make sure I stay in Bandung this time round. I wanted to go Bogor to visit the Safari too. For the kids, it will be the Kidszania . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antony Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 (edited) some of you have to try driving in jakarta itself, u can start cursing from the second u step into the car to the minute u step out of the car...the traffic is wayyyyy chaotic, worse n beyond any traffic jam in sg, sg traffic is so so much better even during traffic jam (it makes me wonder why there're so many complaints abt Sg traffic). but the petrol is cheap cheap only 65 cents (sgd) per litre but mind u its ron 88 Edited February 24, 2011 by Antony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 The traffic is indeed terrible even though lots of traffic police on the road. I'm now in the outskirt of Jakarta. It took me almost 2 hrs to reach my customer's place from the airport when I arrived while normally just take about 1 hr. My colleague here told me worst case he encountered is 5 hrs.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 The traffic is indeed terrible even though lots of traffic police on the road. I'm now in the outskirt of Jakarta. It took me almost 2 hrs to reach my customer's place from the airport when I arrived while normally just take about 1 hr. My colleague here told me worst case he encountered is 5 hrs.... Yeah bro.. The time I took was arounf the same.. 5 hours to get to Hayam Wuruk.. Haizzz... Because they were constructing a bridge or something.. I also backside itchy went to take a SilverBird taxi , a Toyota Vellfire.. Money also very well fired.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Yeah bro.. The time I took was arounf the same.. 5 hours to get to Hayam Wuruk.. Haizzz... Because they were constructing a bridge or something.. I also backside itchy went to take a SilverBird taxi , a Toyota Vellfire.. Money also very well fired.. last year when i went jakarta, took cab from airport to jakarta west very near, should be like 20 min if no jam but ended up1.5 hrs, the taxi xost 20 bucks, still cheaper than sg lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...