Indonesia: Going around in Jakarta

Kelpie

Alphard? The way they drive there, smaller car is more nimble to get around places than bigger cars. Unless talking about longer journey or highway.

Regards,

no la, just relax in the lounge chair behind ma.... its the silver bird of another company...

I always avoid Taman Anggerek Mall even though the mall is not bad... its the jam at almost all hours leading to that mall cum residential place. Waste a lot of time just queuing just to get into the car park. :angry:

I was supposed to go to Plaza Indonesia but ended up at Taman Anggerek [laugh] . The hotel staff told me Taman Anggerek (TA) is still better than Plaza Indonesia with Senayan being the best.

Anyway, wife did get something from TA as she didn't get what she wants in Bandung.

I observed that there seem to be many "private toll" run by commoners. They collect money when you intend to take shortcut via small roads or streets [laugh].

Regards,

Bro Kelpe!

haha so in Jakarta now huh? Sorry I didn't log on.

I told you that Bandung is great for shopping! :)

And am glad that I recommended Kidzania...now you know why I was pissed that the concept wasn't thought up of when we were growing up hahaha!

And yes malls in Mangga dua is not for walking around. Its like the old Queensway concept...but since your earlier posts were about staying at that location, then i thought that you don't mind.

Actually malls are around the same concept in Jakarta as in Singapore albeit slightly different main tenants.

My favorite mall is Pondok Indah Mall... they have the old and new mall across a road from each other and connected by 2 sky bridges. The old mall is great for eating places. The new mall has a more up-market feel but too lavish like pacific place. Currently there is an ice skating ring as part of a theme for xmas in the main thoroughfare of the new mall so you might want to bring your kids there for them to try skating in the middle of a busy mall.

Plaza Indonesia or locally known as PI Mall (pronounced as Pey-ee Mall) is ok. I sometimes go there to wander around. Its not too crowded and the mall is huge. There is a small kids playground on the 4th or 5th floor that is mainly rides.

If you go here, try the handmade noodles stall in the foodcourt at the 4th or 5th level. I'm so sory i cannot remember the stall name but its at a corner and you will see a number of people queuing up for it... the noodles are also made in public view so you might know the stall just by exploring the food court.

Also like a bro mentioned above, you can also go to Plaza Senayan...there is another new mall called Senci (short form for Senayan City) right across the road. This is not connected and you have to cross a road to get from one mall to the other but they have marshalls stopping vehicles to let you cross. Just follow the crowd. Both malls are ok with Plaza Senayan having two main tenants (Sogo and Metro) as the anchor so a lot of people go there.

There is also a kids playground in the 5th floor of Senayan City where there is a big trampoline that kids will love. haha.

I hope I have given you some more options to spending your time there.

Have an enjoyable trip bro.

I have this thought that the Indonesia has a flourishing retail scene. Many international retailers seem to reside in every big shopping centres here. Their spending power don't seem to coincide with their GDP or average income.

Novotel Mangga Dua is an ok hotel though I don't understand why they still charge a fee for the use of in-room internet. Service is good and the breakfast spread is very good for a 4 stars hotel. Unfortunately, the location is not for me and I will probably not go back again [cool] .

Good, I will visit Senayan, Pondok Indah mall and plaza indonesia the next time. Probably going back in March again.

Thank you very much for all the tips and information. Afterall, Jakarta is a nice place to shop, probably better than in Bangkok. Traffic wise, the 2 can fight with each other [laugh]. Just 1 hour or so flight only. Still better than shopping in Singapore, expensive (can only eat foodcourt food), huge crowd but minus the traffic.

May be I can consider a home in Jakarta [laugh].

Regards,

Dining is really good in Jakarta.

Sometimes, I am wondering, how could they afford the dining? The price is about the same in Singapore, or maybe 10% cheaper at most.

Perhaps, most are under company expenses.

The price actually vary widely. For about R28,000 you can eat a steak in a shopping centre. Or you may spend around the same to eat a bowl of atas Bakmie at kopi tiam.

I find them cheaper than in Singapore leh not just the 10% [laugh]?

I love these ASEAN cities...

Regards,

Pan Pacific hotel is within walking distance to Jalan Sabang, which is really packed at night for street food eg Pak Harry. There are also some other restaurants ard there as well such as bakmie.

If you want to go shopping, you can take Bluebird taksi (in indo writing) to Grand Indonesia or One Pacific Place.

Also, pick up some indo phrases if you are not fluent in it.

Traffic jams are getting worse, so be aware.

The locals that I've spoken with told me that the biggest issue in Jakarta is traffic jam and for Bandung the teething issue is the refuse. Thanks for the tip, will take note the next time I go.

I've tried a few types of taxi, from sliverbird, blackbird, bluebrid and other birds [laugh]. Taxi are cheap here. meter run from less than S$1 for normal cabs or S$1.60 for Benz.

Their English are getting better, in fact I hardly have to use Bahasa Indonesia. Most taxi drivers speak simple English.

Regards,

It's only Jakarta where the locals are keen to practise English with tourists . Once u are out of Jakarta , it will be near to impossible to find taxi drivers who can speak English. Even in Surabaya which is the 2nd biggest city in Indo ,

I hardly find any taxi driver who can speak English.

For those local places which I recommended on food will require u to speak bahasa when ordering food.

The locals that I've spoken with told me that the biggest issue in Jakarta is traffic jam and for Bandung the teething issue is the refuse. Thanks for the tip, will take note the next time I go.

I've tried a few types of taxi, from sliverbird, blackbird, bluebrid and other birds [laugh]. Taxi are cheap here. meter run from less than S$1 for normal cabs or S$1.60 for Benz.

Their English are getting better, in fact I hardly have to use Bahasa Indonesia. Most taxi drivers speak simple English.

Regards,

It's only Jakarta where the locals are keen to practise English with tourists . Once u are out of Jakarta , it will be near to impossible to find taxi drivers who can speak English. Even in Surabaya which is the 2nd biggest city in Indo ,

I hardly find any taxi driver who can speak English.

For those local places which I recommended on food will require u to speak bahasa when ordering food.

Makanan apa yang enak donk?

hihi, bumping this thread.. new member here ...

i'll be going jkt to just mall-hop.. and would like to know if Pondok Indah Mall is nearer to which malls below? how near is it?

senayan city

plaza senayan

OR

grand indonesia

plaza indonesia/FX

i have been to above 4 malls before...

we have no kids, just a couple visiting these few places ... any other malls worth recommendation?

thanks

Hi

Pondok Indah Mall is nearer to Senayan. But not within walking distance.

From Senayan, you can go to Plaza Indonesia using Jln Sudirman.

There is a new Mall near Pondok Indah Mall call Gandaria city....I may have get the spellin wrong.

Happy shopping. [:)]

Bangkok and Manila also got big nice mega mall to shop shop [:)]

I like kelapa gading, feel more like KL ...and more chinese there..

Double that.

Hehe :) The new Harris hotel is also nice too!

Within 3 malls Of Kelapa Gading. Well i stayed in the area as well.

Hi

Pondok Indah Mall is nearer to Senayan. But not within walking distance.

From Senayan, you can go to Plaza Indonesia using Jln Sudirman.

There is a new Mall near Pondok Indah Mall call Gandaria city....I may have get the spellin wrong.

Happy shopping. [:)]

Bangkok and Manila also got big nice mega mall to shop shop [:)]

hi ! so PI mall is nearer to senayan city compared to PI ...

cos i noe PI and senayan are quite far apart ...

hmm gandaria city got wat nice de :)

hi ! so PI mall is nearer to senayan city compared to PI ...

cos i noe PI and senayan are quite far apart ...

hmm gandaria city got wat nice de :)

It is just another New Magamall at south Jakarta.....something like Pluit Emporium but bigger.

icici ..... may i ask.. itc mangga dua is it a good place for singapore ladies to buy? machiam those BKK wholesale mall?

thanks

icici ..... may i ask.. itc mangga dua is it a good place for singapore ladies to buy? machiam those BKK wholesale mall?

thanks

Ok only lah, not really fantastic, just my opinion, but some people like it lor becos it is spacious.

But I like the sweet sour fish soup at a small restro call Raja Kapiting lor.,..inside got asam, pineapple, fish, salted vege, chilli.....yum yum

Ok only lah, not really fantastic, just my opinion, but some people like it lor becos it is spacious.

But I like the sweet sour fish soup at a small restro call Raja Kapiting lor.,..inside got asam, pineapple, fish, salted vege, chilli.....yum yum

\

oic ..... but thats the place to go for such clothing right in JKT? still thinking if should spend a sat in bandung, and even so, dunoe if its possible to walk around in bandung .. cos we rriving in jkt on sat, and leaving jkt on mon