Indonesia: Going around in Jakarta

Kelpie

Bro Kelpie>>>

Sorry for some repetitions... its some time back so i forgot what i have to you and what i havent hahaha [:p]

Anyway here's some answers...

The Peak is good... but its a bit expensive. Its more towards higher class dining but again its still cheaper than Singapore.

I think you have to try both The Valley and Kampung Daun because I do not know your style of dining. The valley is for view... Kampung Daun is for food. By the way, if you go to Rumah Stroberi, you will pass by Kampung Daun on your left first... stroberi is a few more kilometers up the road. There are some strawberries but they are not to be picked :) but there is a garden where you can take pics. The last time I was there they were renovating to make the place bigger but its crowded on weekends especially. Its more of a dessert place, not only for strawberry.

Sorry about Cimory but I just adore that place... dunno why. Just my taste maybe ^_^

Hawker fare? Hmmm... for those who are not used to it, don't risk spoiling ur holiday. My stomach has adapted and converted to all Indo food so i have no problem. However, secretly, i think the hawker fare on the streets are usually better than restaurants hahaha!

For seafood, I think you must try Raja Rasa because the seafood is good. D'cost seafood is more cheap fare as their tagline is 5 star seafood at street prices. It does get crowded. D'cost can be found in Jakarta though so you can get to another branch if you miss the one in Bandung. I would recommend the outlet in this area called Kemang in Jakarta because the place is bigger with more space to move.

Leather jacket (especially for those who take bikes) are cheap and good. Do bargain though. I was told it can be completed overnight. I don't take bikes so I have no need for this but its just interesting to let you know in case you need the info. Get your SUPIR to bargain for you then [:p]

As for supir, you have engaged them before right? In my early days in Jakarta when I have to use their service, I have learned that treating the driver well gets you places. If you are lunching or having dinner, they have to be included too. If you don't mind, you can ask them to join your family. If not, I usually give them 35k rupiah or more (standard rate is 20k) for them to eat on their own. Most of the time it works for me because they will go out of their way to help get things i need or to recommend good places to go. However do use your instinct as drivers are humans too and some "no good" ones will fleece you esp if they think they can makan you :) Do be aware.

Rumah sosis has many kind of sausages bro... even HALAL bradwurst (german pork sausage)haha! (its Indonesia... what do you expect?)

I am not aware of any malls in the MTA (Mall Taman Anggerek) area as i stay in South Jakarta and its quite a hassle to get to MTA. So you will not find me at that area. Sorry about that bro.

Yes Grogol is in the wider Chinatown area... more like cheap places to buy stuffs. I was scouting a place for my MHA's clinic when i took a wrong turn and ended up there. It was a Sunday so not many cars and many people are on foot but I think its going to be packed on weekdays. Again, I am not able to give feedback on this place as I have not explored it yet. Do let me know if you have.

Ok... so far that's all i can answer at this late hour. Do let me know if you need any more info.

Bro Kelpie>>>

The Peak is good... but its a bit expensive. Its more towards higher class dining but again its still cheaper than Singapore.

I think you have to try both The Valley and Kampung Daun because I do not know your style of dining. The valley is for view... Kampung Daun is for food. By the way, if you go to Rumah Stroberi, you will pass by Kampung Daun on your left first... stroberi is a few more kilometers up the road. There are some strawberries but they are not to be picked :) but there is a garden where you can take pics. The last time I was there they were renovating to make the place bigger but its crowded on weekends especially. Its more of a dessert place, not only for strawberry.

Sorry about Cimory but I just adore that place... dunno why. Just my taste maybe ^_^

Hawker fare? Hmmm... for those who are not used to it, don't risk spoiling ur holiday. My stomach has adapted and converted to all Indo food so i have no problem. However, secretly, i think the hawker fare on the streets are usually better than restaurants hahaha!

For seafood, I think you must try Raja Rasa because the seafood is good. D'cost seafood is more cheap fare as their tagline is 5 star seafood at street prices. It does get crowded. D'cost can be found in Jakarta though so you can get to another branch if you miss the one in Bandung. I would recommend the outlet in this area called Kemang in Jakarta because the place is bigger with more space to move.

I have more or less make up my mind to go to Kampung Daun. I'm wondering when would be a better time to go, lunch or dinner. According to web review, it was mentioned that dinner is very romantic. As for me, I wonder what can I see in a a "forested" place at night? [laugh]. So I'm of the thought of doing lunch there. What do you think?

Just thinking aloud, if I happen to do lunch at Daun, I can later proceed to Rumah Stroberri for dessert.

Yes, if go to The Peak or The valley is probably for the view not so much for the food. According to most reviews that I have read, the comment on food is mostly so-so and overpriced.

Yap, I will also be visiting Raja Rasa for the seafood! [thumbsup]

Leather jacket (especially for those who take bikes) are cheap and good. Do bargain though. I was told it can be completed overnight. I don't take bikes so I have no need for this but its just interesting to let you know in case you need the info. Get your SUPIR to bargain for you then [:p]

I have one at home but seldom wear it...thought not suited to my kind of age [blush]. Perhaps, my children may want to give it a try. I'm bringing my maid along, so I will leave the talking to her for this trip.

As for supir, you have engaged them before right? In my early days in Jakarta when I have to use their service, I have learned that treating the driver well gets you places. If you are lunching or having dinner, they have to be included too. If you don't mind, you can ask them to join your family. If not, I usually give them 35k rupiah or more (standard rate is 20k) for them to eat on their own. Most of the time it works for me because they will go out of their way to help get things i need or to recommend good places to go. However do use your instinct as drivers are humans too and some "no good" ones will fleece you esp if they think they can makan you :) Do be aware.

The recent trip, I hired the golden bird service, very expensive and I realized that I could pay half of it with another company. Someone recommended zafira and I'll be using them this time. It is 650k versus Golden bird of almost 1,200k. I tipped the driver 120K and covered his meal but he didn't seem happy. When I checked around, the standard rate is only 50K for tip.

My maid didn't join me the last time so I hope she can help with the "admin" while we are there this round.

Rumah sosis has many kind of sausages bro... even HALAL bradwurst (german pork sausage)haha! (its Indonesia... what do you expect?)

Wah..sensitive topic. Anyway, I realized that Rumah Sosis is not just about food, it is also a mini theme park too.

I am not aware of any malls in the MTA (Mall Taman Anggerek) area as i stay in South Jakarta and its quite a hassle to get to MTA. So you will not find me at that area. Sorry about that bro.

Yes Grogol is in the wider Chinatown area... more like cheap places to buy stuffs. I was scouting a place for my MHA's clinic when i took a wrong turn and ended up there. It was a Sunday so not many cars and many people are on foot but I think its going to be packed on weekdays. Again, I am not able to give feedback on this place as I have not explored it yet. Do let me know if you have.

Ok... so far that's all i can answer at this late hour. Do let me know if you need any more info.

I might have visited Grogol in the past, friends would bring me around. I remember drinking some "green" dessert at that place. Can't remember the name though.

Thank you very much for being so helpful. Don't worry I will check with you should I have further doubts.

Thank you once again.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

Hi there,

Ok, have PMed you.

By the way, just curious, how is the property market there? Just thinking aloud, how much is a decent place cost in Bandung? Can be foreigner owned?

Thank you.

Regards,

Hi there,

Ok, have PMed you.

By the way, just curious, how is the property market there? Just thinking aloud, how much is a decent place cost in Bandung? Can be foreigner owned?

Thank you.

Regards,

Wah bro that i have no idea :)

But houses in Jakarta is generally half or less than the cost of houses here... and there it usually comes with the land that the house sits in :)

I always drive myself around in Jakarta...using my FIL car. Got used to the traffic.

If you are new, get a driver. You can cry just trying to find your way.

Heard troublesome if you get into an accident. You very brave. [thumbsup]

My FIL owns a bus garage so can tumpang if any problem haha! *touch wood*

I just got used to the way of driving over there [laugh]

Just came back from my 1 week visit to Bandung, Puncak and Jakarta. I suppose if not for the KidZania, I would have skipped Jakarta altogether and spend all my days in Bandung.

Traffic is crazy in Jakarta and I doubt I would enjoy driving there. Unlike Singapore, the whole place is filled with MPV, particularly the LMPV (mostly sub 1.6L). Sedan are usually the Taxi.

Anyway, I find that I like Grand Indonesia mall in Jakarta the most, though I've yet to visit PIM. IMHO, Grand Indonesia is unique as it has a mini world food street at the top floor and an in-door musical Fountain. There is also an indoor, mini theme park for the kids. FX mall is a complete let down. I didn't know have to pay IDR100K per person for that 7 secs thrill at the Atmostfear.

For makan, I've dined at Kampung Daun(which is my favourite. Very nice dining atmosphere.), The Valley (Nice mountain top view but expensive) & Raja Rasa (The seafood restaurants. Singapore seafood is still the best, especially crab, IMHO). Bought some nice Brownies from Kartika Sari. The place is so popular and crowded. kue Lapis sold out when I was there in the early afternnon! and was told must give advance order or else sure no chance to buy one.

Thinking of going to Bandung in 2~3 months time again [laugh].

Regards,

Foreigners cannot own land, so ownership of apartments is ok but not those landed homes.

Hi there,

Ok, have PMed you.

Thank you.

Regards,

Foreigners cannot own land, so ownership of apartments is ok but not those landed homes.

OIC. Thank you for the info.

So still can own properties but not landed houses lah.

Regards,

Guess what, I'm going Bandung again...my 4th trip there. Not that I enjoy flying but find Bandung is my kind of tea. Leisurely pace, good shopping, nice food and I just love Avocado juice. I had it for almost every single meals [laugh].

Too bad I can't be there for too long as I still need to look after my kids and wife needs to work. Wife asked me whether want to go Bangkok for weekend shopping, I told her I still prefer Bandung :wub:.

Regards,

post-67946-1301569539_thumb.jpgpost-67946-1301569572_thumb.jpgpost-67946-1301569606_thumb.jpg

Guess what, I'm going Bandung again...my 4th trip there. Not that I enjoy flying but find Bandung is my kind of tea. Leisurely pace, good shopping, nice food and I just love Avocado juice. I had it for almost every single meals [laugh].

Too bad I can't be there for too long as I still need to look after my kids and wife needs to work. Wife asked me whether want to go Bangkok for weekend shopping, I told her I still prefer Bandung :wub:.

Regards,

Bro... you are crazy! hahahaha! [:p]

Anyway I just came back from Jakarta and Bandung around 2 days back so we are of the same breed. During my stay the weather is cool and rainy so its quite chilly in The Valley where i stayed.

You like jus apulkat is it? I like the normal watermelon juice instead.

So where are you planning to stay this time round. I stayed in the valley and paid around 90 sgd a night. I include some pic also...but a bit blurry because its from my blackberry on lowlight conditions...

By the way this time I drove my friend's diesel Fortuner there!

i also like avocado juice, the chocolate is nice

Chocolate meh? I thought it is the brown sugar syrup leh.

Regards,

Bro... you are crazy! hahahaha! [:p]

Anyway I just came back from Jakarta and Bandung around 2 days back so we are of the same breed. During my stay the weather is cool and rainy so its quite chilly in The Valley where i stayed.

You like jus apulkat is it? I like the normal watermelon juice instead.

So where are you planning to stay this time round. I stayed in the valley and paid around 90 sgd a night. I include some pic also...but a bit blurry because its from my blackberry on lowlight conditions...

By the way this time I drove my friend's diesel Fortuner there!

I'm going again next week [laugh]. APulkat is the best lah! I bought some home in my last trip...this trip I plan to buy a carton box back home. Avocado is damn expensive in Singapore.

You sure you can get S$90 for the Valley? Tell me more, where did you book it from? I'm almost about to book the Banana Inn. The Valley's food is not cheap by local standard, one salmon steak platter is IDR147K excluding taxes and drink.

http://i1206.photobucket.com/albums/bb446/...atTheValley.jpg

Regards,

And am glad that I recommended Kidzania...now you know why I was pissed that the concept wasn't thought up of when we were growing up hahaha!

Hey, you know what? They are building the Kidzania in KL and supposedly to be ready by the end of this year. The venue is at The Curve, KL. Good new for those who have kids at home. Don't have to travel too far away to enjoy it.

Heard, they are already mounting the AirAsia Plane head...

Regards,

I'm going again next week [laugh]. APulkat is the best lah! I bought some home in my last trip...this trip I plan to buy a carton box back home. Avocado is damn expensive in Singapore.

You sure you can get S$90 for the Valley? Tell me more, where did you book it from? I'm almost about to book the Banana Inn. The Valley's food is not cheap by local standard, one salmon steak platter is IDR147K excluding taxes and drink.

http://i1206.photobucket.com/albums/bb446/...atTheValley.jpg

Regards,

Hi bro...

yup i got a room at the valley for 600k all in. That is less than 90 bucks. I stayed on Sunday and checked out on monday... its peaceful because i beat the weekend jam and prices. Weekdays are usually cheaper. Oh and another reason is maybe because my MHA is Indonesian so get local price maybe? haha!

I remembered we called the hotel the day before we depart for bandung and they say that many rooms are still available on weekdays. Maybe you can try a weekday stay and see the difference in prices.

I didn't eat at the steakhouse... i climbed up the road and went to the Jap restaurant (actually part of the valley) and ate the all you can eat buffet. Much cheaper at 250 nett for 2 persons. You will pass by the restaurant on your left on your way down the slope to the reception lobby.

You have my email...so just send me an email if you need a fast reply ok.