Wind30 Turbocharged November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1093850/1/.html I thought that is really bad. I mean if the residents of a condo votes to not install opennet, why not? Why should IDA shove it down everyone's throat? If 90% of the residents have no need for it, why should they fork out the money to have fiber cable run into their development? I think it is a screwed up by IDA. IDA think that if they provide FREE but EXPOSED cabling, the majority will take up the offer, thus they tendered and budgeted for such. Which is stupid. Now 90% of the condos refused to do it as exposed trunking is butt ugly and hacking/concealment costs are high. So what does IDA do? They just shove it down the condos throat and ask the residents to pay for all the hacking costs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 (edited) IDA also has their own agenda to push eg xx% of homes in Singapore connected via high speed fibre at 20xx. Like that can be bragging rights to potential foreign investors which might require high speed access to their home based customers. Then also maybe next time all TV programs will go through high speed fibre and can therefore free up the broadcast frequency, allowing it to be reharvested for other uses. Actually it's good to be wired up because if you intend to sell the property later on, maybe can boost that high speed connection is available? Though won't increase selling price by 4 digit. Anyway, those trunking are not that big. Once painted over (unless sway sway yours is wallpapered), will blend in with the wall and after 2 months, you won't even notice it. My estate won't be wired till late 2012, not that I require that high speed. Edited November 18, 2010 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 On 11/18/2010 at 5:33 AM, Wind30 said: I think it is a screwed up by IDA. IDA think that if they provide FREE but EXPOSED cabling, the majority will take up the offer, thus they tendered and budgeted for such. Which is stupid. So what does IDA do? They just shove it down the condos throat and ask the residents to pay for all the hacking costs. At the end of the day ... good deicision or bad.... the leader is always responsible ... The buck stops here : Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 As far as i know from what i read, spore is one of the slowest internet speed in the world but also one of the most ex, hence they need to do something abt it. Fibre optic this kind of internet connection, other countries already in use for very long time, spore only now den start, hence bo bian, they need to force everyone to install so that they can catch up with the rest Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 my friends in hk can D movies in few mins.. it's proven 1 of slowest in developed countries like 3G,we lagged behind quite long,coz last time i did some surveys door to doors on 3G usage reponse b4 launch here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 mine was hidden beneath the floor leh... and they gonna run another trunking from door to living room?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Complexkid 1st Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 Totally agree! Don't force it without residents consent! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 IDA can force MCST but they cannot force individual owner right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 On 11/18/2010 at 5:33 AM, Wind30 said: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1093850/1/.html I thought that is really bad. I mean if the residents of a condo votes to not install opennet, why not? Why should IDA shove it down everyone's throat? If 90% of the residents have no need for it, why should they fork out the money to have fiber cable run into their development? I think it is a screwed up by IDA. IDA think that if they provide FREE but EXPOSED cabling, the majority will take up the offer, thus they tendered and budgeted for such. Which is stupid. Now 90% of the condos refused to do it as exposed trunking is butt ugly and hacking/concealment costs are high. So what does IDA do? They just shove it down the condos throat and ask the residents to pay for all the hacking costs. I think IDA just want the building to have the infrastructure, probably a main panel to be located inside the condo, individual owners can then choose to install or not install it onto their homes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 Everyone talk like things are absolute. The reality is that residents are mainly for it but not 100%, that's why problem arose. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 the trunking so unsightly..if not concealed then it really makes the condos ugly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 Can the superbroadband fiber just go to the clubhouse or guardhouse? Then management just buy one super duper wireless router to service all the residents. One account for all residents! cheap cheap! I mean the super fast download speed can best be shared, if individual subscribed to the high speed broadband it will be wasteful. Unless you download bittorent or watch movie 24/7, else most will only use 0.1% of the broadband speed to surf and read facebook or farmville. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged November 18, 2010 Author Share November 18, 2010 On 11/18/2010 at 7:32 AM, Rainman said: I think IDA just want the building to have the infrastructure, probably a main panel to be located inside the condo, individual owners can then choose to install or not install it onto their homes. no, I think IDA wants it routed to EVERY FLOOR. cannot be just A MAIN panel lah. If a resident live in 20th floor wants the fiber, he is supposed to route from main panel up to 20th floor meh? So all these EXTENSIVE hacking and concealment woke is a lot of money leh. IDA just wants the residents to pay for it so they can hit their milestones and report back to minister. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged November 18, 2010 Author Share November 18, 2010 (edited) On 11/18/2010 at 7:43 AM, Alechi said: Everyone talk like things are absolute. The reality is that residents are mainly for it but not 100%, that's why problem arose. How you know they are for it? 9 out of 10 condos rejected it. It all depends on the costs right? I think the costs must be very high and that is why 9 out of 10 rejected. If cost $10 who will reject? IDA really screwed up. They should have bargained for concealed routing and they will get a better cost than individual condos as it is a nationwide project, economies of scale. Instead they just throw back to the condo management and ask them to source for their own contractor and pay out of their own pockets. And they fine you $1000/day if you delay.... Anyway, I thought the bottleneck is the overseas connection, not our local infrastructure. Edited November 18, 2010 by Wind30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 when this opennet comes....i did not want to instal becos they make my all hidden cable walls looks ugly...so no go for me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 On 11/18/2010 at 8:47 AM, Wind30 said: How you know they are for it? 9 out of 10 condos rejected it. It all depends on the costs right? I think the costs must be very high and that is why 9 out of 10 rejected. If cost $10 who will reject? IDA really screwed up. They should have bargained for concealed routing and they will get a better cost than individual condos as it is a nationwide project, economies of scale. Instead they just throw back to the condo management and ask them to source for their own contractor and pay out of their own pockets. And they fine you $1000/day if you delay.... Anyway, I thought the bottleneck is the overseas connection, not our local infrastructure. its not that easy.. there are hundreds or even thousand of condos site in Singapore... all use taxpayer money to hack.... u agreeable? if condo MCST dun want, then just leave it at that... want to install then pay out of your own pocket..... dun want to install then dun kpkb later that ppl can dl movie in a few mins. you need hours Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 On 11/18/2010 at 9:25 AM, Neutrino said: I've seen skirting boards which have trunking included in them for running cabling around properties. So you could just change the skirting boards without having major hacking. BTW we are part of SERS and will move from our old HDB to the new one next year. The old HDB has had fibre optic cabling recently laid to the ground floor.This block is due for demolition when we all move out. When my missus called Open net 12 months ago to check that they will install fibre optic before we move into the new HDB, Open net said they had no idea a new block was being built and the fibre optic cable would have to be fitted retrospectively. Really fed up with Open net. SOP. Intra govt body don't talk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 if everyone all steady steady, dont want to signup, at the end, this fibre network will be offer FOC! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...