How to migrate aust , nz with only engineering deg ?

relacker

wife is PRC Chinese.

i think my cousin is those that cannot survive the rat race in singapore. pace is much slower in australia, so that's why he clearly prefers australia.

On 11/18/2010 at 3:14 AM, Curahee said:

Can survive one, look at all those PR/FT surrounding us every day... They also cannot take the heat on their homeground and decided to come here and eventually settle down as PR...

but there is a fundamental difference:

in sgp, ppl not happy abt FT they juz comprain in forums, cry farder-marder and run to gahmen asking for sayang.

in aust, ppl not happy abt FT, they juz tell u in the face to "bugger off, mate". incl the gahmen.

On 11/18/2010 at 3:02 AM, Davidtch said:

When i retire, i 1 2 migrate there to drive bus. Bus driver there works 5 days wk 8 hrs shift. Somemore, all drivers drive their own car to work.

eh, that sounds like hard work to me. bricklayer work less than 8hrs a day and when it rains, can go home and play wif car or boat in the garage. [laugh]

On 11/18/2010 at 12:15 AM, Tasman said:

Engineers related to the building and constrution or civil works are in high demand. Of course, degree must be internationally recognised. Do not expect China or most Indian degrees to be accepted.

Mates with UK Eng degree are all accepted as PR without any problem.

Not really true, some of my friends with Indian Engineering degree is got PR even before migrating or getting a job. You have tweak a bit your sentence, most of the well know indian engineering university degrees are accepted except few.

On 11/18/2010 at 12:03 AM, Little_prince said:

nurses high demand in oz. got accelerated pr

health professionals, except Drs....easy to get..but their healthcare is in doldrums

On 11/18/2010 at 2:34 AM, Tireburner said:

I cannot imagine routinely being teased charlie, chinaman, yellow chicken, crooked eye, small eyes etc.

Or you excel in your work but being sidelined because the boss still think the other colleagues who have a fairer skin than you are better.

Thanks mate, Australia is not for me.

You are absolutely right, perhaps Singapore is where you should belong.

On 11/18/2010 at 4:07 AM, Cerano said:

any idea? because im thinking of it...

i don't know....

goalpost seems to change very often...

i've got a colleague a professional. ard 30. with masters. sponsored by our company (a big US conglomarate) also kena rejected.

go figure.

On 11/18/2010 at 2:49 AM, Acemundo said:

erh, just wanted to share the story about my cousin.

he's a born and bred singaporean who somehow could not take the heat and stress in singapore. i can see how miserable he was at one stage when in singapore

then perhaps the escapist mindset in him started working, he went to australia to take a degree in mass communication, completely different from the microbiology masters degree he had obtained previously.

as to be expected, he wanted to settle down in australia after the degree. he got his PR, found a wife there, had 2 kids and seemed much happier than he was in singapore.

perhaps to some people like him, the stress in singapore is a much tougher proposition to tackle than racism in australia?

good to hear that.

my take is migration is that it's not a simple matter. the motivation shld be to start a new life wif a new perspective in a new country.

if one is doing it out of escapism but still hanging on to the typical s'porean mindset, that person will be miserable wherever he/she goes.

On 11/18/2010 at 2:34 AM, Tireburner said:

I cannot imagine routinely being teased charlie, chinaman, yellow chicken, crooked eye, small eyes etc.

Or you excel in your work but being sidelined because the boss still think the other colleagues who have a fairer skin than you are better.

Thanks mate, Australia is not for me.

We routinely tease our country's new migrants - foreign talent, ang mo kau, ah tiong, tiong kok, bangla, ah neh, and other slang terms. We complain about how these FT come in to steal our job, because they'd work harder for less money and employers love that.

Doesn't it sound familiar to what one might encounter being a migrant to another country? For sure its easier to be the racist than the victim of racism, and you've made your choice, and I bid you the best of luck in your future here.

On 11/18/2010 at 3:52 AM, Soya said:

eh, that sounds like hard work to me. bricklayer work less than 8hrs a day and when it rains, can go home and play wif car or boat in the garage. [laugh]

Not hard le. My wife was there last year for 3 mths oversee the finance function of a bus co in Melbourne. Pay damn good le. In that co, there is even a former singaporean driving bus in Melbourne.

i agree. that's why i shared the story knowing well my cousin is a unique fella.

hence it show it also depends on the mindset of the person in question.

like my cousin, i do think he has that escapist mindset and cannot survive in the rat race of singapore. one thing for certain is that pace of things are slower at down under and suit him better.

so for him, it is a big plus and perhaps lesser of the 2 evils of stress vs racism

On 11/18/2010 at 10:14 AM, Davidtch said:

Not hard le. My wife was there last year for 3 mths oversee the finance function of a bus co in Melbourne. Pay damn good le. In that co, there is even a former singaporean driving bus in Melbourne.

hmmm...lidat i wanna drive the circle tram after i retire as a bricklayer. that tram no need to tink abt directions - lagi easier than driving a bus. [laugh][laugh]

retirement plan:

earn whatever I can earn here until 40s....sell one of my condos and plonk the $$ into a decent real estate in Aussie full cash. Move over and enjoy retirement while collecting passive income from Singapore. [:p]

Make sure I have put aside some spare cash to cater for racist vandalism on my beach front property and my M3+carrera :D

i am of the same thoughts, but after 40s, how to migrate there? business or investment visa? can share how you intend to do it?

On 11/18/2010 at 10:48 AM, Carpinion said:

retirement plan:

earn whatever I can earn here until 40s....sell one of my condos and plonk the $$ into a decent real estate in Aussie full cash. Move over and enjoy retirement while collecting passive income from Singapore. [:p]

Make sure I have put aside some spare cash to cater for racist vandalism on my beach front property and my M3+carrera :D

On 11/18/2010 at 10:13 AM, Macrosszero said:

We routinely tease our country's new migrants - foreign talent, ang mo kau, ah tiong, tiong kok, bangla, ah neh, and other slang terms. We complain about how these FT come in to steal our job, because they'd work harder for less money and employers love that.

Doesn't it sound familiar to what one might encounter being a migrant to another country? For sure its easier to be the racist than the victim of racism, and you've made your choice, and I bid you the best of luck in your future here.

I have been to all the major English speaking countries but racism towards Asian is no more apparent than Australia. I have been called derogatory racist terms while walking on a streets in Cairns and Newcastle. Not that I had provoked or stared at them.

Yes we may call the FTs names but not the way what I had personally encountered there.

NZ by comparison, as their close cousins, is the friendliest and most welcome towards Asian.

If you are living in Australia already or going to soon, I wish you the best for the rest of your life Down under.

I don't take a shine at this country and its' people.

On 11/18/2010 at 10:31 AM, Ghostami said:

Apart from the taxes and racism , I think if you are a citizen there you will smile when you are at your old age and if sickness befall you.

huh? Auz is not Norway leh, its pension n medical benefits are not very attractive. If just depend on pension to live, will just very barely survive...if can even survive.