How come evening also need ERP?

Phluvcat

Anybody can provide a rationale to evening ERP?

Morning ERP I understand better since congestion will increase economic loss.

But at night either people go home, pass by or jalan jalan also need to pay? To me makes no sense leh...

A lot of things now happening and not making sense to me.

A better way to phrase yor question should be "How come got ERP when road is not even congested?" or 'How come road still congested after paying ERP?" [laugh]

the question should be ''how come we STILL allow them to carry on implementing thing to get our money and we can't object it..''.......do vote wisely in the next GE...decide what u want and don't vote by short term benefit....like lift upgrade...this is lame benefit....

you can always choose not to drive. i will be happier [laugh]

Possible Answer

1) For all the "talent" that the government can come out with to control congression, the only things they can come out with is to discourage what hurt most, your pocket. It seems every other of what they can come out with involve $$$.

2) Because they can! Beacue they know, whatevr decisions/policy they can come out with, they will not be challenge. Beside, how else they get the moeny to pay for all the high paying position in the government. No $$$$ No talent. Athough the talent part is subjective.

3) All of the above

they will say because got ERP therefore no jam lor...then will turn ard and say..cause jam thats why put ERP lor..

Cos,

"Orchard Road is Orchard Road. Marina Bay is Marina Bay"

Different charges too.

Sat enter Marina also got ERP. Don't know for what fark! Got so many people work on Sat in Suntec ah? Even got should be limited to morning hours. Go all the way to night time. Xiao! Go shopping at Marina contribute to local economy also want to charge.

One stupid ERP gantry (to exit ERP area) is the one after Dhoby Ghaut / Before Hotel Rendezvous.

Enter ERP area - Pay

Exit ERP area - Also pay ?

Can turn right at the junction outside The Cathay then turn back to Istana and go CTE ma. Nvm la i also kena b4. Pay school fees.

Sat enter Marina also got ERP. Don't know for what fark! Got so many people work on Sat in Suntec ah? Even got should be limited to morning hours. Go all the way to night time. Xiao! Go shopping at Marina contribute to local economy also want to charge.

You are trying to reason with the government? Have you try chatting with a cat, becuase after a while, you should realise its a waste of time.

Gahmen wanna make money only la.

Say ERP will reduce congestion but does it really reduce? Maybe in the start but after a while people will just get used to it and just pay. Thus, congestion is back.

Even if one day ERP charge is $100. Whole expressway is empty and all the cars jam at alternative roads, is that really a solution to reduce congestion? By diverting all cars to other roads?

So alternative roads also jam, what our gahmen do? Build gantries at alternative roads. So they won't miss a single car.

Since in the evening so many cars traveling through CTE to go home, gahmen took the opportunity to build a gantry for those going home to pay also lor. Got money don't want to earn meh?

For me I just avoid ERP as far as possible. I would rather spend fuel than to pay innocent cash. At least fuel will get me somewhere, ERP won't. For example if got appointment in town in the evening, I'll make it 8.30pm coz ERP till 8pm.

If need to go Bugis area where the gantries there are $2 per entry, I'll park somewhere nearby and walk in.

It is not that i'm stingy it's just that i think ERP is not worth paying even if it's 50 cents. COZ IT CERTAINLY DOES NOT REDUCE CONGESTION. THAT IS JUST A COVER UP STORY TO MAKE MONEY!

You are trying to reason with the government? Have you try chatting with a cat, becuase after a while, you should realise its a waste of time.

Yah. Singapore no cow. Unless go zoo but very troublesome and expensive.

one way to ease congestion is to increase the speed limit and make the roads straight... ever since the 70km/h limit and the winding ECP near MBS, traffic on ECP has been slow.. previously it was the climb up BS bridge (twds City).. now even at the summit of the bridge traffic is slow due to the winding road... and they increase ERP because of that (slow vehicle speed) they should determine ERP charges by the traffic volume instead to determine if the roads are really congested.. but they chose the easy way of using speed and speed can be easily tweaked.. by reducing the speed limit...

I think the 2nd question is more relevant. I ask that all the time