SIM37 3rd Gear November 15, 2010 Share November 15, 2010 Hi all, Not a promoter for this product but wanna share my experiences using it. I've been detailing my own car using this process 1. Washing 2. Claying 3. Polish (scratches and etc) then waxing. I typically use Soft 99's water repellent which is pretty good, until I saw this Giant selling at about $19.99. Basically, just spray on, wait for dirt to come out, then spread around using any general applicator, then buff off with clean microfibre cloth. Results were pretty awesome!! Water repellent at its best, I even used it on my windscreen/windows/rear windscreen. Not necessary to wash car to use this (which I like), just leaving it on to see how long does the water repellent properties last (since its the monsoon season now). Who else using this? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonl 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 Hi bro, a picture will speak a thousand word leh. I m curious bat the product myself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SIM37 3rd Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 No picture yet, but its been on a week (through last week's rainy weather). The water repellency is still there! Only been hosing off the dust so far, haven't washed it yet. Even if my car becomes bird toilet, all I do now is just pour water and gentle rubbing and it comes off. If got chance I'll take peekture this week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zann Neutral Newbie November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 Bro which Giant outlet? Can't find it at the Tampines one.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SIM37 3rd Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 Bt Timah Turf city one have. Tampines u mean the bigass one with ikiea/courts? That one should also have ah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonl 1st Gear November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 Cold Storage is carrying the product Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Synapseman Neutral Newbie November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 I recently bought it at Giant IMM. Have not used it yet. Probably will keep it in the boot and use it for touch ups on the go. At $19.90, and each bottle "washes up to two cars", it's not exactly economical also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SIM37 3rd Gear November 30, 2010 Author Share November 30, 2010 Don't have to spray like they do in the ad. If you car isn't dirty, just sparingly will do, about 2 squirts per panel. Thats all I needed. Of course, if your car is super dirty, just hose off the loose dirt then use it. But its much easier than waxing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ditiang Neutral Newbie January 16, 2012 Share January 16, 2012 Hi I just bought it at "SHOP N SAVE" when I walk pass it and bought it as it's look kind of cool. As chinese new year is near, I though I should give it a try on my car to see if it's really shine. For the 1st time, I wash my car 1st, clean dry it and then apply on it. Just to play save to apply it on a clean car. Result was like OMG, it really shine! save some money grooming my car :) So I guess it is worth buying. Spray wait for a while, Use 2 micro fiber cloth. 1st cloth wipe and distribute the mantis liquid to cover the area and use another micro fiber cloth to wipe it shine. Do it part by part like 2 left door, then 2 right door, top and so on ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sitilee84 Neutral Newbie February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 wow have to try Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 i oso saw at shop & save at tamp, there is a shelf & a video how this ting works.. yeah not economical..$19.90 to wipe whole car??? still prefer traditional method..tis product at most can use to clean bird s--t or other dirty spots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panthera Clutched February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 just saw this at SHELL petrol pump. bought it because it looks and sounds cool. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 $19.99? The last time I bought it from Giant (Tampines, IMM & Vivo), it was only $14.99. Up price liao or I remember wrongly? It's true that this cleans dirt off easily, but did not realise the water repellant abilities. Even after using 3 bottles of it. Not sure about birdpoo... unless those 'fresh' ones, but those baked under the sun one will take some effort to remove with Mantis, which I feel proper washing will be better. In the end, I've been using this to clean my rims. Can use quite long! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xeryh 3rd Gear February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 Sounds like a quick detailer with wax properties. Just got something like this from armorall, usage is the same and only costs 13 On 2/9/2012 at 2:50 AM, StefanK said: $19.99? The last time I bought it from Giant (Tampines, IMM & Vivo), it was only $14.99. Up price liao or I remember wrongly? It's true that this cleans dirt off easily, but did not realise the water repellant abilities. Even after using 3 bottles of it. Not sure about birdpoo... unless those 'fresh' ones, but those baked under the sun one will take some effort to remove with Mantis, which I feel proper washing will be better. In the end, I've been using this to clean my rims. Can use quite long! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whattafarck 1st Gear February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 Gotta give this a try.. i'm the "almost lazy" kinda car owner. so its..wash..smoke break..wipe dry..smoke break...apply this Shine thingy...pee-pee break...wait...wipe with another cloth till shine-shine. finito. Sounds a good enough workout for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ditiang Neutral Newbie February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 hi Tarzan666, It will not need one whole bottle to wipe your car. My 1st application on the whole car use up 1/4 of the bottle. The rest I still using till now left half bottle cos on-off I use it to touch up the car when I see any part dirty. Over all, we still need to wash our car weekly. But sometime when we don't have time, Mantis is good to do a fast clean job without water. Of course, we need 2 micro fiber cloth to clean the car. After spray, let it take effect (absorb the dirt) for 1 min. Use 1st cloth to spread evenly to cover all the area. 2nd cloth to wipe it shine. It got a nice smell also lol but not sure is it bad for health a not lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ditiang Neutral Newbie February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 I like your meercat avatar, very funny and cute :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gasguzzler 1st Gear February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 I'm onto my 2nd bottle of this stuff. It's not bad. Can even be used on glass windows without smearing. It's slightly better than a quick detailer spray, good for a quickie but nothing replaces a proper car shampoo wash with lots of precious water. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...