Can Singaporean Drive Malaysia Car ?

Astro

its not the license, its the nationality.

Is he a Singaporean or PR? If yes, cant drive in with MY registered vehicle.

he is Singaporean, and want to buy car and drive within Malaysia only, not intent to drive the malaysia reg car enter Singapore,

is it possible?

yes. bring spore ic to dealer.

buy car ... buy insurance ... drive the car in msia

again ... in any case ... if kena roadblocked by jb police ... nothing is sure if they want to play punk for kopi$

anyway ... retiree right ... not like driving out at 1am 2am to ktv hor

he is Singaporean, and want to buy car and drive within Malaysia only, not intent to drive the malaysia reg car enter Singapore,

is it possible?

if you really so scared, 2 options.

1) dun drive your relative/friend car.

2) buy add-on insurance for your friend, one where anyone can drive the car and still be covered.

unless you planning to be funny, daily driving shouldn't be a problem.

So Singaporean can drive a Malaysia non rental car in Malaysia or not? Insurance got cover?

why not possible?

Other nationalities also come to Singapore to work/stay, some bought cars under their own names. Same thing goes in other countries. You mean MY so special meh?

Just need to sort out the driving licence issue.

Sini sini:

Permohonan Pertukaran Lesen Memandu Asing kepada Lesen Memandu Malaysia Bagi Negara Asing yang Mempunyai Perjanjian Dua Hala Dengan Malaysia (Automatik)

Latar Belakang

• Bagi permohonan di bawah kategori ini, pemohon boleh membuat permohonan di mana-mana JPJ/ Cawangan yang berhampiran.
  • Pertimbangan hanya diberikan untuk Kelas D (motokar) dan/atau kelas B2 (motosikal).
  • Pemegang Lesen Memandu Percubaan (PDL) dan Lesen Memandu Kompeten (CDL) sahaja yang boleh memohon.
  • Pemohon hendaklah mempunyai visa yang sekurang-kurangnya tiga (3) bulan sebelum tamat serta mempunyai Lesen Memandu Asing yang masih berkuat kuasa.
  • Permohonan hanya layak dipertimbangkan bagi negara yang tersenarai dalam perjanjian dua (2) hala (bilateral). Senarai negara tersebut adalah seperti dibawah.

DOKUMEN YANG DIPERLUKAN

• MyKad / Pasport asal dan salinan
  • Visa - salinan (sekurang-kurangnya 3 bulan sebelum tamat)
  • Lesen Memandu Negara Asing yang sah berkuatkuasa asal dan salinan
  • Pengesahan Lesen Memandu Asing atau surat terjemahan daripada Kedutaan Negara/ Pengeluar Lesen Memandu.
  • 1 keping gambar berwarna (25mm x 32mm)
  • Bayaran untuk proses permohonan – RM 20
  • Bayaran mengikut kelas :

a) Kelas B2 – RM 20 / setahun

b) Kelas D – RM 30 / setahun

SENARAI NEGARA ASING YANG LAYAK DIPERTIMBANGKAN PENGECUALIAN PEMAKAIAN KAEDAH 5 (3)

Australia Belgium Brunei China (Communist Republic) Denmark Egypt Fiji Finland France Germany Hong Kong Iran Iraq Italy Japan Korea Laos Libya Mauritius Netherlands (Holland/Dutch) New Zealand Nigeria Papua New Guinea Philippines Poland Russia Singapura Spain Switzerland Taiwan Thailand Turkey
  • Pertukaran automatik di JPJ Negeri

Here here:

Application for Change of Foreign Driving License to Malaysian Driving License To Foreign Countries Who Have Bilateral Agreement With Malaysia (Automatic)

Background

For applications under this category, applicants may apply at any JPJ / branch nearby.
Consideration is given only to Class D (car) and / or class B2 (motorcycle).
Probationary Driving Licence (PDL) and Competent Driving License (CDL) only can apply.
Applicants must have a visa at least three (3) months and a Foreign Driving Licence in force.
An application will be considered for countries listed in the agreement of two (2) way (bilateral). The list of countries is as below.
DOCUMENTS REQUIRED

MyKad / Passport original and photocopy
Visa - a copy (at least 3 months prior to expiration)
Foreign Driving License valid and a copy of the original force
Foreign Driving License or Certification letter from the Embassy of translation / Producer Driving License.
1 color photograph (25mm x 32mm)
Payment for the application process - RM 20
Payment by class:
a) Class B2 - RM 20 / year

b) Class D - RM 30 / year

FOREIGN COUNTRIES ELIGIBLE TO CONSIDER THE APPLICATION OF EXEMPTION 5 (3)

Australia
Belgium
Brunei
China (Communist Republic)
Denmark
Egypt
Fiji
Finland
France
Germany
Hong Kong
Iran
Iraq
Italy
Japan
Korea
Laos
Libya
Mauritius
Netherlands (Holland / Dutch)
New Zealand
Nigeria
Papua New Guinea
Philippines
Poland
Russia
Singapore
Spain
Switzerland
Taiwan
Thailand
Turkey
Automatic exchange of RTD State

is it possible?

Edited by Kangadrool

my relative going to retire soon, he bought house at JB and intent to long term stay there,

and intent to buy a Malaysian reg car and insurance, wonder whether he can drive the Malaysian reg car in Malaysia with Singapore license?

or have to convert to Malaysian license

Yes he can. Don't need to convert if I'm not wrong. There's plenty of SGreans living in MY driving MY-reg car. As long he has insurance under his name, those roadblocks most likely won't be an issue. Just that he can't drive out to SG with a MY car.

Thinking if the insurance on the msia plate car cover anyone driving the car, regardless the driver nationality? Or they only cover msians?

Singaporeans are not allowed to drive malaysian registered cars in Singapore.

let's make it clearer.. singaporean and PR's can ONLY drive sg registered car in sg..... out of sg, can drive any car...... [:p]

Thinking if the insurance on the msia plate car cover anyone driving the car, regardless the driver nationality? Or they only cover msians?

do you know there are 1001 type of insurance?? just like my car insurance didnt cover any driver below 35yrs...so, to answer your question, take a look at the policy of the car you intend to drive... dont assume all MY car has the same coverage... [grin]