Still worth to go JB to pump petrol?

Zanter

Worth or not?  

145 members have voted

1. 1. Up to individual and the type of car/lifestyle?

• Not worth my time to save $10-15
    • Its worth it cos my time is free
    • Its worth it cos I have mod my fuel gauge
    • Its worth it cause I go JB as a form of protest the high petrol prices here and have not counted the cost savings.
    • I dont know whether its worth it or not cause I dont calculate but I go pump anyway

Your calculation bo chun

Petrol (Ron98): SGD 1.8/litre x 20litres = SGD36 ( this price actually before discount depending where you pump maybe ard 1.60+)

Petrol (Ron98): RM2.15/litre x 20litres = RM43 or SG$18

So save $18 Minus toll $5= $13

Say you travel 2 JB average 10km or both ways 20km & your car average 10km a liter assuming no jam, use 2 liter average cost $4 round up

So save $9. Assume no jam, this petrol run cost you 1 hr. So basically you lost 1 hour of your life to earn $9. I think average singaporean earn work an average of $20 an hour so actually is you lugi $11!!

I got another way for you to save $ EVEN more.

If you give up smoking & the massage you insist on doing since you are in JB, you will save RM$100 each week or SG$40 each week or $160 plus SG ciggs cost $260 for the rest of the month or total $420 each month or $5000 a year..Almost enuff to pay for car instalment!! PLUS you save on medical cost down the road due to stop smoking. Good idea?

When I pump Ron95 and use ur method to calculate I save around $30 per trip which takes 30min. I dont pump 20l only.

reason?

STICK IT TO THE MAN!

don't give sg govt tax $$, give your business to the malaysian economy!

our govt charges 40c per litre, malaysian govt wants our business more!

Usually worth it for me

1. I usually pump at least 35 litre 95 at Caltex

2. Buy 4 cartons of 100 plus at 18.49rm per 24 per carton

3. Car wash and vaccum at 10 rm

4. Enjoy the relax drive back home to Pasir Ris

Totally not worth it now that my car was stolen 3 days ago which gave me alot of hassle..

be very careful guys,apparently these thieves have the 'master key'..

u noe la police in Msia how 'fast' they work..

now heart pain,pocket pain,head pain...sighhh..

Totally not worth it now that my car was stolen 3 days ago which gave me alot of hassle..

be very careful guys,apparently these thieves have the 'master key'..

u noe la police in Msia how 'fast' they work..

now heart pain,pocket pain,head pain...sighhh..

How it happened ?

Use to save a lot last time when pumping Ron95. Now have to pump the higher grade, the saving is not that much.

Anyone know of way to pump Ron95 in JB?

i mean after i exit the customs the road branch out into 2...one left one right..basket knn yesterday find city square find until permas jaya? :D

anyone care to share the directions after exiting the customs to park at city square?

Use to save a lot last time when pumping Ron95. Now have to pump the higher grade, the saving is not that much.

Anyone know of way to pump Ron95 in JB?

just pump as usual. But stick the pump into yr car first and wait for them to allow tt pump to flow. Usually, they will automatic let u pump one. And dnt fking put yr car in front of the cashier la!!! use the one further away frm the counter's view and pump. :ph34r:

Thanks mate, you mean after exiting the Shell station, turn left into the row of shop houses? I had a car polishing, waxing and interior grooming before CNY for something like RM 250 and thought that's quite a good price to pay. That's the only place I know for washing car. Feel safe there cos the workers never asked for the car key and also I see Polis very often there. If it's closed, don't know where else to go.

There's also another stretch of road full of car washing facilities where New York Hotel is. Lots of people and cars there too. Can leave your car keys with them, and go to the drinks/makan stall beside/near the place

I also very tempted to pump Ron95 when at station but heard tat its illegal to do so right?

Wats the punishment if kena caught? cant find it on malaysia website...

I also very tempted to pump Ron95 when at station but heard tat its illegal to do so right?

Wats the punishment if kena caught? cant find it on malaysia website...

Didn't know that its illegal too. Have been pumping 95 all the time. Last time I went it was Monday. The pump attendant didn't say anything.

I dun tink the issue of worth it or not is whether we allowed to pump 95 or not. Cos the price difference is less than SGD$0.20/l. How can such a small difference make something "worth it" become "not worth it". Anyway i doubt got ppl go in JUST to pump (unless they go in empty tank where savings become pretty substantial) and then come back. Usually will also enjoy some of the food there (which is cheaper), buy DVD, cigarette, etc.

Actually theres quite alot of pple go in pump and U turn out one la seen so many.

Don't really need to hiong and cheat empty tank, but dont toot toot go in 3/4 tank la, 5/8 or 1/2 they wont stop you, i kena before.

Cars fuel tank from Full to half actually can travel quite some distance and not so accurate so you can easily pump 25-30 litres, dunno la mine lousy car works like that.

30 litres, lets say 1 litre save 1 buck, save $30 bucks lor, buy a pack of cigaretter open up, save another $5. Toll fee at woodlands is cheap, about $2, so you save $30 lor. For outdoor jobs u go in at lunch time around 11am or so you can probably be out in singapore in half an hour. u can go in twice weekly you save $60 la, one month save $200+

Got time and nearby go in pump, no time just pump in sg. Depends how you look at it, cheapo or not quite subjective la, you willing to take the trouble go in you save more la, or u can choose to wait for SG shell V power discount on sunday go jam up the roads with other pple, or wait for sg esso $2 coupon. Or if you are those kind damn particular about FC, going in pump in your 7km/l car will means 14km/l.

If you are damn rich, then dont need bother just pump sg.

you got go in pump one meh?? like tat steady lar... gt 1 more kaki

use to go in with the old mazda gang but now lone ranger... easier, cos own time own target

I think your calculation also bo chun.

30liter is 1/2 tank for most cars, unless you drive a 100liter tank which means you have 2/3 tanks which will normally pass. How is it possible to save $1 for 1 liter? Ok say you pump SPC 98 & have POSB card, your price per liter is $1.65 current. JB price is RM2.15 or SG$ 0.90 cents so you save 75cents.

Incidentally all cigg w/o duty paid(DP) chop on it is liable to fine in SG, so how to count as savings?

Realistically can pump 25liter max legally so save $18.75 minus toll SG side SG1.20 & MY side also 2.9RM or SG$1.20. TOTAL SG$16.35. Ok say you stay nearby so use 2liter petrol to in & out say $3.20 assuming no jam so save $13.50. Your time worth how much? Say $20 an hour, so actually doing this petrol run cost you $20-13.50 or you LUGI $6.50!

The Conclusion is this. If you are paid $13.50 an hour for working, then you just break even doing JB petrol run, If you are paid $6 a macdonald hour, then its worth it( but what the hell are you doing driving when you earn Macdonald hour?). If you earn $20 an hour which is like $3360 a month, just do more overtime or give tuition which will give you > than $20 an hour or even polish & wax you own car save $100 which you can save $50 an hour and no need convert your precious time into petrol run.

I think your calculation also bo chun.

30liter is 1/2 tank for most cars, unless you drive a 100liter tank which means you have 2/3 tanks which will normally pass. How is it possible to save $1 for 1 liter? Ok say you pump SPC 98 & have POSB card, your price per liter is $1.65 current. JB price is RM2.15 or SG$ 0.90 cents so you save 75cents.

Incidentally all cigg w/o duty paid(DP) chop on it is liable to fine in SG, so how to count as savings?

Realistically can pump 25liter max legally so save $18.75 minus toll SG side SG1.20 & MY side also 2.9RM or SG$1.20. TOTAL SG$16.35. Ok say you stay nearby so use 2liter petrol to in & out say $3.20 assuming no jam so save $13.50. Your time worth how much? Say $20 an hour, so actually doing this petrol run cost you $20-13.50 or you LUGI $6.50!

The Conclusion is this. If you are paid $13.50 an hour for working, then you just break even doing JB petrol run, If you are paid $6 a macdonald hour, then its worth it( but what the hell are you doing driving when you earn Macdonald hour?). If you earn $20 an hour which is like $3360 a month, just do more overtime or give tuition which will give you > than $20 an hour or even polish & wax you own car save $100 which you can save $50 an hour and no need convert your precious time into petrol run.

I think most that says worth it should have tampered fuel gauge or smth. For me worth it cuz my fuel gauge spoilt and always show full tank. Can drive till empty and pump.

Ron97 now RM2.30 latest - Malaysia boleh !!!!!! Marlboro also RM10 liao ......hahahahha

Ron97 in Malaysia is RM2.30, convert to S$ is $0.96/litre, still cheap.